Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Swiss foot P behind 2HCT question

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Frank Gilson
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1567
Location: Orange County California

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 12:36 am    Post subject: Swiss foot P behind 2HCT question


Want to make sure I don't completely forget about this Question:
Exactly under what circumstances, and for how long, does an element of
Pike armed Swiss foot fight from behind an element of 2HCT armed Swiss
foot?

The relevant list rule is Swiss Infantry Rules #2, page 3 of Feudal
Warrior, stated here for completeness:
"If the H-T-H opponent of a mixed P/2HCT body fails to recoil, break,
or break-off, a rear element of 2HCT (behind an element that faced
that opponent) may replace that front element of P. In the next bound
(only) of a continued melee such an element of 2HCT counts as in first
contact and steady. A single second rank (but not third or fourth) of
P behind a replacing element of 2HCT fights at full effect."

Note the use of the word 'replacing' in the last sentence, that
governs the use of an element of P behind that of 2HCT.

Basically, when is an element of 2HCT a 'replacing' element and for
how long?

Note that the last sentence does not state 'such' before 'a
replacing', so it leaves the door open that for the entire combat, an
element of P can fight behind an element of 2HCT if that halberd
element was ever 'replacing' during that combat.

Is a halberd element 'replacing' if I execute a formation change to
put that element in the front rank of a unit, with a P element behind
it? Probably not...It certainly isn't if I start the game out in that
formation of 2HCT with P behind. In fact, a formation change results
in the 2HCT element being an 'exchanging' element Wink...not 'replacing'.

I 'think' that if a 2HCT element executes the 'replace' function of
Rule #2, then for that entire combat, however long it lasts, it
is 'replacing' and an element of P can fight from behind it.

Frank Gilson

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group