 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:48 pm Post subject: Scythed Chariot Questions |
 |
|
I briefly looked for an answer to my questions, but could not find
it. So I will just go ahead and ask. So I will apologize if these
questions are redundant.
Question 1: A Persian scythed chariot is perfectly lined up with the
leftmost element of a unit of Cretan Archer LI at a distance of 240p
in open flat terrain. A unit of Greek LMI (friendly to the LI) moves
up beside the Cretans on their left and pull slightly ahead of the
Cretans, but do not get between any part of the chariot's direct
path to the Cretans. The chariot then moves up 2 3/4" then wheels
1/4". The wheel has now oriented the chariot so the Cretans are
still technically in front of them, but the Greek LMI will now get
hit first. Was this a legal wheel?
Question 2: Once a scythed chariot charges, the only movement
possible for the chariot are pursuits, charges, and rout moves,
correct?
Question 3: After a scythed chariot breaks through, the chariot is
still obligated to continue charging and only straight ahead,
correct?
Question 4: A fresh scythed chariot incurs 3 fatigue during the
first bound it charges, and 4 fatigue every other bound till
exhausted, correct?
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Craig Scott Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 118
|
Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:29 am Post subject: Re: Scythed Chariot Questions |
 |
|
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "choppinlt" <mccoppin@c...>
wrote:
> I briefly looked for an answer to my questions, but could not find
> it. So I will just go ahead and ask. So I will apologize if these
> questions are redundant.
>
> Question 1: A Persian scythed chariot is perfectly lined up with
the
> leftmost element of a unit of Cretan Archer LI at a distance of
240p
> in open flat terrain. A unit of Greek LMI (friendly to the LI)
moves
> up beside the Cretans on their left and pull slightly ahead of the
> Cretans, but do not get between any part of the chariot's direct
> path to the Cretans. The chariot then moves up 2 3/4" then wheels
> 1/4". The wheel has now oriented the chariot so the Cretans are
> still technically in front of them, but the Greek LMI will now get
> hit first. Was this a legal wheel? The Chariot must charge the
closest unit, both sound like legal targets. So the LMI get charge
since they are closer.
>
> Question 2: Once a scythed chariot charges, the only movement
> possible for the chariot are pursuits, charges, and rout moves,
> correct? Burst throughs also and must be in a straight line also,
unless destroyed.
>
> Question 3: After a scythed chariot breaks through, the chariot is
> still obligated to continue charging and only straight ahead,
> correct? Yes, the driver(s) bailed out (o:
>
> Question 4: A fresh scythed chariot incurs 3 fatigue during the
> first bound it charges, and 4 fatigue every other bound till
> exhausted, correct? Impetous HCh incurs 4 fatigue and 5 their after
unless in pursuit contact.
Craig
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 5:48 pm Post subject: Re: Scythed Chariot Questions |
 |
|
Thanks Craig! My only response is to Question 1. I uploaded a
diagram called Scythed Wheel in the Rule Questions folder for
reference. 16.24 states that an expendable that faces an enemy body
may not be turned in such a way to not be facing that enemy unit
when within 240p and in open terrain. Since the LMI did not get
between the LI and the chariot in any way, you could argue that the
wheel will end up causing the chariot to not be facing the LI when
the chariot charges since it will hit the LMI instead. Additionally,
any unit that wheels is intrinsically not moving it's full
movement
towards another unit when squarely facing each other i.e. since the
units were 240p the chariot did not move a full 120p directly toward
the frontal unit (referring to being on Rush orders and 16.24 both)
and thus could not declare a charge against the LI since the chariot
is technically at 121p away due to the wheel. So that brings another
question, as a preventive measure to keep my chariot from charging
the LI too soon, I could zigzag? I will be the first to admit that I
could be reading way too much in to all of this, and could be
missing a key element of what is going on. I just want to make sure
I fully understand the mechanics since I am relatively inexperienced
and plan on being people's fodder at Historicon.
Matt
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "craigshar2" <craigshar@c...>
wrote:
> --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "choppinlt" <mccoppin@c...>
> wrote:
> > I briefly looked for an answer to my questions, but could not
find
> > it. So I will just go ahead and ask. So I will apologize if
these
> > questions are redundant.
> >
> > Question 1: A Persian scythed chariot is perfectly lined up with
> the
> > leftmost element of a unit of Cretan Archer LI at a distance of
> 240p
> > in open flat terrain. A unit of Greek LMI (friendly to the LI)
> moves
> > up beside the Cretans on their left and pull slightly ahead of
the
> > Cretans, but do not get between any part of the chariot's direct
> > path to the Cretans. The chariot then moves up 2 3/4" then
wheels
> > 1/4". The wheel has now oriented the chariot so the Cretans are
> > still technically in front of them, but the Greek LMI will now
get
> > hit first. Was this a legal wheel? The Chariot must charge the
> closest unit, both sound like legal targets. So the LMI get charge
> since they are closer.
> >
> > Question 2: Once a scythed chariot charges, the only movement
> > possible for the chariot are pursuits, charges, and rout moves,
> > correct? Burst throughs also and must be in a straight line
also,
> unless destroyed.
> >
> > Question 3: After a scythed chariot breaks through, the chariot
is
> > still obligated to continue charging and only straight ahead,
> > correct? Yes, the driver(s) bailed out (o:
> >
> > Question 4: A fresh scythed chariot incurs 3 fatigue during the
> > first bound it charges, and 4 fatigue every other bound till
> > exhausted, correct? Impetous HCh incurs 4 fatigue and 5 their
after
> unless in pursuit contact.
>
> Craig
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 6:01 pm Post subject: Re: Scythed Chariot Questions |
 |
|
<< Question 1: A Persian scythed chariot is perfectly lined up with the
leftmost element of a unit of Cretan Archer LI at a distance of 240p
in open flat terrain. A unit of Greek LMI (friendly to the LI) moves
up beside the Cretans on their left and pull slightly ahead of the
Cretans, but do not get between any part of the chariot's direct
path to the Cretans. The chariot then moves up 2 3/4" then wheels
1/4". The wheel has now oriented the chariot so the Cretans are
still technically in front of them, but the Greek LMI will now get
hit first. Was this a legal wheel?>>
If I understand the description correctly, the LMI made themselves the nearest
known enemy - so yes.
<<Question 2: Once a scythed chariot charges, the only movement
possible for the chariot are pursuits, charges, and rout moves,
correct? >>
Correct.
<<Question 3: After a scythed chariot breaks through, the chariot is
still obligated to continue charging and only straight ahead,
correct?>>
Correct.
<<Question 4: A fresh scythed chariot incurs 3 fatigue during the
first bound it charges, and 4 fatigue every other bound till
exhausted, correct?>>
Hmm. Seems a scythed chariot would expend 4 fatigue the first charge (mounted
charge = 2 + 1 for impetuous + 1 for heavy mounted charge, rule 5.31)
Whether it was 4 or not after that would depend on whether it was pursuing or
charging and whether or not it was tired.
Jon
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:40 pm Post subject: Re: Re: Scythed Chariot Questions |
 |
|
Just to clear all this up, I have looked at the diagram and the LMI does indeed
appear to now be the closest enemy to the chariot. In this case, the chariot
would *have* to move to place the LMI in charge reach, which it appears to have
done.
There is no 'zig-zag' that I can see, nor is there any specific requirement to
be 'squarely facing' with expendables. They must go directly toward the nearest
enemy until they are in charge reach of it. And from the diagram I cannot see
that anything has been done incorrectly.
Jon
-----Original Message-----
From: choppinlt <mccoppin@...>
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Thu, 07 Jul 2005 14:48:17 -0000
Subject: [WarriorRules] Re: Scythed Chariot Questions
Thanks Craig! My only response is to Question 1. I uploaded a
diagram called Scythed Wheel in the Rule Questions folder for
reference. 16.24 states that an expendable that faces an enemy body
may not be turned in such a way to not be facing that enemy unit
when within 240p and in open terrain. Since the LMI did not get
between the LI and the chariot in any way, you could argue that the
wheel will end up causing the chariot to not be facing the LI when
the chariot charges since it will hit the LMI instead. Additionally,
any unit that wheels is intrinsically not moving it's full
movement
towards another unit when squarely facing each other i.e. since the
units were 240p the chariot did not move a full 120p directly toward
the frontal unit (referring to being on Rush orders and 16.24 both)
and thus could not declare a charge against the LI since the chariot
is technically at 121p away due to the wheel. So that brings another
question, as a preventive measure to keep my chariot from charging
the LI too soon, I could zigzag? I will be the first to admit that I
could be reading way too much in to all of this, and could be
missing a key element of what is going on. I just want to make sure
I fully understand the mechanics since I am relatively inexperienced
and plan on being people's fodder at Historicon.
Matt
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "craigshar2" <craigshar@c...>
wrote:
> --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "choppinlt" <mccoppin@c...>
> wrote:
> > I briefly looked for an answer to my questions, but could not
find
> > it. So I will just go ahead and ask. So I will apologize if
these
> > questions are redundant.
> >
> > Question 1: A Persian scythed chariot is perfectly lined up with
> the
> > leftmost element of a unit of Cretan Archer LI at a distance of
> 240p
> > in open flat terrain. A unit of Greek LMI (friendly to the LI)
> moves
> > up beside the Cretans on their left and pull slightly ahead of
the
> > Cretans, but do not get between any part of the chariot's direct
> > path to the Cretans. The chariot then moves up 2 3/4" then
wheels
> > 1/4". The wheel has now oriented the chariot so the Cretans are
> > still technically in front of them, but the Greek LMI will now
get
> > hit first. Was this a legal wheel? The Chariot must charge the
> closest unit, both sound like legal targets. So the LMI get charge
> since they are closer.
> >
> > Question 2: Once a scythed chariot charges, the only movement
> > possible for the chariot are pursuits, charges, and rout moves,
> > correct? Burst throughs also and must be in a straight line
also,
> unless destroyed.
> >
> > Question 3: After a scythed chariot breaks through, the chariot
is
> > still obligated to continue charging and only straight ahead,
> > correct? Yes, the driver(s) bailed out (o:
> >
> > Question 4: A fresh scythed chariot incurs 3 fatigue during the
> > first bound it charges, and 4 fatigue every other bound till
> > exhausted, correct? Impetous HCh incurs 4 fatigue and 5 their
after
> unless in pursuit contact.
>
> Craig
Yahoo! Groups Links
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 10:25 pm Post subject: Re: Scythed Chariot Questions |
 |
|
OK, simple enough. Thanks Jon and Craig.
Matt
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
> Just to clear all this up, I have looked at the diagram and the
LMI does indeed appear to now be the closest enemy to the chariot.
In this case, the chariot would *have* to move to place the LMI in
charge reach, which it appears to have done.
>
> There is no 'zig-zag' that I can see, nor is there any specific
requirement to be 'squarely facing' with expendables. They must go
directly toward the nearest enemy until they are in charge reach of
it. And from the diagram I cannot see that anything has been done
incorrectly.
>
> Jon
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: choppinlt <mccoppin@c...>
> To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
> Sent: Thu, 07 Jul 2005 14:48:17 -0000
> Subject: [WarriorRules] Re: Scythed Chariot Questions
>
>
> Thanks Craig! My only response is to Question 1. I uploaded a
> diagram called Scythed Wheel in the Rule Questions folder for
> reference. 16.24 states that an expendable that faces an enemy
body
> may not be turned in such a way to not be facing that enemy unit
> when within 240p and in open terrain. Since the LMI did not get
> between the LI and the chariot in any way, you could argue that
the
> wheel will end up causing the chariot to not be facing the LI when
> the chariot charges since it will hit the LMI instead.
Additionally,
> any unit that wheels is intrinsically not moving it's full
> movement
> towards another unit when squarely facing each other i.e. since
the
> units were 240p the chariot did not move a full 120p directly
toward
> the frontal unit (referring to being on Rush orders and 16.24
both)
> and thus could not declare a charge against the LI since the
chariot
> is technically at 121p away due to the wheel. So that brings
another
> question, as a preventive measure to keep my chariot from charging
> the LI too soon, I could zigzag? I will be the first to admit that
I
> could be reading way too much in to all of this, and could be
> missing a key element of what is going on. I just want to make
sure
> I fully understand the mechanics since I am relatively
inexperienced
> and plan on being people's fodder at Historicon.
>
> Matt
>
>
>
>
>
> --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "craigshar2" <craigshar@c...>
> wrote:
> > --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "choppinlt" <mccoppin@c...>
> > wrote:
> > > I briefly looked for an answer to my questions, but could not
> find
> > > it. So I will just go ahead and ask. So I will apologize if
> these
> > > questions are redundant.
> > >
> > > Question 1: A Persian scythed chariot is perfectly lined up
with
> > the
> > > leftmost element of a unit of Cretan Archer LI at a distance
of
> > 240p
> > > in open flat terrain. A unit of Greek LMI (friendly to the LI)
> > moves
> > > up beside the Cretans on their left and pull slightly ahead of
> the
> > > Cretans, but do not get between any part of the chariot's
direct
> > > path to the Cretans. The chariot then moves up 2 3/4" then
> wheels
> > > 1/4". The wheel has now oriented the chariot so the Cretans
are
> > > still technically in front of them, but the Greek LMI will now
> get
> > > hit first. Was this a legal wheel? The Chariot must charge the
> > closest unit, both sound like legal targets. So the LMI get
charge
> > since they are closer.
> > >
> > > Question 2: Once a scythed chariot charges, the only movement
> > > possible for the chariot are pursuits, charges, and rout
moves,
> > > correct? Burst throughs also and must be in a straight line
> also,
> > unless destroyed.
> > >
> > > Question 3: After a scythed chariot breaks through, the
chariot
> is
> > > still obligated to continue charging and only straight ahead,
> > > correct? Yes, the driver(s) bailed out (o:
> > >
> > > Question 4: A fresh scythed chariot incurs 3 fatigue during
the
> > > first bound it charges, and 4 fatigue every other bound till
> > > exhausted, correct? Impetous HCh incurs 4 fatigue and 5 their
> after
> > unless in pursuit contact.
> >
> > Craig
>
>
>
>
>
> Yahoo! Groups Links
>
>
>
>
>
>
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|