Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Prompts received 1 bound too late

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2001 1:28 pm    Post subject: Re: Prompts received 1 bound too late


Quirkster

That's where I've decided to go with this. The group overwhelmingly
responded (often offline - what is up with that?) that a prompt/order should
carry over (#1) and that is the way we were leaning.

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2001 2:39 pm    Post subject: Prompts received 1 bound too late


Prompts should be acted upon, just like orders to generals that
arrive 1 bound (or more) later.


Jeez, guys, record keeping is an inherent part of WRG. If the
general has to suffer a late-arriving ORDER (and keep in mind he
doesn't add his own comm time to the CinC's comm time when passing on
Orders received from his CinC...), then surely a late-arriving prompt
should be subject to the same constraints: i.e. it must be obeyed, no
matter how the situation has changed...


I can only add the following nonsense:

I note that Charges and Retirements require Prompts. I assume (as per
CinC sending Orders) that a prompt taking too much time to arrive in
the bound it is sent, arrives in plenty of time to be obeyed NEXT
bound. So:

If Orders or Battlefield Situation make the prompt ILLEGAL, only then
is the prompt discarded. (that is, the body reverts to actions
determined by its Orders, as per any unprompted unit.)

Otherwise, the prompted body must make all legal moves to fulfill the
prompt. (In the case of "Prompted to Charge", the unit must make
legal moves in order to fulfill the charge prompt. This may FORCE it
to Approach in order to get into charge distance. What do you think
of this, Jon?)


"Not tho' they wondered
Someone had blundered:
Into the Valley of Death
Strode the six hundred

Cannon to left of them
Cannon to right of them,
Cannon before them
Into the valley of death
Strode the six hundred."

(or something like that)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group