View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 79
|
Posted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 2:22 am Post subject: Mantlets. |
 |
|
After reading the various sections of the rules, I am still a little
unsure about the rules for mantlets. Two things in particular seem
unclear.
1. Like Pavise, do B armed shooters behind a mantlet count shieldless?
2. The Mantlet is described as providing cover for 2 shooters. How does
this work on the table. Can you for example buy them for every 2nd element
in the front rank of a unit and have the entire unit in cover?
Paul
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 11:41 pm Post subject: Re: Mantlets. |
 |
|
<<1. Like Pavise, do B armed shooters behind a mantlet count shieldless?>>
No. See 7.4.
<<2. The Mantlet is described as providing cover for 2 shooters. How does
this work on the table. Can you for example buy them for every 2nd element
in the front rank of a unit and have the entire unit in cover?>>
That is a typo. You must buy and employ mantlets on a full element basis.
This will be corrected in the revised rulebook.
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Doug Centurion

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1412
|
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 9:18 am Post subject: Re: Mantlets. |
 |
|
Do you mean that the cost of a mantlet covers one element no matter
how many figures are on it?
> 1. Like Pavise, do B armed shooters behind a mantlet count shieldless?
> >>
>No. See 7.4.
>2. The Mantlet is described as providing cover for 2 shooters. How does
>this work on the table. Can you for example buy them for every 2nd element
>in the front rank of a unit and have the entire unit in cover?
> >>
>That is a typo. You must buy and employ mantlets on a full element basis.
> This will be corrected in the revised rulebook.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 10:16 am Post subject: Re: Mantlets. |
 |
|
In a message dated 9/22/2005 01:27:17 Central Standard Time,
rockd@... writes:
Do you mean that the cost of a mantlet covers one element no matter
how many figures are on it?
No, I mean it costs 4 points to cover one close order element.
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Doug Centurion

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1412
|
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 9:45 pm Post subject: Re: Mantlets. |
 |
|
>Do you mean that the cost of a mantlet covers one element no matter
>how many figures are on it?
>
>No, I mean it costs 4 points to cover one close order element.
What about artillery elements etc?
Do you intend Mantlets to be integral to an element base, or
something that can be set up allowing anyone to move behind it to
gain protection?
Getting confused as to why you specified "close order."
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 10:38 pm Post subject: Re: Mantlets. |
 |
|
Artillery is close order.
I intend mantlets to work according to 7.3, which, among other things, specifies
that without a list rule, loose and open order foot cannot employ them.
Now, I am not trying to be persnickety, but here's a question for you. Did you
read 7.3 before you asked this question? :)
Jon
-----Original Message-----
From: Doug <rockd@...>
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Thu, 22 Sep 2005 14:45:57 -0400
Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] Mantlets.
>Do you mean that the cost of a mantlet covers one element no matter
>how many figures are on it?
>
>No, I mean it costs 4 points to cover one close order element.
What about artillery elements etc?
Do you intend Mantlets to be integral to an element base, or
something that can be set up allowing anyone to move behind it to
gain protection?
Getting confused as to why you specified "close order."
Yahoo! Groups Links
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 2:12 am Post subject: Re: Mantlets. |
 |
|
In a message dated 9/22/2005 22:01:05 Central Standard Time,
rockd@... writes:
Heck no. The book isn't even in the same room, and I have a cat
sleeping on my lap.
I suspected as much.
Doug, I am here to help people when they read the rules and they can't find
what they are looking for or it does not make sense to them.
I am not here to keep you from moving your cat to read your rulebook.
Please check the book before expecting an answer to a rules question from me.
Jon
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Doug Centurion

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1412
|
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:01 am Post subject: Re: Mantlets. |
 |
|
Heck no. The book isn't even in the same room, and I have a cat
sleeping on my lap.
Does it answer the question of how much a mantlet for a loose or open
order element costs? What does FanWarrior say about it?
>Artillery is close order.
>I intend mantlets to work according to 7.3, which, among other
>things, specifies that without a list rule, loose and open order
>foot cannot employ them.
>
>Now, I am not trying to be persnickety, but here's a question for
>you. Did you read 7.3 before you asked this question?
>
>Jon
>
>-----Original Message-----
>From: Doug <rockd@...>
>To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
>Sent: Thu, 22 Sep 2005 14:45:57 -0400
>Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] Mantlets.
>
>
>>Do you mean that the cost of a mantlet covers one element no matter
>>how many figures are on it?
>>
>>No, I mean it costs 4 points to cover one close order element.
>
>What about artillery elements etc?
>
>Do you intend Mantlets to be integral to an element base, or
>something that can be set up allowing anyone to move behind it to
>gain protection?
>
>Getting confused as to why you specified "close order."
>
>
>
>
>Yahoo! Groups Links
>
>
>
>
>
>
>[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
>
>
>
>
>
>Yahoo! Groups Links
>
>
>
>
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|