Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

RULES: Orders

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2002 9:18 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES: Orders


In a message dated 7/31/2002 16:43:20 Central Daylight Time, cuan@...
writes:


> <<If you are over the center line and under hold orders, is it correct to
> say
> that you can not declare charges?>>

No. Hold orders come with their own charge restrictions.

> <<What about countercharges?>>

See above.

> <<Approaches?>>
>
You can make an approach under hold as long as you don't use it to cross the
center to the enemy side.

<<> Exactly what is a 'voluntary advance' anyways?>>


Working on that. :(





[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2002 10:00 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES: Orders


I do not recognize the necessity of the so-called Nebraska rule. If someone
tries to do something just because it doesn't say in the rules you can't, they
should be murdered immediately and painfully.

Good question. Once beyond, you can change to hold orders (or whatever) and
that center-line part of the order doesn't really apply unless you go back
across it to your side of it and then you'd have to change again. You can, for
example, move out to a point on the 'enemy side' and then give an order to hold
that ground. I have even done it.


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Greg Regets
Imperator
Imperator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2988

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2002 10:01 pm    Post subject: RULES: Orders


In the interest of not voilating the "Nebraska" rule ... what happend if the
following is attempted:

Command A crosses the center of the table under PROBE orders, and is in
obeyance.

Some time down the line, bound wise, the command changes to an order that
forbids advance beyond the center-line.

Legal?

I'm sure the answer is obvious, but again, I didn't want to trip over that
Nebraska rule. :-)

Greg

P.S. Take your time Jon, I know your busy and this is not immediately important.
Smile
----- Original Message -----
From: JonCleaves@...
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Wednesday, July 31, 2002 11:52 AM
Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] Rules questions.


<<I think these Peltasts are in woods, so would only fight as other foot with
JLS at first contact, and other foot after that, unless fighting elephants in
the wood (haha) where they would get the JLS bonus with other foot each bound.
Right?>>

Right. Missed the word woods. Teach me to hurry.

No LTS in woods, but they are still armed with it, so no JLS after first
contact in hth unless pursuing (or fighting El, as Greg points out unlikely in
woods).


Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
ADVERTISEMENT



To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com



Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.



[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Patrick Byrne
Centurion
Centurion


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1433

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2002 12:41 am    Post subject: Re: RULES: Orders


If you are over the center line and under hold orders, is it correct to say
that you can not declare charges?

What about countercharges?

Approaches?

Exactly what is a 'voluntary advance' anyways?
-PB



> From: JonCleaves@...
> Reply-To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
> Date: Wed, 31 Jul 2002 15:00:58 -0400
> To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
> Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] RULES: Orders
>
> I do not recognize the necessity of the so-called Nebraska rule. If someone
> tries to do something just because it doesn't say in the rules you can't, they
> should be murdered immediately and painfully.
>
> Good question. Once beyond, you can change to hold orders (or whatever) and
> that center-line part of the order doesn't really apply unless you go back
> across it to your side of it and then you'd have to change again. You can,
> for example, move out to a point on the 'enemy side' and then give an order to
> hold that ground. I have even done it.
>
>
> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
> WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
>
>
>
> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
>
>

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group