| 
			
				|  | Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
 |  
 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic |  
		| Author | Message |  
		| Mark Stone Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 2102
 Location: Buckley, WA
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 6:53 pm    Post subject: Re: TACTICS knights behind LI |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| --- On October 29 John Murphy said: ---
 
 > however, I ran into a number of similar situations where enemy
 > knights came up to charge my LI.
 > while I had the room to stay <120p from the back of the LI rear rank
 > but >160p from the front of the LI front rank,
 > I lost my nerve thinking they would somehow blow thru my LI and go
 > long in pursuit to convert into my knights standing
 > so I moved my knights right up behind (in retrospect probably even
 > riskier) and countered the LI back thru
 >
 > tactics question is...
 > I blew it didn't I? The idea was that my LI stands so even if it
 > breaks it only routs 120p and the back rank fails to interpenetrate
 > so the enemy knights can not pursue thru and convert into my knights.
 > in fact, this was maybe a golden opportunity to hit the enemy
 > knights while "stuck to" my routing LI
 
 Yes, you blew it. The idea is exactly what you say here: LI stands, routs, and
 rout moves 120p, leaving your knights positioned to charge through into his
 knights.
 
 Generally, your LI wants to evade from a knight charge if, and only if, it has a
 greater than 50% of evading away without getting caught. Otherwise you want to
 take it at the halt.
 
 By the way, don't worry so much about your opponent breaking through your LI and
 getting a converted charge into your knights. People often overlook the fact
 that the strength of a knight unit is its ability to _resist_ damage, _not_
 it's ability to put out damage. Six figures of medium cav with lance do exactly
 the same amount of damage as six figures of SHK with lance. The difference is in
 the defensive strength of the the two.
 
 For example: let's suppose you have a 2 stand unit of HK, 1 wide and 2 deep,
 hanging out behind your LI. Your opponent charges the LI impetuously with 2
 stands of SHK, also 1 wide and 2 deep. He beats your LI, fails to rout them,
 but does 3 times as many, and hence breaks through converting into your HK.
 
 First of all, consider the fatigue he's just piled up on his SHK: he probably
 took 1 CPF in prep shooting, another in support and hand to hand combined, so
 he's got: 2 (cav charging) + 1 (impetuous) + 1 (knights charging) +1 (prep) + 1
 (support/hth) + 1 (charging consecutive bounds) + 2 (cav charging) + 1
 (impetuous) + 1 (knights charging) = 11 CPF. Second, consider that he's now put
 a knight unit _behind_ your LI, and thus out of reach of help from other units
 of his. Finally, consider that he needs to roll up to rout your HK, and if he
 doesn't rout them, he's toast. L charging HK is only a 2, + 2 (cav charging) +
 1 (impetuous) -1 (waaaaaay tired) = 4. 5@4=15. Not 3 CPF. If he got disordered
 somewhere along the way (not unlikely) it's even worse for him.
 
 Moral of the story: given two well-supported lines of LI, the guy who resorts to
 charging LI with his knights is probably going to lose. Be patient, and trust
 your battle plan.
 
 
 -Mark Stone
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Mark Stone Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 2102
 Location: Buckley, WA
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 7:02 pm    Post subject: Re: TACTICS knights behind LI |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Note to self:
 
 No posting messages before morning coffee.
 
 That's +2 for mounted impetuous, and +1 for mounted charge (not the other way
 around). Same factors though, and the argument is still the same.
 
 
 -Mark Stone
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Ewan McNay Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 2780
 Location: Albany, NY, US
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 8:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: TACTICS knights behind LI |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| On Sun, 30 Oct 2005, Mark Stone wrote:
 > of his. Finally, consider that he needs to roll up to rout your HK, and if he
 > doesn't rout them, he's toast. L charging HK is only a 2, + 2 (cav charging) +
 > 1 (impetuous) -1 (waaaaaay tired) = 4. 5@4=15. Not 3 CPF. If he got disordered
 > somewhere along the way (not unlikely) it's even worse for him.
 
 Granted - and in line with Mark's point - the HK are only giving out 3@0
 or similar, so doing nothing to the incoming K.  The incoming K could even
 choose to break through again, and might  well so choose; now they're
 behind the second line, potentially out of reach of any immediate
 response, and can turn for free to hit the rear of the now-disordered HK
 unit they just broke through.  Not a bad alternative to routing the HK on
 contact.
 
 > Moral of the story: given two well-supported lines of LI, the guy who resorts
 to
 > charging LI with his knights is probably going to lose. Be patient, and trust
 > your battle plan.
 
 Well.. maybe.  But if I get to be the guy charging in the context of
 converting into a stationary opposing K unit as a worst case, then I'll
 take it
  .  So the other moral is not to leave your supports hanging out where they can  be converted into.  Surprise
  . 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| John Murphy Legate
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1625
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 12:51 am    Post subject: Re: TACTICS knights behind LI |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| The situation was more along the lines of this...
 
 I had several units of 6E LI B with front rank Sh
 These got the advantage, as expected, over the very few enemy LI HG
 This left them free to push up towards the enemy EHK behind
 
 My LI was, as you stated, supported by my HK - with the idea to keep
 in <120p from the rear edge (supporting) but >160p from the front
 (so requiring a break-thru _and_ an up-roll on distance to convert)
 
 But the shtick was that the EHK came in mass and my LI fire was
 going to be split up badly - he was setting up to charge one 6E LI
 unit with 3 units of EHK and the other with 2 units of EHK, while I
 had only 4 units of HK behind in support. When he came right up to
 81p away I chickened out of my plan thinking if he routed me that
 somehow he could convert - which I do not think is the case as he
 actually needs to _not_ rout me and break-thru (?) very unlikely in
 this situation (unless I tried to evade). But needless to say I was
 not going to do anything to him other than give him 3 FP for the
 (non-impetuous) charge into my standing LI.
 
 However, even being disordered by charging in and replacing my
 routing LI next bound I think this might have had a chance to get an
 advantage.
 
 I wish I understood the rules surrounding all this a bit better, in
 terms of who gets to do what. eg... Wuuld the EHK have got to
 counter-charge me somehow? What conditions would permit them to
 convert into me? I think if I knew this down pat I would be less
 likely to opt myself out of possible advantages like this.
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| John Murphy Legate
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1625
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 1:40 am    Post subject: Re: TACTICS knights behind LI |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| I just posted a diagram in ppt "interpenetration" under the rules
 questions folder
 
 Curious about...
 
 a. What has to happen here, assuming the EHK all charge, for them to
 convert into the HK? Looks to me like they have to (unlikely) not
 break the LI, opt to break thru, and then roll long in pursuit after
 opting to break thru?
 
 b. If they break the LI the LI is left split with (at least) one
 rank still in front of the friendly HK, the other rank beyond unless
 they roll short. Does this mean the pursuit of the EHK hits the LI
 since they do not fully uncover the HK?
 
 c. If next bound the EHK is in contact with the LI after routing it
 as described above, and the LI is split by the HK, and the HK
 charges (disordered, by interpenetrating in a charge) the EHK
 replacing the routed LI.... what can the EHK do? Can they counter
 charge? If they can not what weapons and circumstances do they count
 for HtH against the charging HK?
 
 Does this manuever make any tactical sense?
 
 --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "John" <jjmurphy@s...> wrote:
 > I wish I understood the rules surrounding all this a bit better,
 in
 > terms of who gets to do what. eg... Wuuld the EHK have got to
 > counter-charge me somehow? What conditions would permit them to
 > convert into me? I think if I knew this down pat I would be less
 > likely to opt myself out of possible advantages like this.
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Frank Gilson Moderator
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1568
 Location: Orange County California
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 9:50 pm    Post subject: Re: TACTICS knights behind LI |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Just have your cav (HK, whatever) 241 paces back behind the front
 edge of the LI. Any breakthrough against your LI will, even if long,
 fail to contact your supporting cavalry.
 
 The bound after the charge hits your LI you can advance that cav as
 necessary to attack anything that charged the LI, excepting if the
 enemy chargers recalled (presumably because you chose to evade the
 LI and the enemy did not contact them.)
 
 Frank
 
 --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "John" <jjmurphy@s...> wrote:
 >
 > The situation was more along the lines of this...
 >
 > I had several units of 6E LI B with front rank Sh
 > These got the advantage, as expected, over the very few enemy LI HG
 > This left them free to push up towards the enemy EHK behind
 >
 > My LI was, as you stated, supported by my HK - with the idea to
 keep
 > in <120p from the rear edge (supporting) but >160p from the front
 > (so requiring a break-thru _and_ an up-roll on distance to convert)
 >
 > But the shtick was that the EHK came in mass and my LI fire was
 > going to be split up badly - he was setting up to charge one 6E LI
 > unit with 3 units of EHK and the other with 2 units of EHK, while
 I
 > had only 4 units of HK behind in support. When he came right up to
 > 81p away I chickened out of my plan thinking if he routed me that
 > somehow he could convert - which I do not think is the case as he
 > actually needs to _not_ rout me and break-thru (?) very unlikely
 in
 > this situation (unless I tried to evade). But needless to say I
 was
 > not going to do anything to him other than give him 3 FP for the
 > (non-impetuous) charge into my standing LI.
 >
 > However, even being disordered by charging in and replacing my
 > routing LI next bound I think this might have had a chance to get
 an
 > advantage.
 >
 > I wish I understood the rules surrounding all this a bit better,
 in
 > terms of who gets to do what. eg... Wuuld the EHK have got to
 > counter-charge me somehow? What conditions would permit them to
 > convert into me? I think if I knew this down pat I would be less
 > likely to opt myself out of possible advantages like this.
 >
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 9:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: TACTICS knights behind LI |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| If you have not had your questions answered, John, could you please separate out
 the rules questions you need me to answer.  Thanks.
 
 Jon
 
 -----Original Message-----
 From: John <jjmurphy@...>
 To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 Sent: Sun, 30 Oct 2005 22:40:52 -0000
 Subject: [WarriorRules] Re: TACTICS knights behind LI
 
 
 I just posted a diagram in ppt "interpenetration" under the rules
 questions folder
 
 Curious about...
 
 a. What has to happen here, assuming the EHK all charge, for them to
 convert into the HK? Looks to me like they have to (unlikely) not
 break the LI, opt to break thru, and then roll long in pursuit after
 opting to break thru?
 
 b. If they break the LI the LI is left split with (at least) one
 rank still in front of the friendly HK, the other rank beyond unless
 they roll short. Does this mean the pursuit of the EHK hits the LI
 since they do not fully uncover the HK?
 
 c. If next bound the EHK is in contact with the LI after routing it
 as described above, and the LI is split by the HK, and the HK
 charges (disordered, by interpenetrating in a charge) the EHK
 replacing the routed LI.... what can the EHK do? Can they counter
 charge? If they can not what weapons and circumstances do they count
 for HtH against the charging HK?
 
 Does this manuever make any tactical sense?
 
 --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "John" <jjmurphy@s...> wrote:
 > I wish I understood the rules surrounding all this a bit better,
 in
 > terms of who gets to do what. eg... Wuuld the EHK have got to
 > counter-charge me somehow? What conditions would permit them to
 > convert into me? I think if I knew this down pat I would be less
 > likely to opt myself out of possible advantages like this.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
 
 
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		|  |  
  
	| 
 
 | You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 You cannot edit your posts in this forum
 You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 You cannot attach files in this forum
 You cannot download files in this forum
 
 |  
 Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
 
 |