Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Counter Question

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 7:55 pm    Post subject: Counter Question


Please refer to uploaded file 'conuter question'

LC charges a Reg HC from the flank. HC loses combat, is prevented
from recoiling 40 paces by HI to its right. Situation as in fig A

During the next counter phase, is the HC prevented from turning to
face the LC since it is not steady and cannot turn and expand (there
being no room for it to just turn, again because of the HI).

Or, by the third bullet cited below, may it end up as in fig B?

"In addition to being a normal tactical move (6.11, 6.12), a counter
may be used to
• Move a unit straight to its rear any remaining move distance
if it is in or just entered skirmish formation (6.45).
• Reabsorb a detachment into a parent unit (6.46).
• Turn a body to face enemy in contact with its flank or rear
if it is not also in contact with enemy to its front."

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 6:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Counter Question


Please refer to uploaded file 'conuter question'>>
[
Great diagram, thanks.

<<LC charges a Reg HC from the flank. HC loses combat, is prevented
from recoiling 40 paces by HI to its right. Situation as in fig A

During the next counter phase, is the HC prevented from turning to
face the LC since it is not steady and cannot turn and expand (there
being no room for it to just turn, again because of the HI).

Or, by the third bullet cited below, may it end up as in fig B?

"In addition to being a normal tactical move (6.11, 6.12), a counter
may be used to
• Move a unit straight to its rear any remaining move distance
if it is in or just entered skirmish formation (6.45).
• Reabsorb a detachment into a parent unit (6.46).
• Turn a body to face enemy in contact with its flank or rear
if it is not also in contact with enemy to its front.">>
[
The answer is, no, you cannot do what is depicted in the diagram. When a 2E
unit turns 90 degrees, it becomes 1E wide. It does not appear from the diagram
that the HC could make a legal 90 degree turn and fit in the space available.

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group