| 
			
				|  | Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
 |  
 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic |  
		| Author | Message |  
		| Phil Gardocki Centurion
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 893
 Location: Pennsylvania
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 1:19 am    Post subject: Swiss Pike and Halbard |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Sorry Scott, I sent this to you personally accidently.
 
 I have question regarding the Swiss halbard rule and disorder.
 A Swiss pike block of 2 ranks of LMI,P and 1 rank of LHI, 2HCT are in the
 second round of combat, in a situation where they get to pull the LHI, 2HCT
 element to the front rank .
 
 The block was disordered by the previous rounds combat, as it would have to
 be except for absolutely even battles.
 
 The rule says the LHI, 2HCT fights "steady", even though the block is
 disordered.
 I believe the intention is to allow the block to count shielded on the second
 round of combat but I am not sure if this means steady for part of the combat
 and disordered for other parts of the combat.
 
 A) Does the LMI, P in the second rank fighting -1 for disordered?
 B) Does the LHI,2HCT in the front rank fighting -1 for disordered?
 C) If facing Cavalry, does the Cav get +2 vs disordered foot?
 D) Does the blocks armor count as LHI, for the front rank, or LMI, the second
 rank?
 
 Phil
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Todd Schneider Centurion
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 904
 Location: Kansas City
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 8:09 am    Post subject: RE: Swiss Pike and Halbard |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| I’ll take a stab at this…no pun intended…
 
 
 
 1. The Pike fights disordered.
 2. The 2HCT fights disordered, but counts as shielded, because 2HCT
 always count shielded on first contact, and this bound would be the first
 time they are in contact with the enemy.
 3. Yes, I think they do.
 4. A unit in contact with the 2HCT LHI on the front rank would fight
 them as LHI.  A Unit contacting the block on the flank would fight as if
 against MI.
 
 
 
 As an example, where each letter is 1E, if Z were the 2HCT, Y the Pike
 elements, A and B enemy units:
 
 
 
 YYYY
 
 YYYY
 
 BYYYY
 
 BZ Z Z Z
 
 AAAA
 
 AAAA
 
 
 
 A Would be fighting against LHI, B against LMI.
 
 
 
 Keep in Mind though, unless your fighting LI to the front,  the “upgrade” in
 fighting as 2HCW is going to be anywhere from +2 to +3 better than if you
 were fighting them with P, so the negative modifier for being disordered is
 negated by the increased Weapon Factor (Disordered P against HI fight at a
 1, Disordered 2HCW fight at a 4.  I think, and please feel free to correct
 me, in the above example, if A were HI, you would be 4@4, and 8@1, which on
 even dice is 24 casualties if your enemy were shielded.  If the enemy HI
 were unshielded it would be  4@6 and 8@3, or 40 casualties.  I haven’t
 looked at the chart that closely, but I think Unit A would have to roll Up
 to avoid being disordered in return.  The Swiss would take it in the
 lederhosen though from the Cav on the flank.
 
 
 
 My amateur .02 cents,
 
 Todd
 
 
 
 
 
 _____
 
 From: PHGamer@... [mailto:PHGamer@...]
 Sent: Thursday, December 25, 2003 9:19 PM
 To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 Subject: [WarriorRules] Swiss Pike and Halbard
 
 
 
 Sorry Scott, I sent this to you personally accidently.
 
 I have question regarding the Swiss halbard rule and disorder.
 A Swiss pike block of 2 ranks of LMI,P and 1 rank of LHI, 2HCT are in the
 second round of combat, in a situation where they get to pull the LHI, 2HCT
 element to the front rank .
 
 The block was disordered by the previous rounds combat, as it would have to
 be except for absolutely even battles.
 
 The rule says the LHI, 2HCT fights "steady", even though the block is
 disordered.
 I believe the intention is to allow the block to count shielded on the
 second
 round of combat but I am not sure if this means steady for part of the
 combat
 and disordered for other parts of the combat.
 
 A) Does the LMI, P in the second rank fighting -1 for disordered?
 B) Does the LHI,2HCT in the front rank fighting -1 for disordered?
 C) If facing Cavalry, does the Cav get +2 vs disordered foot?
 D) Does the blocks armor count as LHI, for the front rank, or LMI, the
 second
 rank?
 
 Phil
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 
 To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
 
 
 
 ADVERTISEMENT
 HYPERLINK
 "http://rd.yahoo.com/SIG=12cvl7cma/M=266841.4316200.5507732.1261774/D=egroup
 web/S=1705059080:HM/EXP=1072495147/A=1911858/R=0/*http:/www.lifescapeinc.com
 /picasa/landing.php?capid=222&caId=1987"click here
 
 
 HYPERLINK
 "http://us.adserver.yahoo.com/l?M=266841.4316200.5507732.1261774/D=egroupmai
 l/S=:HM/A=1911858/rand=840148704"
 
 
 
 _____
 
 Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 * To visit your group on the web, go to:
 HYPERLINK
 "http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/"http://groups.yahoo.com/group/W
 arriorRules/
 
 * To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 HYPERLINK
 "mailto:WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com?subject=Unsubscribe"Warrior
 Rules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
 * Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the HYPERLINK
 "http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/"Yahoo! Terms of Service.
 
 
 ---
 Incoming mail is certified Virus Free.
 Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
 Version: 6.0.548 / Virus Database: 341 - Release Date: 12/5/2003
 
 
 
 ---
 Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
 Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
 Version: 6.0.548 / Virus Database: 341 - Release Date: 12/5/2003
 
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Finding new and interesting ways to snatch defeat from the jaws of Victory almost every game!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 12:57 pm    Post subject: Re: Swiss Pike and Halbard |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| The rule that mostly applies to your questions, Phil, is 9.41.  The operative
 sentence being:
 
 "If the target body's ranks differ in type, count it as having the type and
 shields of
 the element in contact if steady, otherwise the type of that immediately
 behind if worse, but the shields of that in contact. "
 
 A) Does the LMI, P in the second rank fighting -1 for disordered?
 Yes, because that element is disordered.
 
 B) Does the LHI,2HCT in the front rank fighting -1 for disordered?
 No, because that element is not treated as disordered by the list rule.
 
 C) If facing Cavalry, does the Cav get +2 vs disordered foot?
 No, because the cav is in contact with an element that is treated as steady
 by a list rule.
 
 D) Does the blocks armor count as LHI, for the front rank, or LMI, the second
 rank?
 LHI - see 9.41 above.  As the LHI is a steady element for this fight by list
 rule, the enemy fights the armour in contact.
 
 Jon
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 1:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Swiss Pike and Halbard |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Todd, I love you like a brother, but I would ask you and everyone else to let
 me answer the rules questions here.  Only confusion can result otherwise.
 
 I have answered Phil's question in another mail, but just to illustrate the
 dangers of folks not me answering rules questions, I'll comment on Todd's
 answer.
 
 2.    The 2HCT fights disordered, but counts as shielded, because 2HCT
 always count shielded on first contact, and this bound would be the first
 time they are in contact with the enemy.
 Wrong.  The Feudal Warrior Swiss list rule says that they 'count as steady'.
 If you 'count as' something (or are 'treated as') in Warrior, you are
 entirely that way until the 'counting as' ends.
 
 Jon
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Phil Gardocki Centurion
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 893
 Location: Pennsylvania
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sat Dec 27, 2003 11:21 pm    Post subject: Re: Swiss Pike and Halbard |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| I do not think the doubled and 1 is relevent, as this Swiss rule only applies
 when the enemy of the pike block is not recoiled or broken.  After the first
 bound, the pike will be disorded with this critea, as pike does not recoil
 from foot, but becomes disordered, and recoils from mounted is also a cause from
 disorder.
 Phil
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Kelly Wilkinson Dictator
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 4172
 Location: Raytown, MO
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2003 1:39 am    Post subject: Re: Swiss Pike and Halbard |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| ********************************************************************************\n*************
 
 
 Jon,
 Okay, what if the swiss unit were doubled in hand to hand and received at
 least 1 cpf, would the halberd element still count steady? And in this scenario
 if it were steady, at what point would it not be steady?
 
 kelly
 
 JonCleaves@... wrote:
 The rule that mostly applies to your questions, Phil, is 9.41.  The operative
 sentence being:
 
 "If the target body's ranks differ in type, count it as having the type and
 shields of
 the element in contact if steady, otherwise the type of that immediately
 behind if worse, but the shields of that in contact. "
 
 A) Does the LMI, P in the second rank fighting -1 for disordered?
 Yes, because that element is disordered.
 
 B) Does the LHI,2HCT in the front rank fighting -1 for disordered?
 No, because that element is not treated as disordered by the list rule.
 
 C) If facing Cavalry, does the Cav get +2 vs disordered foot?
 No, because the cav is in contact with an element that is treated as steady
 by a list rule.
 
 D) Does the blocks armor count as LHI, for the front rank, or LMI, the second
 rank?
 LHI - see 9.41 above.  As the LHI is a steady element for this fight by list
 rule, the enemy fights the armour in contact.
 
 Jon
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 
 To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
 
 
 
 
 
 ---------------------------------
 Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 To visit your group on the web, go to:
 http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
 
 To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
 Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
 
 
 
 ---------------------------------
 Do you Yahoo!?
 Free Pop-Up Blocker - Get it now
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll down and Win!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		|  |  
  
	| 
 
 | You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 You cannot edit your posts in this forum
 You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 You cannot attach files in this forum
 You cannot download files in this forum
 
 |  
 Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
 
 |