Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Mixing Orders (was rules question) (100YW English)

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 9:01 am    Post subject: Re: Mixing Orders (was rules question) (100YW English)


"Brigans do it all the time."

Do they now?
Most curious.

My 100YWE have Gascon Brigans.

Because their listing says "MI/LMI" (on the same line), they can be
formed into units of mixed order?

And the same applies to the English Longbow?

Even to the extent of mixing HI with LMI?

Curious indeed.

Terence




--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
>
>
> In a message dated 11/11/2005 09:42:06 Central Standard Time,
> greg.regets@g... writes:
>
> And I suppose that if you are a unit with two close order infantry
> elements up front and two loose order infantry behind, and you
recoil
> the enemy, you can expand out with the loose order elements ...
> correct?
>
>
>
> Yep.
>
> Brigans do it all the time. Funny, but I would think that down
there in the
> center of the medieval Warrior universe that this would be
commonplace....lol
>
> Jon
>
>
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
>

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 1:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: Mixing Orders (was rules question) (100YW English)


In a message dated 11/20/2005 00:01:38 Central Standard Time,
quirkmonster@... writes:

Because their listing says "MI/LMI" (on the same line), they can be
formed into units of mixed order?>>
Yes



And the same applies to the English Longbow?

Even to the extent of mixing HI with LMI?>>
Yes, although less reason to do so in that case.

Jon


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Frank Gilson
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1567
Location: Orange County California

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:53 pm    Post subject: Re: Mixing Orders (was rules question) (100YW English)


The reason Dave Stier and I have had a Brigan unit of 3 elements HI,
3 elements MI, and 1 element LMI is so that it counts as 26 figures.

Chiefly that isn't to reduce shooting CPF it receives, as the HI
have Pavise, but it is nice...

The main issue is so that a single unit of mounted lancers do not
normally do a CPF to the Brigan unit, and so an opponent must commit
two such to force a favorable result.

It also shifts the break point for the unit in infantry combat to
reduce the CPF the Brigans receive, and the likelihood they will
suffer 3 CPF and thus disorder.

So, for 6 points, that single rear element of LMI provides great
value.

Players should also consider lone rear elements for LI or LC units.
Of course, this doesn't work with regular units that need to
maintain even ranks.

Frank

--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "quirkmonster"
<quirkmonster@y...> wrote:
>
> "Brigans do it all the time."
>
> Do they now?
> Most curious.
>
> My 100YWE have Gascon Brigans.
>
> Because their listing says "MI/LMI" (on the same line), they can
be
> formed into units of mixed order?
>
> And the same applies to the English Longbow?
>
> Even to the extent of mixing HI with LMI?
>
> Curious indeed.
>
> Terence
>
>
>
>
> --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
> >
> >
> > In a message dated 11/11/2005 09:42:06 Central Standard Time,
> > greg.regets@g... writes:
> >
> > And I suppose that if you are a unit with two close order
infantry
> > elements up front and two loose order infantry behind, and you
> recoil
> > the enemy, you can expand out with the loose order
elements ...
> > correct?
> >
> >
> >
> > Yep.
> >
> > Brigans do it all the time. Funny, but I would think that down
> there in the
> > center of the medieval Warrior universe that this would be
> commonplace....lol
> >
> > Jon
> >
> >
> > [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
> >
>

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group