Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Quick questions:

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 6:58 pm    Post subject: Quick questions:


1. When a Sub-general receives a new command from the C in C and has bodies
in “contact” (in HTH or can be charged, etc.) with the enemy, is he forced
to expend his minutes changing the orders of his units to the new command
first then any left over time can be used for prompting charges etc., or is
there any flexibility with how he uses his minutes to suit the situation?
Or (which is a possibility here) am I totally off mark with how commands are
communicated to bodies?

2. If a body of infantry 2 elements wide and two elements deep armed with
JLS, bow and shield is charged, and chooses (or is forced) to receive the
charge at a halt, are all figures in the body allowed to fire their bow at
the charging unit and does the –2 modifier apply for “being in contact” in
this situation?

Scott A McCoppin, AIA
mccoppinarchitecture, pa
704.560.4154
architecture@...




[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 7:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Quick questions:


In a message dated 10/24/2003 11:58:54 AM Eastern Daylight Time,
sctrac@... writes:

> 1. When a Sub-general receives a new command from the C in C and has bodies
> in “contact” (in HTH or can be charged, etc.) with the enemy, is he forced
> to expend his minutes changing the orders of his units to the new command
> first then any left over time can be used for prompting charges etc., or is
> there any flexibility with how he uses his minutes to suit the situation?
> Or (which is a possibility here) am I totally off mark with how commands are
> communicated to bodies?

He'll use all minutes necessary to get the order to his command, even if more
than 15. If he has any left after that, he may use the remainder to prompt
during the bound.
>
> 2. If a body of infantry 2 elements wide and two elements deep armed with
> JLS, bow and shield is charged, and chooses (or is forced) to receive the
> charge at a halt, are all figures in the body allowed to fire their bow at
> the charging unit and does the –2 modifier apply for “being
> in contact” in
> this situation?

All bow may shoot support in that situation and the contact modifier would
apply.

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 5:56 pm    Post subject: RE: Quick questions:


Thank you for your quick response.

Would this process be the same if there were a “predetermined signal”
changing that command’s order?

Scott A McCoppin, AIA
mccoppinarchitecture, pa
704.560.4154
architecture@...

-----Original Message-----
From: JonCleaves@... [mailto:JonCleaves@...]
Sent: Friday, October 24, 2003 12:06 PM
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] Quick questions:

In a message dated 10/24/2003 11:58:54 AM Eastern Daylight Time,
sctrac@... writes:

> 1. When a Sub-general receives a new command from the C in C and has
bodies
> in “contact” (in HTH or can be charged, etc.) with the enemy, is he forced
> to expend his minutes changing the orders of his units to the new command
> first then any left over time can be used for prompting charges etc., or
is
> there any flexibility with how he uses his minutes to suit the situation?
> Or (which is a possibility here) am I totally off mark with how commands
are
> communicated to bodies?

He'll use all minutes necessary to get the order to his command, even if
more than 15. If he has any left after that, he may use the remainder to
prompt during the bound.
>
> 2. If a body of infantry 2 elements wide and two elements deep armed with
> JLS, bow and shield is charged, and chooses (or is forced) to receive the
> charge at a halt, are all figures in the body allowed to fire their bow at
> the charging unit and does the –2 modifier apply for “being
> in contact” in
> this situation?

All bow may shoot support in that situation and the contact modifier would
apply.

Jon



Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
ADVERTISEMENT
click here
<http://rd.yahoo.com/M=194081.4074964.5287182.1261774/D=egroupweb/S=17050590
80:HM/A=1706996/R=0/SIG=11p5b9ris/*http://www.ediets.com/start.cfm?code=3050
9&media=atkins>


To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com



Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service
<http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/> .


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 6:01 pm    Post subject: Re: Quick questions:


In a message dated 10/28/2003 9:56:39 AM Eastern Standard Time,
sctrac@... writes:

> Would this process be the same if there were a
> “predetermined signal”
> changing that command’s order?>>

That is *only* for WAIT orders. The command in question has its order changed
to attack the bound AFTER its general sees/hears the signal without need for him
to 'resend' to his troops.
No other order combination uses a 'signal'.


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 7:08 pm    Post subject: RE: Quick questions:


Once again, thanks.

In a previous e-mail I was asking about the HI with JLS, B, Sh – on whether
or not all figures in a two rank formation get to shoot if they receive a
charge at a halt. In that circumstance, would they count as Shieldless in
the ensuing H to H combat?

One day I will stop asking remedial questions, but until then, please bear
with me.

Scott A McCoppin, AIA
mccoppinarchitecture, pa
704.560.4154
architecture@...

-----Original Message-----
From: JonCleaves@... [mailto:JonCleaves@...]
Sent: Tuesday, October 28, 2003 10:01 AM
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] Quick questions:

In a message dated 10/28/2003 9:56:39 AM Eastern Standard Time,
sctrac@... writes:

> Would this process be the same if there were a
> “predetermined signal”
> changing that command’s order?>>

That is *only* for WAIT orders. The command in question has its order
changed to attack the bound AFTER its general sees/hears the signal without
need for him to 'resend' to his troops.
No other order combination uses a 'signal'.



Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
ADVERTISEMENT
click here
<http://rd.yahoo.com/M=194081.4074964.5287182.1261774/D=egroupweb/S=17050590
80:HM/A=1706996/R=0/SIG=11p5b9ris/*http://www.ediets.com/start.cfm?code=3050
9&media=atkins>


To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com



Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service
<http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/> .


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 7:14 pm    Post subject: Re: Quick questions:


In a message dated 10/28/2003 11:08:33 AM Eastern Standard Time,
sctrac@... writes:

> In a previous e-mail I was asking about the HI with JLS, B, Sh – on whether
> or not all figures in a two rank formation get to shoot if they receive a
> charge at a halt. In that circumstance, would they count as Shieldless in
> the ensuing H to H combat?>>

No.

>
> One day I will stop asking remedial questions, but until
> then, please bear
> with me.>>

Ask as much as you like.


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group