| 
			
				|  | Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
 |  
 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic |  
		| Author | Message |  
		| Frank Gilson Moderator
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1568
 Location: Orange County California
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sat Feb 21, 2004 9:16 pm    Post subject: Temporary Field Fortifications |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Thanks, Jon, for posting to the group an article about TFFs. I have a couple
 of questions.
 
 First off, the term 'cross', as in 'cross an obstacle' seems not to apply if
 I am charging troops defending an obstacle...and I believe you stated that
 earlier in response to another question I had asked.
 
 So, even though various mounted can't cross various TFFs, they can still
 charge troops defending them. Also, as a charge is not an attempt to cross,
 movement is not reduced and chargers can use their full tactical move to
 reach the target.
 
 However, let us say my mounted troops defeat enemy defending an obstacle. It
 would appear that my mounted cannot cross the obstacle to follow up or
 pursue. Is that correct?
 
 Also, let us say I have troops behind an obstacle...but not defending. I am
 instead just a bit beyond the obstacle...as my troops know that mounted from
 beyond cannot cross...and so cannot charge. Also that enemy foot moves are
 reduced if they are attempting to cross, and so I cannot be charged from
 beyond 40p by close order or 80p by loose/open order infantry. Correct?
 
 Frank Gilson
 
 _________________________________________________________________
 Stay informed on Election 2004 and the race to Super Tuesday.
 http://special.msn.com/msn/election2004.armx
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sun Feb 22, 2004 1:15 am    Post subject: Re: Temporary Field Fortifications |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 2/21/2004 12:48:30 Central Standard Time,
 franktrevorgilson@... writes:
 First off, the term 'cross', as in 'cross an obstacle' seems not to apply if
 I am charging troops defending an obstacle...and I believe you stated that
 earlier in response to another question I had asked.
 
 So, even though various mounted can't cross various TFFs, they can still
 charge troops defending them. Also, as a charge is not an attempt to cross,
 movement is not reduced and chargers can use their full tactical move to
 reach the target.>>
 
 All true, but remember, a ditched palisade has an obstacle on the 'enemy'
 side of the palisade ( the ditch).
 
 
 However, let us say my mounted troops defeat enemy defending an obstacle. It
 would appear that my mounted cannot cross the obstacle to follow up or
 pursue. Is that correct?>>
 
 Not while they are mounted, no.  And you mean cross the TF (which is probably
 also an obstacle).
 
 
 Also, let us say I have troops behind an obstacle...but not defending. I am
 instead just a bit beyond the obstacle...as my troops know that mounted from
 beyond cannot cross...and so cannot charge. Also that enemy foot moves are
 reduced if they are attempting to cross, and so I cannot be charged from
 beyond 40p by close order or 80p by loose/open order infantry. Correct?>>
 
 True.
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Phil Gardocki Centurion
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 893
 Location: Pennsylvania
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sun Feb 22, 2004 1:27 am    Post subject: Re: Temporary Field Fortifications |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Regarding "even though various mounted can't cross various TFFs, they can
 still
 charge troops defending them"
 Does this mean chariots can charge troops behind stakes, even though the
 stakes are impassible to wheels?
 
 Phil
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sun Feb 22, 2004 2:26 am    Post subject: Re: Temporary Field Fortifications |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 2/21/2004 22:11:45 Central Standard Time, PHGamer@...
 writes:
 Regarding "even though various mounted can't cross various TFFs, they can
 still
 charge troops defending them"
 Does this mean chariots can charge troops behind stakes, even though the
 stakes are impassible to wheels?
 
 Phil>>
 
 Ok, before this gets out of hand....lol
 
 First the answer to the above is NO.
 
 Second, ALL TFFs have a depth of at least 10p EXCEPT walls (which are only in
 lists).
 
 That means, there is no TFF in the rulebook, including stakes, a chariot can
 cross to get at its opponent.  By definition, an opponent behind a TFF at
 least 10p in depth would be out of charge reach.
 
 It is possible to be defending a wall and get charged by someone who cannot
 cross the wall.  This is because we have not given walls a depth, because we
 didn't have our act together when they were put in the list books.
 I will clarify this as soon as we have decided what to do about it.
 
 Until then, you can charge a guy defending a wall with anything, but you may
 not be able to cross it....lol
 
 I'm not really worried about this glitch at the moment because its at the
 margin.
 
 I answered Frank's question as though he were asking about walls specifically
 because that is the case that came up in his games in San Ramon.
 
 Jon
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		|  |  
  
	| 
 
 | You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 You cannot edit your posts in this forum
 You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 You cannot attach files in this forum
 You cannot download files in this forum
 
 |  
 Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
 
 |