Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

RULES support shooting contact

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
John Murphy
Legate
Legate


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1625

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2003 3:49 pm    Post subject: RULES support shooting contact


A recent clarification about support shooting seemed to imply that it
could occur anytime during a charge move.

Can foot receiving a charge at a halt (and any bodies "prolonging their
front") support shoot just prior to contact and so avoid the -2
modifier? Can rear rank chargers do the same?

Is the -2 contact modifier then only applicable on subsequent bounds
with bodies remaining in contact?

FWIW The rules examples would seem to imply that the -2 is in effect all
the time and that the shot actually occurs when it is resolved with the
bodies already in contact. But this seems in disagreement with the
concept that a charging body can support shoot someone besides its
charge target. Can someone explain?

So say for example a unit of 2E Reg B EHC/HC L, B, Sh charges
(suicidally) a unit of 6E Reg C 1/3 HI 1/3 MI LTS, JLS, D, Sh 1/3 MI B,
Sh. First bound the HC element support shoots (even though it will fight
in hand to hand) with B while the HI/MI support shoot rank and a half D
(some also going to fight in hand-to-hand) plus half a rank B. Does
either have to take the -2 contact modifier?

Also I presume if the foot had a two-handed missile weapon they would
count unshielded to support shooting but still count shielded for
hand-to-hand.

Now, back to the original example, say for sake of explanation the
mounted roll incredible combat dice and survive even recoiling the foot,
with the mounted being disordered by 3 CPF and the foot being disordered
by recoiling against mounted but not by 3 CPF or doubling. Mounted
(perhaps suicidally again) follow up and expand.

Second bound the mounted can not support shoot (not charging and no rear
rank anyway furthermore in contact from a previous bound with no rank
not fighting). The foot, however can still support shoot half a rank of
B since even though the D are all fighting the B are not. I am fairly
certain the -2 for contact is always going to apply here, right? I take
it the shot is resolved as 2 figs against EHC plus 2 figs against HC or
does the disorder mean it all counts as against HC?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2003 4:51 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES support shooting contact


> A recent clarification about support shooting seemed to imply that it could
occur anytime during a charge move.>>

Nope. 3.2 clearly shows the support shooting phase after the charge phase. In
addition: 8.6: "When determining ranges for support shooting, the end position
of the bodies after charge and charge-response moves determines the range, the
support shooting phase comes AFTER the charge phase. Bodies ending in contact
shoot at close range, others based on their position on the battlefield.
Mounted evaders shooting to their rear measure range after their opponent's
charge move is made. "

>
> FWIW The rules examples would seem to imply that the -2 is in effect all the
time and that the shot actually occurs when it is resolved with the bodies
already in contact. But this seems in disagreement with the concept that a
charging body can support shoot someone besides its charge target. Can someone
explain?>>

Sometimes, as with an evading opponent, your charge target eludes contact.
Thus, after the charge phase is over, a charger with a rear rank of bow isn't in
contact and can shoot according to shooting priority.

> So say for example a unit of 2E Reg B EHC/HC L, B, Sh charges
> (suicidally) a unit of 6E Reg C 1/3 HI 1/3 MI LTS, JLS, D, Sh 1/3 MI B, Sh.
First bound the HC element support shoots (even though it will fight in hand to
hand) with B while the HI/MI support shoot rank and a half D (some also going to
fight in hand-to-hand) plus half a rank B. Does either have to take the -2
contact modifier?>>

Both do.


>
> Also I presume if the foot had a two-handed missile weapon they would count
unshielded to support shooting but still count shielded for hand-to-hand.>>

Correct.

> Now, back to the original example, say for sake of explanation the mounted
roll incredible combat dice and survive even recoiling the foot,..... I am
fairly certain the -2 for contact is always going to apply here, right? >>

Right.

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2003 7:48 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES support shooting contact


<Big Snip>

An interesting thought on support shooting Jon.

If a cav unit expands and offers no back rank to be shot can the foot
unit support shoot a charger that charges its neighbor assuming that
the units prolong the front?

For arguments sake lets assume that the foot are 4 E of HI B,Sh and
the cav expands to cover the unit's entire frontage. The foot Recoil
40 paces and end up exactly shoulder-to-shoulder with a neighboring
unit. Can the HI support shoot at a unit charging the right next to
them? Also, is the total negative factor -2 or is it -4? IE:
shooters in contact and target in contact? (Disregarding other
negative factors like tired and disordered)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2003 9:37 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: RULES support shooting contact


>
> If a cav unit expands and offers no back rank to be shot can the foot unit
support shoot a charger that charges its neighbor assuming that the units
prolong the front? >>

I am not trying to be difficult, but did you read the rules on this first or
just ask this off the cuff? It is so clearly answered in 8.83 that I find it
hard to believe I am not being used (which I am way too often) as a search
tool....lol

<<Also, is the total negative factor -2 or is it -4? IE:
> shooters in contact and target in contact? (Disregarding
> other negative factors like tired and disordered)>>

8.93. See above.

:)
Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Tim Brown
Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 326

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 12:29 am    Post subject: Re: RULES support shooting contact


> I am not trying to be difficult, but did you read the rules on this
first or just ask this off the cuff? It is so clearly answered in
8.83 that I find it hard to believe I am not being used (which I am
way too often) as a search tool....lol
>
>> Smile
> Jon

I apologise on behalf of my young apprentice..Master. I assure you he
will be ready for his trials at the NICT later this month! *grin*
Much work he has left...hmmm?

"The force is strong in this one...he always rolls up"

Tim ;p

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 12:36 am    Post subject: Re: Re: RULES support shooting contact


In a message dated 7/9/2003 4:29:29 PM Eastern Standard Time,
browntj007@... writes:

> I apologise on behalf of my young apprentice..Master. I assure you he
> will be ready for his trials at the NICT later this month!
> *grin*
> Much work he has left...hmmm? >>

Indeed. For young padawans a place in my heart I have ...
>
> "The force is strong in this one...he always rolls up">>

Which leads directly to the dark side....


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group