 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Legionary

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 297
|
Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 5:40 pm Post subject: another pesky newbie question.... |
 |
|
The situation:
One command of 5 units of 4 el HI, 1 4 el LI, and 2 units of 2e MC + sub-gen
with 1 el HC Bodyguard (total of 8 units + staff and bodyguard) are given
the initial order "Probe". The character of the sub-general is cautious,
and he blows his dice roll, which automatically makes the order for the
command "Hold". During the initial marching sequence, the command moved to
the centerline, and the enemy moved to within 240 paces - so no further
marching was required by the command. Correct so far?
The following Bound, the CinC sends the Probe order to the Sub-general,
which he received..now the question:
Is the sub-general required to send the new order to each unit in his
command (all eight have to receive an "oh, by the way communique") or is he
required to prompt only those units that he desires to perform an action
contrary to the "Hold" order (i.e. prompt the HI to initiate a charge,
etc.)?
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 8:01 pm Post subject: Re: another pesky newbie question.... |
 |
|
In a message dated 8/6/2003 09:41:46 Central Daylight Time,
sctrac@... writes:
> One command of 5 units of 4 el HI, 1 4 el LI, and 2 units of 2e MC +
> sub-gen
> with 1 el HC Bodyguard (total of 8 units + staff and bodyguard) are given
> the initial order "Probe". The character of the sub-general is cautious,
> and he blows his dice roll, which automatically makes the order for the
> command "Hold". During the initial marching sequence, the command moved to
> the centerline, and the enemy moved to within 240 paces - so no further
> marching was required by the command. Correct so far?
Hold requires no marching or movement of any kind. But as long as you
haven't crossed the center, you are good with wherever you moved.
>
> The following Bound, the CinC sends the Probe order to the Sub-general,
> which he received..now the question:
>
> Is the sub-general required to send the new order to each unit in his
> command (all eight have to receive an "oh, by the way communique") or is he
> required to prompt only those units that he desires to perform an action
> contrary to the "Hold" order (i.e. prompt the HI to initiate a charge,
> etc.)?
4.41 says: "A communication is to all the units of a command (also called
destinations) when the CINC changes the orders of his own command or when other
generals pass on new orders (received from the CINC) to their own command. "
So, yes, the SG would then have to use his minutes getting the probe order, if
interpreted correctly, to his new command.
J
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 12:56 pm Post subject: Re: another pesky newbie question.... |
 |
|
In a message dated 8/7/2003 08:43:06 Central Daylight Time, clr198@...
writes:
> I believe the rules state something to the effect that the CinC may issue
> a
> new order on the second subsequent bound. So, in this case, the command
> would have to spend two entire bounds under the ³Hold² order and only at the
> beginning of bound 3 could that be changed.
>
That is correct. I missed the following bound part because it didn't have to
do directly with the question, but you are right.
J
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 234
|
Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 4:40 pm Post subject: Re: another pesky newbie question.... |
 |
|
On 8/6/03 5:01 PM, "JonCleaves@..." <JonCleaves@...> wrote:
Jon,
Since I donıt have the rules in front of me, this could be bad. But in the
interest of timeliness...
The questioner asked:
³The following Bound, the CinC sends the Probe order to the Sub-general...²
I believe the rules state something to the effect that the CinC may issue a
new order on the second subsequent bound. So, in this case, the command
would have to spend two entire bounds under the ³Hold² order and only at the
beginning of bound 3 could that be changed.
-- Charles
> In a message dated 8/6/2003 09:41:46 Central Daylight Time,
> sctrac@... writes:
>
>> > One command of 5 units of 4 el HI, 1 4 el LI, and 2 units of 2e MC +
>> > sub-gen
>> > with 1 el HC Bodyguard (total of 8 units + staff and bodyguard) are given
>> > the initial order "Probe". The character of the sub-general is cautious,
>> > and he blows his dice roll, which automatically makes the order for the
>> > command "Hold". During the initial marching sequence, the command moved to
>> > the centerline, and the enemy moved to within 240 paces - so no further
>> > marching was required by the command. Correct so far?
>
> Hold requires no marching or movement of any kind. But as long as you
> haven't crossed the center, you are good with wherever you moved.
>
>> >
>> > The following Bound, the CinC sends the Probe order to the Sub-general,
>> > which he received..now the question:
>> >
>> > Is the sub-general required to send the new order to each unit in his
>> > command (all eight have to receive an "oh, by the way communique") or is he
>> > required to prompt only those units that he desires to perform an action
>> > contrary to the "Hold" order (i.e. prompt the HI to initiate a charge,
>> > etc.)?
>
> 4.41 says: "A communication is to all the units of a command (also called
> destinations) when the CINC changes the orders of his own command or when
> other
> generals pass on new orders (received from the CINC) to their own command. "
> So, yes, the SG would then have to use his minutes getting the probe order, if
> interpreted correctly, to his new command.
>
> J
>
>
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
>
>
> Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
>
> ADVERTISEMENT
>
> <http://rd.yahoo.com/M=194081.3551198.4824677.1261774/D=egroupweb/S=1705059080
> :HM/A=1704239/R=0/SIG=11o99mg4u/*http://www.ediets.com/start.cfm?code=30518&me
> dia=blank>
>
> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
> WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
>
>
>
> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service
> <http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/> .
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Legionary

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 297
|
Posted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 9:49 pm Post subject: RE: another pesky newbie question.... |
 |
|
>> I believe the rules state something to the effect that the CinC may
issue
>> a
>>new order on the second subsequent bound. So, in this case, the command
>> would have to spend two entire bounds under the ³Hold² order and only at
the
>> beginning of bound 3 could that be changed.
>>
>That is correct. I missed the following bound part because it didn't have
to
>do directly with the question, but you are right.
Ok, now you have caught me without my rulebook, but you are saying that The
C-in-C cannot send a new order until the second bound (which sounds like we
did correctly) and the sub-gen has to wait until the following bound before
issuing the new order to his troops?
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:35 am Post subject: RE: another pesky newbie question.... |
 |
|
Ok, now you have caught me without my rulebook, but you are saying that The
C-in-C cannot send a new order until the second bound (which sounds like we
did correctly) and the sub-gen has to wait until the following bound before
issuing the new order to his troops?>>
4.43 says:
"If any order is not obeyed to the CINCs satisfaction, he may issue a new order
on the second subsequent bound. [It takes the CINC a full bound to realize the
order is not being obeyed.] It is then transmitted again and interpretation
diced for as any other order. The new order may be the same order or a
different one. "
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|