  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 1:20 am    Post subject: Re: Rules: Double Breakthrough/Waver Situation | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 8/22/2004 20:28:27 Central Daylight Time,
 
mailtomikek@... writes:
 
 
Crossbows
 
HC     EHC
 
 
A MI XB unit  3 wide was charged by HC against its right element and
 
EHC against its  left.  The XB lost over 3x as many than it inflicted
 
in HTH but less  than 3 CPF so did not rout on contact.  Thus it
 
recoiled  disordered.  It also took a second disorder from losing
 
2xHTH and 1  CPF, which forced a waver test that it failed, going
 
shaken. >>
 
No, sorry.  Those two disorders are happening simultaneously and  therefore
 
the body is not already disordered when the second one happens.   There is no
 
waver test.
 
 
After  recoils and follow-ups, per 6.34, both cavalry were
 
able to breakthrough  because the XB were unbroken but suffered
 
triple HTH.  The EHC on its  left rolled short and just passed
 
through.  The HC on the right  convert-charged into the front corner
 
of the enemy CinC who happened to be  rushing to the rescue, then
 
conformed to his front, blocking any retreat  by the XB.
 
 
As being broken through is another cause of disorder,  forcing a
 
waver test (multiple units breaking through in the same bound  were
 
counted only once here for forcing wavers), the XB wavered and
 
broke.>>
 
No again.  All of these disorders from combat are happening at the  same
 
time.  The body was not already disordered when they all happened at  once.  The
 
Cav could break through - sure.  But there is no waver  here.
 
 
 
 
Turning to flee, they were blocked by the cavalry that were
 
broken through  and could not find a gap to either side unless moving
 
sideways and  backwards around or bursting through friends, so they
 
prepared to  impetuously try to breakthrough the obstructing enemy
 
cavalry next  bound.  >>
 
Ok, let's say that the XB had been shaken before hand to hand results and  so
 
did take a waver (one) for suffering a disorder from combat while already
 
disordered.  Then, it breaks from failing that waver -NOT from hand to  hand,
 
but now we have the same situation you were asking about.  You can't  take more
 
than one waver from second disorder from combat in the same phase, but  the
 
guy with the break-through option HAS TO wait and see the result of that  waver
 
before he chooses to break-through.  The waver is still immediate and  the
 
recoil from mounted would have caused it.  Obviously, the break-through  is not
 
possible if the XB fails for being disordered and becomes broken and  makes a
 
rout move.
 
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                                   _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 131
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 4:27 am    Post subject: Rules: Double Breakthrough/Waver Situation | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Dear Jon,
 
 
No matter what you think of, stranger situations innocently arise on
 
the table.  The following events tied together a number of issues
 
and I would like to confirm I did this correctly.  There are 4 units
 
affected, 2 on either side.  The situation was physically fairly
 
simple, roughly as below except for the angles.
 
 
CinC
 
 
    Crossbows
 
    HC     EHC
 
 
A MI XB unit 3 wide was charged by HC against its right element and
 
EHC against its left.  The XB lost over 3x as many than it inflicted
 
in HTH but less than 3 CPF so did not rout on contact.  Thus it
 
recoiled disordered.  It also took a second disorder from losing
 
2xHTH and 1 CPF, which forced a waver test that it failed, going
 
shaken.  After recoils and follow-ups, per 6.34, both cavalry were
 
able to breakthrough because the XB were unbroken but suffered
 
triple HTH.  The EHC on its left rolled short and just passed
 
through.  The HC on the right convert-charged into the front corner
 
of the enemy CinC who happened to be rushing to the rescue, then
 
conformed to his front, blocking any retreat by the XB.
 
 
As being broken through is another cause of disorder, forcing a
 
waver test (multiple units breaking through in the same bound were
 
counted only once here for forcing wavers), the XB wavered and
 
broke.  Turning to flee, they were blocked by the cavalry that were
 
broken through and could not find a gap to either side unless moving
 
sideways and backwards around or bursting through friends, so they
 
prepared to impetuously try to breakthrough the obstructing enemy
 
cavalry next bound.
 
 
Next bound, the EHC was rallying and turned 180 to face the routers
 
at its back.  The routers were also up against the flank edge of the
 
HC that had broken through and engaged the CinC.  The first combat
 
by direction was the routers against the EHC.  They failed to
 
breakthrough and the entire XB unit was therefore destroyed.  Their
 
CinC wavered and was shaken.  Thanks to this, the CinC was then
 
routed by the HC, opening a gap -- sadly too late to help the
 
routing XB.
 
 
Q1:  Make sense mechanically so far?
 
 
Q2:  How would the routers have affected the CinC vs. HC fight if
 
they were attempting to breakthrough?  Since this was a converted
 
charge situation and the participants are effectively quarantined
 
until their combat is resolved, in this case my understanding is
 
that the routers on their turn would sit in place, effectively
 
skipping their attempted breakthrough turn since the converted
 
charge had not yet been resolved (note they were not in contact with
 
their friendly CinC unit so would not I think have burst through).
 
Next turn they continue rout behavior.
 
 
If combat direction went the other way, or this were not a converted
 
charge quarantine situation, would the routers be added into the
 
melee against the engaged HC? Since they would inflict a handful of
 
casualties but the HC would inflict none, the routers would have
 
scored triple and broken through the HC from their left to right,
 
disordering them, while at the same time if the CinC recoiled or
 
broke the broken-through HC would I think have followed up rather
 
than remaining stationary because of the breakthrough.
 
 
Sound right?
 
 
Thanks for your help,
 
 
Mike
 
 
                                                                                                                              | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 131
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 8:00 am    Post subject: Re: Rules: Double Breakthrough/Waver Situation | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Dear Jon,
 
 
OK, thanks, should have read the current clarification more
 
carefully.  I think you should highlight in revisions that each body
 
takes no more than one second disorder waver test no matter how many
 
second disorders occur during the combined hand-to-hand and combat
 
results phases, simultaneous or not.  As I believe I think I
 
understand it, you CAN take a one 2d disorder waver in support
 
shooting and then one more 2d disorder waver in HTH/combat results.
 
 
The reason is that 5.51 and the rest of 5.5 hammer home the key
 
rules concept that sequence matters and that you test as things
 
happen, even spelling out how to handle multiple simultaneous wavers
 
in sequence.  Since combat results occur after the hand to hand
 
phase in the SOP, breakthroughs specifically occur after recoils and
 
followups, and that troops are disordered if broken through, it
 
seemed to me that the breakthrough had to occur before the disorder
 
and waver, and that overall I had 3 disordering events occurring
 
independently, one in "hand-to-hand combat" and two in the flow
 
of "combat results".  It didn't occur to me that they would be
 
considered simultaneous.
 
 
Incidentally, the sequence of play in 3.2 refers to both "Hand to
 
Hand Combat Phase" including shooting, resolution and results,
 
and "Hand-to-hand combat" itself, which is potentially a little
 
confusing.
 
 
Best regards,
 
 
Mike
 
 
                                                                                                                                  | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:34 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules: Double Breakthrough/Waver Situation | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 8/23/2004 00:04:53 Central Daylight Time,
 
mailtomikek@... writes:
 
 
As I  believe I think I
 
understand it, you CAN take a one 2d disorder waver in  support
 
shooting and then one more 2d disorder waver in HTH/combat  results.
 
 
 
 
[
 
[
 
That is true.
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                                       _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |