Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

converted charges

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mark Stone
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2102
Location: Buckley, WA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2004 8:40 pm    Post subject: converted charges


Jon,

A couple of rules questions have come up in recent games. My apologies for the
crude diagrams, but I don't have access to PowerPoint at the moment.

First set of questions:
This is in regards to the illustration "convert_ch.png" in the "rules questions"
folder of the group files section.

Red and Blue have light cav units that have just charged each other, and Blue
came out the loser. Next to Blue's light cav unit is a light infantry unit
which is in skirmish. Obviously Blue must break off with his light cav. Neither
light cavalry unit was impetuous. So, questions:

1. Must Red convert into the light infantry?

2. Can Red convert into the light infantry?

3. If the light infantry gets converted into, what exactly happens to it? It
doesn't get a charge response, and so presumably cannot evade. But it can't
really be in skirmish and in combat at the same time, right?

4. If Red cannot or chooses not to convert into the light infantry, how does his
light cav move? Does it stop 40p away from the light infantry? Or does it drop
elements to pass the gap and continue pursuing the light cavalry?


-Mark Stone

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message   MSN Messenger
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2004 9:35 pm    Post subject: Re: converted charges


This is in regards to the illustration "convert_ch.png" in the "rules questions"
folder of the group files section.>>

Mark, I cannot get this to open. It might be that I have nothing that opens a
.png - because I don't know what that is...

J


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Ewan McNay
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2778
Location: Albany, NY, US

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2004 9:37 pm    Post subject: Re: converted charges


Shouldn't be. It's just a standard graphics type, gained in
popularity after lawsuits around .gif files.

Opens fine for me in PPoint, or PhotoShop, or even Preview (Mac). On
the other hand, I know you also had trouble opening .ppt files from
Todd that opened fine for me - but could open mine. Odd.


JonCleaves@... wrote:

> This is in regards to the illustration "convert_ch.png" in the "rules
questions"
> folder of the group files section.>>
>
> Mark, I cannot get this to open. It might be that I have nothing that opens a
.png - because I don't know what that is...
>
> J
>
>
>
>
>
> Yahoo! Groups Links
>
>
>
>
>
>
>

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2004 10:34 pm    Post subject: Re: converted charges


Opens fine for me in PPoint, or PhotoShop, or even Preview (Mac). >>

I have all those plus a couple and it does not open. I will try again from home
tonight.

Or an actual .ppt or .jpg would work.

J


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 12:49 am    Post subject: Re: converted charges


<<Red and Blue have light cav units that have just charged each other, and Blue
came out the loser. Next to Blue's light cav unit is a light infantry unit
which is in skirmish. Obviously Blue must break off with his light cav. Neither
light cavalry unit was impetuous. So, questions:

1. Must Red convert into the light infantry?>>
[
It does seem from the diagram that it is unavoidable. A non-impetuous pursuer
may wheel, but from the way it looks no matter what legal pursuit move the Red
LC makes, it will contact the blue LI in a converted charge.


<<3. If the light infantry gets converted into, what exactly happens to it? It
doesn't get a charge response, and so presumably cannot evade. But it can't
really be in skirmish and in combat at the same time, right?>>
[
Sure it can. This is the only way it could happen, but it *is* possible.

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 2:11 am    Post subject: Re: converted charges


In a message dated 9/8/2004 20:13:30 Central Daylight Time,
mark@... writes:

So how does the fact that it's in skirmish affect the combat?>>
[
Hand to hand? it doesn't.



When does it come out of skirmish?>>
[
any combat results move would revert it to block.



If there's some situation in which it remains in skirmish, does that mean
bodies
shooting it in support shooting next bound count -4 (contact AND
skirmish??)?>>
[
I suppose that is theoretically possible.



The mind boggles... and none of this is addressed ANYWHERE in the rules that
I
can see.>>
[
I am not sure what you mean by that. I found everything you asked today
about it.

Jon


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Mark Stone
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2102
Location: Buckley, WA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:57 am    Post subject: Re: converted charges


On Sep 8 Jon Cleaves said:

>> 3. If the light infantry gets converted into, what exactly happens to it? It
>> doesn't get a charge response, and so presumably cannot evade. But it can't
>> really be in skirmish and in combat at the same time, right?
>
> Sure it can. This is the only way it could happen, but it *is* possible.
>

So how does the fact that it's in skirmish affect the combat?

When does it come out of skirmish?

If there's some situation in which it remains in skirmish, does that mean bodies
shooting it in support shooting next bound count -4 (contact AND skirmish??)?

The mind boggles... and none of this is addressed ANYWHERE in the rules that I
can see. Yeah, yeah, I know, you can't anticipate all contingencies. Still, I
can easily see this happening again (hey, I didn't know Lenney was going to
roll up 3 with his LC). So I'm curious what is supposed to happen.


-Mark Stone

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message   MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group