 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Mark Stone Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2102 Location: Buckley, WA
|
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 2:40 am Post subject: roman rules question |
 |
|
Jon,
For the following questions please refer to the diagram "romans-vs-ch.gif"
uploaded to the Files section. Sorry it isn't in Powerpoint, but I'm away from
my office computer at the moment. Any web browser should be able to view a
"gif" file, however.
Here's the setup:
Blue 1 is a 2 stand unit of Roman Legionaries, 1 stand wide and 2 ranks deep.
Blue 2 is a 4 stand unit of Roman Legionaries, 2 stands wide and 2 ranks deep.
Red A is a 2 model unit of Late Hebrew heavy chariots, one model wide and 2
ranks deep.
Red B is the same as Red A.
On bound 1, A charges 2 and recoils 2. A does not expand.
On bound 2, 1 declares a charge on A, intending to replace 2 in combat per the
list rules for Romans. B declares a charge on the projecting overlap of 2.
The questions:
What is the position of units involved at the conclusion of charge moves in
bound 2? Specifically, I'm stuck on the point that 2 should be pushed back as 1
is replacing it, and 2 should remain in place as B is charging it. Does this
cancel 1's charge? Does this cancel B's charge? Do both charges happen, and if
so what does the final position look like?
Other question - to simplify, just drop B out of the picture here, and assume A
recoiled 2 last bound and 1 is now charging through to replace. I know that A
does not count as charging, and that A does not count as following up. But
clearly A has forward momentum, so do the chariot horses get to fight or does
only the crew get to fight?
-Mark Stone
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 12:57 am Post subject: Re: roman rules question |
 |
|
Here's the setup:
Blue 1 is a 2 stand unit of Roman Legionaries, 1 stand wide and 2 ranks deep.
Blue 2 is a 4 stand unit of Roman Legionaries, 2 stands wide and 2 ranks deep.
Red A is a 2 model unit of Late Hebrew heavy chariots, one model wide and 2
ranks deep.
Red B is the same as Red A.>>
Ok, all good. And I can read the diagram, but you have two 2E wide red units
the same relative width as 1 2E wide blue - so it is somewhat misleading, but I
assume not pertinent to the question...
<<On bound 1, A charges 2 and recoils 2. A does not expand.
On bound 2, 1 declares a charge on A, intending to replace 2 in combat per the
list rules for Romans. B declares a charge on the projecting overlap of 2.
The questions:
What is the position of units involved at the conclusion of charge moves in
bound 2? Specifically, I'm stuck on the point that 2 should be pushed back as 1
is replacing it, and 2 should remain in place as B is charging it.>>
Not pushed back, just those elements are replaced (as with any replacement,
roman or otherwise) until the combat is concluded.
<< Does this
cancel 1's charge?>>
No. 1 and b are not charging each other and since these are romans of the
replacement type, they aren't cancelled by mounted in any case.
<< Does this cancel B's charge? Do both charges happen, and if
so what does the final position look like?>>
I see no reason why both charges should not happen. 1 will be where 2E of 2
'should be', but only until the whole thing is resolved.
<<Other question - to simplify, just drop B out of the picture here, and assume
A
recoiled 2 last bound and 1 is now charging through to replace. I know that A
does not count as charging, and that A does not count as following up. But
clearly A has forward momentum, so do the chariot horses get to fight or does
only the crew get to fight?>>
the horse get to fight, they just don't get the +1.
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mark Stone Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2102 Location: Buckley, WA
|
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 1:55 am Post subject: Re: roman rules question |
 |
|
Quoting "WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com" <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com>:
> << Does this
> cancel 1's charge?>>
>
> No. 1 and b are not charging each other and since these are romans of the
> replacement type, they aren't cancelled by mounted in any case.
>
> << Does this cancel B's charge? Do both charges happen, and if
> so what does the final position look like?>>
>
> I see no reason why both charges should not happen. 1 will be where 2E of 2
> 'should be', but only until the whole thing is resolved.
>
Cool. I understand how all this works so far. It looks at little funky "in
transition", but it makes sense. Now the hard question:
Similar situation:
A 2 stand wide, 2 rank deep unit of Romans is backed up by another unit of
Romans, also 2 stands wide, 2 ranks deep. The front unit is charged by a 1
stand wide unit of mounted on Bound 1, and recoiled. The enemy cavalry does not
choose to expand.
On Bound 2, a second unit of enemy cav, 1 stand wide, charges the exposed
element of the front Roman unit. At the same time, the back Roman unit declares
a charge on the cav unit in contact with the front Roman unit.
What happens? Who ends up in combat against whom?
-Mark Stone
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:23 pm Post subject: Re: Re: roman rules question |
 |
|
A 2 stand wide, 2 rank deep unit of Romans is backed up by another unit of
Romans, also 2 stands wide, 2 ranks deep. The front unit is charged by a 1
stand wide unit of mounted on Bound 1, and recoiled. The enemy cavalry does not
choose to expand.
On Bound 2, a second unit of enemy cav, 1 stand wide, charges the exposed
element of the front Roman unit. At the same time, the back Roman unit declares
a charge on the cav unit in contact with the front Roman unit.
What happens? Who ends up in combat against whom?>>
[
The replacing Roman unit is now in contact with both enemy mounted units.
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|