  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		 Legionary
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 307
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 4:45 am    Post subject: Defining Flank Charges (long) | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Hello Jon,
 
      I'm hoping to have something cleared up. I'm not very good with diagrams so
 
I'll try to explain using words, if my question does not make sense, please let
 
me know. I've been playing for about a year now and I thought I understood
 
fairly well what constitutes a Flank charge from reading the rules. But a friend
 
who has been playing for 20 years or so has me thinking twice, and apparently
 
this has been a very contentious issue in the past. I would wait until the new
 
rulebook is published but I don't think he will play me again until we get
 
cleared up on this point  (kidding a bit here)
 
 
Situation 1
 
 
Unit "A" ( steady Superheavy knights) declares a charge on Unit "B" (Close order
 
foot). No part of  unit A is behind the flank of Unit B at the time of
 
declaration. By wheeling up to 45 degrees, and then using the rest of it's
 
movement, Unit A is able to contact a flanking side of Unit B with the rest of
 
it's movement using the nearest corner of Unit A's base. After pivoting, there
 
is room to fit and no other impediments to charging.
 
 
Is it a legal charge?
 
Is it a Flank Charge, given that no part of unit A was behind the Flank of B at
 
the time of declaration?
 
Does unit A pivot to face unit B's Flank or front assuming there is room to fit
 
in either case?
 
Is it Legal for a Light Cavalry unit, to charge a normally illegal target such
 
as steady Close order foot in this circumstance.
 
Does the charge cancel the need for prompting, as a Flank Charge normally would?
 
 
Situation 2
 
Again Unit "A" (Super Heavy knights) declares a charge on Unit "B". In this
 
case, a very small part of Unit A is behind the Flank of Unit B. However, even
 
if Unit B wheels, it is unable to contact the side of unit B with any of it's
 
elements corners. Instead, Unit A contacts the corner of Unit B with the front
 
face of one of its elements. Again there is room to fit and no other
 
circumstances which might prevent charging.
 
 
Again, is it a legal charge?
 
Is it a Flank charge?
 
Does unit A pivot to face unit B's Flank or front assuming there is room to fit
 
in either case?
 
Is it Legal for a Light Cavalry unit, to charge a normally illegal target such
 
as steady Close order foot in this circumstance.
 
Does the charge cancel the need for prompting, as a Flank Charge normally would?
 
 
 
I hope there is enough to go on here, bearing mind I am mainly interested in
 
finding out if these are regarded as Flank charges and what the implications
 
are.
 
 
Sorry for the trouble Jon, but thanks for taking the time to look at this.
 
 
Allan
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                  | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 8:45 am    Post subject: Re: Defining Flank Charges (long) | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
<< I've been playing for about a year now and I thought I understood fairly well
 
what constitutes a Flank charge from reading the rules. But a friend   who has
 
been playing for 20 years or so has me thinking twice,>>
 
 
No one has been playing Warrior for 20 years...  ;)
 
 
<< and apparently this has been a very contentious issue in the past. I would
 
wait until the new rulebook is published but I don't think he will play me again
 
until we get cleared up on this point  (kidding a bit here) >>
 
 
The revised text will completely demarcate flank charges that start behind the
 
flank and those that don't and all the differences between them.
 
 
<<Situation 1
 
 
Unit "A" ( steady Superheavy knights) declares a charge on Unit "B" (Close order
 
foot). No part of  unit A is behind the flank of Unit B at the time of
 
declaration. By wheeling up to 45 degrees, and then using the rest of it's
 
movement, Unit A is able to contact a flanking side of Unit B with the rest of
 
it's movement using the nearest corner of Unit A's base. After pivoting, there
 
is room to fit and no other impediments to charging.
 
 
Is it a legal charge?>>
 
 
It sounds it.  A had to not have ANY part of its front edge extending in front
 
of B - but it sounds like it did not.
 
 
<<Is it a Flank Charge, given that no part of unit A was behind the Flank of B
 
at the time of declaration? >>
 
 
Yes, that is possible.
 
 
<<Does unit A pivot to face unit B's Flank or front assuming there is room to
 
fit in either case?>>
 
 
If it *could* pivot to face front, it is not a flank charge - so flank.
 
 
<<Is it Legal for a Light Cavalry unit, to charge a normally illegal target such
 
as steady Close order foot in this circumstance.>>
 
 
No.  One of the differences - light troops (excl LCh) need to start behind the
 
flank.
 
 
<<Does the charge cancel the need for prompting, as a Flank Charge normally
 
would?>>
 
 
No.  Another difference.
 
 
<<Situation 2
 
Again Unit "A" (Super Heavy knights) declares a charge on Unit "B". In this
 
case, a very small part of Unit A is behind the Flank of Unit B. However, even
 
if Unit B wheels, it is unable to contact the side of unit B with any of it's
 
elements corners. Instead, Unit A contacts the corner of Unit B with the front
 
face of one of its elements. Again there is room to fit and no other
 
circumstances which might prevent charging.>>
 
 
Sorry - try this one again or use a diagram  I am no dummy, but I can't get what
 
you are saying here.  I think you might have switched a B for A in there
 
somewhere...lol
 
 
Jon
 
 
                                                                                                                      _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Legionary
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 307
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 2:42 am    Post subject: Re: Defining Flank Charges (long) | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Hi Jon,
 
Thanks for the info on the first question,  I'll try to elaborate a little
 
on the second. You're right, I did mix up what I was asking.
 
 
Here is the situation;
 
 
Unit "A" is a unit of super heavy knights declaring a charge on Unit "B",
 
which is close order foot. Unit A is partially angled towards Unit B in such
 
a way that part of Unit A is behind the line that extends Unit B's Flank. In
 
other words, Unit A is partly, but not completely, behind Unit B's Flank at
 
the time of declaration. After charging, Unit A is not able to make contact
 
with it's leading corner on any part of the side of unit B. Instead, when
 
the charge is complete, Unit A makes contact with the front edge of its own
 
element on Unit B's front corner. Unit A is unable to contact Unit B's side
 
edge.
 
 
 
Is it a Flank charge?
 
Does unit A pivot to face unit B's Flank or front assuming there is room to
 
fit in either case?
 
Is it Legal for a Light Cavalry unit, to charge a normally illegal target
 
such as steady Close order foot in this circumstance.
 
Does the charge cancel the need for prompting, as a Flank Charge normally
 
would?
 
 
Thank you again
 
Allan
 
 
                                                                                                                      | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 6:36 pm    Post subject: Re: Defining Flank Charges (long) | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Here is the situation;
 
 
Unit "A" is a unit of super heavy knights declaring a charge on Unit "B",
 
which is close order foot. Unit A is partially angled towards Unit B in such
 
a way that part of Unit A is behind the line that extends Unit B's Flank. In
 
other words, Unit A is partly, but not completely, behind Unit B's Flank at
 
the time of declaration. After charging, Unit A is not able to make contact
 
with it's leading corner on any part of the side of unit B. Instead, when
 
the charge is complete, Unit A makes contact with the front edge of its own
 
element on Unit B's front corner. Unit A is unable to contact Unit B's side
 
edge.>>
 
 
Ok, I am doing my best, but without a diagram, I cannot see how a body that
 
starts behind another's flank (one that is not countercharging, as this one
 
can't) ends up not on the flank at all.  I need your help to clarify this, as I
 
can't visualize what you are saying.  I am sorry.
 
 
<<Is it a Flank charge?>.
 
 
Any charge that starts behind the flank is a flank charge.  Whether it contacts
 
the flank or not is dependent on whether or not the target
 
charges/countercharges or stands.
 
 
<<Does unit A pivot to face unit B's Flank or front assuming there is room to
 
fit in either case?>>
 
 
Flnak, normally in this case.  But you;re telling me you started behind the
 
flank but could not then get to it.  I can't see this, so I amy be answering the
 
wrong way.
 
 
<<Is it Legal for a Light Cavalry unit, to charge a normally illegal target
 
such as steady Close order foot in this circumstance.>>
 
 
If it STARTS behind the flank, yes.
 
 
<<Does the charge cancel the need for prompting, as a Flank Charge normally
 
would?>>
 
 
If it STARTS behind the flank, yes.
 
 
Jon
 
 
                                                                                                                       _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Legionary
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 307
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 2:48 am    Post subject: Re: Defining Flank Charges (long) | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
That's ok Jon, I think based on the other answers you've given I'm satisfied
 
that I know the ins and outs of this. Thanks for your time.
 
 
Allan
 
 
----- Original Message -----
 
From: <JonCleaves@...>
 
To: <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com>
 
Sent: Friday, November 19, 2004 10:36 AM
 
Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] Defining Flank Charges (long)
 
 
 
>
 
> Here is the situation;
 
>
 
> Unit "A" is a unit of super heavy knights declaring a charge on Unit "B",
 
> which is close order foot. Unit A is partially angled towards Unit B in
 
such
 
> a way that part of Unit A is behind the line that extends Unit B's Flank.
 
In
 
> other words, Unit A is partly, but not completely, behind Unit B's Flank
 
at
 
> the time of declaration. After charging, Unit A is not able to make
 
contact
 
> with it's leading corner on any part of the side of unit B. Instead, when
 
> the charge is complete, Unit A makes contact with the front edge of its
 
own
 
> element on Unit B's front corner. Unit A is unable to contact Unit B's
 
side
 
> edge.>>
 
>
 
> Ok, I am doing my best, but without a diagram, I cannot see how a body
 
that starts behind another's flank (one that is not countercharging, as this
 
one can't) ends up not on the flank at all.  I need your help to clarify
 
this, as I can't visualize what you are saying.  I am sorry.
 
>
 
> <<Is it a Flank charge?>.
 
>
 
> Any charge that starts behind the flank is a flank charge.  Whether it
 
contacts the flank or not is dependent on whether or not the target
 
charges/countercharges or stands.
 
>
 
> <<Does unit A pivot to face unit B's Flank or front assuming there is room
 
to
 
> fit in either case?>>
 
>
 
> Flnak, normally in this case.  But you;re telling me you started behind
 
the flank but could not then get to it.  I can't see this, so I amy be
 
answering the wrong way.
 
>
 
> <<Is it Legal for a Light Cavalry unit, to charge a normally illegal
 
target
 
> such as steady Close order foot in this circumstance.>>
 
>
 
> If it STARTS behind the flank, yes.
 
>
 
> <<Does the charge cancel the need for prompting, as a Flank Charge
 
normally
 
> would?>>
 
>
 
> If it STARTS behind the flank, yes.
 
>
 
> Jon
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> Yahoo! Groups Links
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
 
                                                                                                                      | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |