View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 22
|
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 3:19 am Post subject: avioding the obligation to advance |
 |
|
Jon could you clear up what I think is a misuse of the rules for us?
A one unit cmmand is given iether attack or probe orders.
The unit thus has an obligation to advance.
It is too far from the enemy to make an approach move.
In order to aviod its obligation to march the unit's owner prompts a
retirement and now claims the unit is unable to march.
Is this a legal move?
Thank you
John Ball
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 3:28 am Post subject: Re: avioding the obligation to advance |
 |
|
<<Jon could you clear up what I think is a misuse of the rules for us?
A one unit cmmand is given iether attack or probe orders.
The unit thus has an obligation to advance.
It is too far from the enemy to make an approach move.
In order to aviod its obligation to march the unit's owner prompts a
retirement and now claims the unit is unable to march.
Is this a legal move?>>
No, it is not.
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 234
|
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 10:09 pm Post subject: Re: avioding the obligation to advance |
 |
|
Jon,
On a related note, if a unit of Irr A's is in range to charge an enemy
unit (and must do so), can it turn 180 degrees (as an approach, for
example) so that it is unable to charge?
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 10:28 pm Post subject: Re: avioding the obligation to advance |
 |
|
On a related note, if a unit of Irr A's is in range to charge an enemy
unit (and must do so), can it turn 180 degrees (as an approach, for
example) so that it is unable to charge?>>
Well, that's before the charge phase, so the 'if they can' part of 4.51 hasn't
been decided yet. That makes the effective answer to your question: yes. But
it is important to realize that this question and the last one aren't all that
related....lol
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|