Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Seleukids- A or B ?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Tactics
View previous topic :: View next topic  
AntiokosIII
Recruit
Recruit

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 3:36 pm    Post subject: Seleukids- A or B ?

Back in the Olden Times, in TOG, when I last played a lot, my beloved Seleukids were considered a killer list, an A list. I started playing Seleukids in 4th Edition because their history is so romanitc, so exotic, and kept playing them because I fell in love with the hellenistic period.

I sort of quit playing Seleukids after awhile in TOG because I kept hearing people accuse me of playing them only because the list was so tough. Well, it was a very nasty list indeed. Now the army seems less well regarded. Has it slipped back to maybe a B? Is it safe to resume playing them without guilt? If I beat somebody with the army, do I now get more of the credit than the guy who wrote the list books?

Frank Gilson

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 4:59 pm    Post subject: Go Ahead

Go ahead and play Seleucids regardless of what the folks trampled by your elephants, skewered by your pikes, and gored by your scythes say!

Truthfully...it's the army you play if you want lots of elephants (Cool plus some other Macedonian style troops...and is a solid list that can compete well.

It's not a super-duper-kill-everything list, but arguably it never was.

Frank
Mark Stone

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:44 pm    Post subject:

My personal "A" list is very short:
* Alexandrian Imperial
* Khmer
* Knights of Saint John
* Later Carthaginian