| Frank Gilson Moderator
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1568
 Location: Orange County California
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 12:36 am    Post subject: Swiss foot P behind 2HCT question |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Want to make sure I don't completely forget about this Question:
 Exactly under what circumstances, and for how long, does an element of
 Pike armed Swiss foot fight from behind an element of 2HCT armed Swiss
 foot?
 
 The relevant list rule is Swiss Infantry Rules #2, page 3 of Feudal
 Warrior, stated here for completeness:
 "If the H-T-H opponent of a mixed P/2HCT body fails to recoil, break,
 or break-off, a rear element of 2HCT (behind an element that faced
 that opponent) may replace that front element of P. In the next bound
 (only) of a continued melee such an element of 2HCT counts as in first
 contact and steady. A single second rank (but not third or fourth) of
 P behind a replacing element of 2HCT fights at full effect."
 
 Note the use of the word 'replacing' in the last sentence, that
 governs the use of an element of P behind that of 2HCT.
 
 Basically, when is an element of 2HCT a 'replacing' element and for
 how long?
 
 Note that the last sentence does not state 'such' before 'a
 replacing', so it leaves the door open that for the entire combat, an
 element of P can fight behind an element of 2HCT if that halberd
 element was ever 'replacing' during that combat.
 
 Is a halberd element 'replacing' if I execute a formation change to
 put that element in the front rank of a unit, with a P element behind
 it? Probably not...It certainly isn't if I start the game out in that
 formation of 2HCT with P behind. In fact, a formation change results
 in the 2HCT element being an 'exchanging' element
  ...not 'replacing'. 
 I 'think' that if a 2HCT element executes the 'replace' function of
 Rule #2, then for that entire combat, however long it lasts, it
 is 'replacing' and an element of P can fight from behind it.
 
 Frank Gilson
 
 
 |  |