Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Yet more on skirmish.

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2004 3:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Yet more on skirmish.


In a message dated 5/30/2004 08:59:47 Central Daylight Time,
ewan.mcnay@... writes:

so, we're now back to:

(1) Troops going *into* skirmish need do nothing other than have enemy who
could move to within their target range. But,>>
Or get within their own shooting range themselves.


(2) Troops already *in* skirmish *must* approach to within their shooting
range if at all possible. They are *not* allowed to remain in skirmish
just because enemy could move to their range.>>
True, unless of course the 'counter exemption' applies.



Correct?>>
Yes.

In passing, as I've been pulled into examining this small part of the
rules in slightly deeper detail: note that the rules do not allow one to
ever leave skirmish.

Yes, this is absurd. However:

6.12 lists permissible maneuvers. They include entering skirmish (or
testudo, or orb) from block, as well as reverting from orb to block (which
eliminates the possibility that all maneuvers imply their converse
somehow). Reverting from skirmish to block is not a permitted maneuver.>>
Well 6.4 is the controlling rule, but I would agree that for completeness we
could put the info here as well. One of the things I am doing in the new
rulebook is 'doubling up' on info that crosses rules lines and putting the info
in both places. Much like terrain and cohesion have the same info in both
the terrain section and the cohesion section.



6.4 (Formations) merely refers back to 6.12; it notes that changes between
different formations are a maneuver, but this cannot be a blanket
statement (as otherwise e.g. orb-to-testudo would be only one maneuver) ->>
If I understand what you mean by 'blanket statement', yes it is. 6.4 is
actually the controlling rule. 6.12 refers to 6.4 and 6.4 says: "Units may be
in one of five formations: block, column, testudo, orb or skirmish. Changing
from one formation to another is a maneuver (6.12, but see 6.111)." And
yes, you can use a manuever to go from orb to testudo, provided you were
allowed
both formations in the first place.
Jon


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Ewan McNay
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2738
Location: Albany, NY, US

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2004 4:13 pm    Post subject: Yet more on skirmish.


On Sat, 29 May 2004 JonCleaves@... wrote:
> In a message dated 5/29/2004 20:46:56 Central Daylight Time,
> ewan.mcnay@... writes:
>
> p 54, paragraph 10. What I stated is correct in every particular,
> including the critical word 'must.' Given that I pointed out the exact
> place in the rules text where this example was found.. well, anyway, it is
> indeed true.>>
> Ah..... I see. That is an example. In the example, the LC can get to
> within 40p so it must. But the general rule is that it must try, and given
the
> counter exemption it does not have to leave skirmish if its best efforts to
not
> get it there.

so, we're now back to:

(1) Troops going *into* skirmish need do nothing other than have enemy who
could move to within their target range. But,
(2) Troops already *in* skirmish *must* approach to within their shooting
range if at all possible. They are *not* allowed to remain in skirmish
just because enemy could move to their range.

Correct?

You'll doubtless think I'm being annoying here, but this would be yet
another change of ruling here within this thread, and it's an extremely
important question!

In passing, as I've been pulled into examining this small part of the
rules in slightly deeper detail: note that the rules do not allow one to
ever leave skirmish.

Yes, this is absurd. However:

6.12 lists permissible maneuvers. They include entering skirmish (or
testudo, or orb) from block, as well as reverting from orb to block (which
eliminates the possibility that all maneuvers imply their converse
somehow). Reverting from skirmish to block is not a permitted maneuver.

6.4 (Formations) merely refers back to 6.12; it notes that changes between
different formations are a maneuver, but this cannot be a blanket
statement (as otherwise e.g. orb-to-testudo would be only one maneuver) -
so we're referred backk to 6.12 for details, as above.

6.43 (Testudo) notes that reversion from testudo to block is automatic
when moving. 6.44 (orb) notes again that reversion from orb is a
maneuver.

6.45 (skirmish) notes that skirmish is lost when turning or charging, but
gives no other possible way to return to block.

[This set of rules, combined with Jon's ruling above, get interesting.
For instance, a body already in skirmish which cannot get to within
shooting range, and is not covered by the 'counter exception,' presumably
must make a turn to drop out of skirmish. That's going to be especially
worrying if the body is irregular! I think this is clearly not the
intent. But it is the current situation.]

Thanks for the apology on the fact that every detail I quoted of the
example you wrote was correct, btw.

> Hope this helps, and yes, I will look at all this wording as I write the new
> rulebook, something I have now promised three times...lol

Yes, I realise that there will be a new set of rules coming. but for all
those games in the meantime, we still need to resolve such questions, of
course.

Ewan

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group