Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Camillan anti-elephant carts

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 5:07 am    Post subject: Camillan anti-elephant carts


I have been agitating to get our group to put on a historical
battle, with 4 players per side, since Jim Bisignani and Mark Cribs
put on a great tournament. Basing it on figure availability, I
think that Asuclum (279BC) would be fun, and let us try out the
special Roman rules for us newbies. All this assumes 25mm scale.

My problem is with the Roman anti-elephant carts. Are they
transport? If so, what kind? If so, what units mount them? Can
they be defended behind by a unit?

Or, are they sui generis? A special troop type which follow no
other rules?
If so, how do I mount them? On 60 x 80mm base? If so, I can fit a
cart on one base, and an ox-team on another. Can I count both
stands as a 2 element unit?
Do they fight to a front or a flank?
Can they charge?

And any other et ceteras anyone who understands them can come up
with would be apprecciated.

John the OFM

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:07 pm    Post subject: Re: Camillan anti-elephant carts


Scott is still out of town, please be patient.
J

-----Original Message-----
From: johntheofm <John_the_OFM@...>
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Sat, 08 Oct 2005 02:07:49 -0000
Subject: [WarriorRules] Camillan anti-elephant carts


I have been agitating to get our group to put on a historical
battle, with 4 players per side, since Jim Bisignani and Mark Cribs
put on a great tournament. Basing it on figure availability, I
think that Asuclum (279BC) would be fun, and let us try out the
special Roman rules for us newbies. All this assumes 25mm scale.

My problem is with the Roman anti-elephant carts. Are they
transport? If so, what kind? If so, what units mount them? Can
they be defended behind by a unit?

Or, are they sui generis? A special troop type which follow no
other rules?
If so, how do I mount them? On 60 x 80mm base? If so, I can fit a
cart on one base, and an ox-team on another. Can I count both
stands as a 2 element unit?
Do they fight to a front or a flank?
Can they charge?

And any other et ceteras anyone who understands them can come up
with would be apprecciated.

John the OFM







Yahoo! Groups Links






[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
scott holder
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 6066
Location: Bonnots Mill, MO

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 7:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Camillan Anti-Elephant Carts


My problem is with the Roman anti-elephant carts. Are they transport? If so,
what kind? If so, what units mount them? Can they be defended behind by a unit?

>They're wagons, mounted as wagons, thus are Transport (2.22). They are
considered Integral Transport (13.311).

Or, are they sui generis? A special troop type which follow no other rules?

>No.

If so, how do I mount them? On 60 x 80mm base? If so, I can fit a cart on one
base, and an ox-team on another.

>They should be mounted on 60x60 bases as per (2.512) but note that that section
has allowances for deeper bases. Also note that that section refers to 13.311
which also will cover how to treat these in terms of mounting which should
answer this question.

Can I count both stands as a 2 element unit?

>No. 13.311 covers this.

Do they fight to a front or a flank?

>Front. Unless I'm forgetting something and haven't been able to find it in the
rules (I've looked), only elephant and chariot crews can fight in a direction
other than to their front.

>Remember, that the crew in the wagons, when fighting HTH, count as on higher
ground (9.5).

Can they charge?

>No.

>Also remember that the List Rules provide exceptions to the referenced rule
areas and possibly others. Read thru 13.3, then the HTH section. Basically,
think of a single Anti-elephant cart as you would any other element of troop
types in the game, mainly artillery. Thus, if you want a 2E unit of
Anti-elephant carts, they'd be purchased and "organized" just like you'd do with
a heavy bolt shooter with 4 crew members. It's Integral Transport with the
exceptions as noted in the List Rules.


_________________
These Rules Suck, Let's Paint!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message   Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group