Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Higher ground

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2003 3:32 pm    Post subject: Re: Higher ground


In a message dated 1/12/2003 10:55:31 Central Standard Time,
jjendon@... writes:

> 1. That at contact, the halted unit is at
> that moment on higher ground than the charger. or 2. The charger had to
> go
> uphill at any time to get to contact the target even though the end in
> contact on the same level.
>

#1.


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Don Coon
Imperator
Imperator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2742

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2003 8:00 pm    Post subject: Higher ground


A question came up in yesterdays game. Just what exactly does "halted on
higher ground" mean. The two opposing viewpoints each felt their case was
clear. We had a bit of discussion on it and thought we would see what the
equine quad thought.

Does halted on higher ground mean 1. That at contact, the halted unit is at
that moment on higher ground than the charger. or 2. The charger had to go
uphill at any time to get to contact the target even though the end in
contact on the same level.

To illustrate the two points imagine a couple of examples.

The setup: A 1X2 unit of Reg close order HI foot with HTW stands on a flat
topped gently slopped hill 30p back from the ridgeline. A 1X2 of Irr HC
with L is 10p down the hill from the ridgeline (40p sepataration between the
two bodies). The HC charges the HI, going 10p up the hill, but ending in
contact on the flat portion of the hill. Does the HC pay the -2 for
opponent halted on higher ground?

Another example: two flat topped gently slopped hills are 40p apart. There
is flat level ground between them. The HI above stands 40 back from the
ridgeline of one of the hills and the HC is 160p away on the flat portion of
the other hill. The HC charges. The HC goes down the first hill, across
the level ground, up the second hill and contacts the HI on the flat portion
of that hill. Does the HC pay the -2 for opponent halted on higher ground.

In each example, the two sides of the discussion were 1. The HC had to go
uphill to get to the HI, therefore he pays the -2. 2. The HC ends in
contact with the HI on the same level as the HI, and therefore the opponent
is not on higher ground, and no -2.

How are you guys playing this?

I must add a quaestion of my own. Its comes up now and then when playing
with hills (rises, gnolls etc) that a body is part on the hill and part off
the hill. In 25mm it is pretty easy to get a 1X2 body half on and half off
of a hill. Does a charger pay the -2 if some of the target is higher? What
about the case where a 2X2 body of HI is 1E on the hill and 1E off the hill,
and he is charged by a 2X2 unit of HC. One element of the HC contacts the
element up on the hill, the other contacts the element on level ground. Is
there a -2? Do combat modifiers apply on an element by element basis?

Do you guys play that all hills are getting progressively higher towards the
center, or do you play with them as platues?

Just musing from the game, and hill questions we have had from a few games
over the past few months.

Don

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Patrick Byrne
Centurion
Centurion


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1433

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2003 4:59 pm    Post subject: Re: Higher ground


> From: JonCleaves@...
> Reply-To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
> Date: Sun, 12 Jan 2003 12:32:33 EST
> To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
> Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] Higher ground
>
> In a message dated 1/12/2003 10:55:31 Central Standard Time,
> jjendon@... writes:
>
>> 1. That at contact, the halted unit is at
>> that moment on higher ground than the charger. or 2. The charger had to
>> go
>> uphill at any time to get to contact the target even though the end in
>> contact on the same level.
>>
>
> #1.
>

Jon,
1. What about a unit that is 1/2 on the hill and 1/2 off the hill? If a
charging unit starts fully off the hill, part of the unit is going up the
hill to contact a halted unit but the other half is not, is halted unit to
get the advantage?


2. Does 'advancing down a gentle slope' also abide by this ruling? i.e. if
cav charged down a slope the first 40p of the charge but the other 120p of
the charge was on same level as the enemy.

-PB

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2003 5:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Higher ground


Jon,
1. What about a unit that is 1/2 on the hill and 1/2 off the hill? If a
charging unit starts fully off the hill, part of the unit is going up the
hill to contact a halted unit but the other half is not, is halted unit to
get the advantage?>>

I am working on a section of the umpire's guide that gives specific guidance
about such things as 'in' terrain and 'on' a hill, etc.
For now, if the charged body is halted and any part of it is on a higher
elevation than the charger, the halted body gets the bonus.


<<2. Does 'advancing down a gentle slope' also abide by this ruling?>>

Yes.

<< i.e. if
cav charged down a slope the first 40p of the charge but the other 120p of
the charge was on same level as the enemy.>>

There would be no bonus in that situation.


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group