| View previous topic :: View next topic | 
	
	
		| Author | Message | 
	
		| Recruit
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 95
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2000 11:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Tactical moves |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| >Sorry for persisting, but still it's not very clear to me... can one unit
 >make an approach and a counter, or an approach and a retirement in the same
 >bound?
 
 We always used to play, under 7th, that you could only do one of
 those in one bound. So once a unit had made an approach, it could not
 counter or retire. No approach move gives the privilege of countering
 or retiring, but not both.
 
 Paul Szuscikiewicz
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Recruit
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 20
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2000 8:04 pm    Post subject: Tactical moves |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Sorry for persisting, but still it's not very clear to me... can one unit
 make an approach and a counter, or an approach and a retirement in the same
 bound?
 
 Thanks
 Marios
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Recruit
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 20
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sun Aug 13, 2000 5:06 pm    Post subject: Tactical Moves |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Greetings,
 
 In 7th it says clearly under the heading 'counters and
 retirements', "These cannot be made by... any that made an
 approach this bound."
 
 In 160500 Warrior, under Retirements it says "A body may
 not retire if:" and then 4th Bullet: "it approached".
 
 My understanding is that a unit may Approach OR counter OR
 Retire. It may then charge later in the bound.
 
 Yours, Francis
 
 __________________________________________________
 Do You Yahoo!?
 Yahoo! Mail – Free email you can access from anywhere!
 http://mail.yahoo.com/
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Ed Kollmer Centurion
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1018
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sun Aug 13, 2000 11:39 pm    Post subject: Re: Tactical Moves |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Kollmer wrote:
 
 I have to admit. I have read 6.14 Counters and the only cause for a Counter
 seems to be a threatening situation listed under the Counter section.It says
 nothing about Approaches. In Section 6.0 Movement it says" A body beginning
 bound within 40p of an enemy body   may only: Make a formation change during
 Appoaches OR counter OR retire....    Here it seems to allude to the one or
 the other...
 
 Anybody have some clarifications.......
 ----- Original Message -----
 From: Francis S. B. Barnett <francis_crawford@...>
 To: <WarriorRules@egroups.com>
 Sent: Sunday, August 13, 2000 10:06 AM
 Subject: [WarriorRules] Tactical Moves
 
 
 >
 > Greetings,
 >
 > In 7th it says clearly under the heading 'counters and
 > retirements', "These cannot be made by... any that made an
 > approach this bound."
 >
 > In 160500 Warrior, under Retirements it says "A body may
 > not retire if:" and then 4th Bullet: "it approached".
 >
 > My understanding is that a unit may Approach OR counter OR
 > Retire. It may then charge later in the bound.
 >
 > Yours, Francis
 >
 > __________________________________________________
 > Do You Yahoo!?
 > Yahoo! Mail - Free email you can access from anywhere!
 > http://mail.yahoo.com/
 >
 >
 >
 > To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 > WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
 >
 >
 >
 >
 
 _______________________________________________
 Why pay for something you could get for free?
 NetZero provides FREE Internet Access and Email
 http://www.netzero.net/download/index.html
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Jake Kovel Legionary
 
  
 
 Joined: 02 Apr 2006
 Posts: 589
 Location: Simsbury, CT
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2000 12:49 pm    Post subject: Re: Tactical moves |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| >Sorry for persisting, but still it's not very clear to me... can one unit
 
 >make an approach and a counter, or an approach and a retirement in the same
 
 >bound?
 
 
 A unit cannot approach and counter or retire in the same turn.  If the
 wording was left out, sorry, but the rule states that a counter/retirement
 cannot be made by a unit that had made an approach earlier.  This is clearly
 stated in 6.15 Retirements but seems to be missing in 6.14 Counters.
 
 
 _________________
 Jacob Kovel
 Silver Eagle Wargame Supplies
 Four Horsemen Enterprises, LLC
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2000 1:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Tactical moves |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| You cannot approach and either counter or retire in the same bound.  I will so
 fix the rules.
 
 Jon
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		|  |