  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 7:23 am    Post subject: RULES impetuous pursuits | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Okay, I had thought that impetuous chargers whose HtH opponents
 
break and rout had to pursue the routing opponent to exclusion of
 
all else if at all possible, i.e. dropping back elements to pass a
 
gap etcetera.
 
 
But when this came up in a game yesterday I could not find it in the
 
rules for the life of me, and in fact the rules say the pursuers
 
can, even if impetuous, convert into an uncovered new target, which
 
was taken to mean the following.
 
 
PPPP
 
PPPP
 
..RR
 
..RR
 
EE..
 
EE..
 
 
P had charged impetuously. R routs against P. R passes unit E. E is
 
now "uncovered" by the passage of R, even though no
 
interpenentration or break-through occured. So P may now convert
 
into E rather than continue to pursue R which it could reach by
 
dropping elements back.
 
 
Not how I understood it, but I can certainly see how the rules could
 
be read this way.
 
 
(a) What is correct here and (b) is this something in need of
 
further clarification in the new rulebook?
 
 
(did not make a real game difference but a need-to-know for future)
 
 
                                                                                                  | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 4:32 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES impetuous pursuits | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Okay, I had thought that impetuous chargers whose HtH opponents
 
break and rout had to pursue the routing opponent to exclusion of
 
all else if at all possible, i.e. dropping back elements to pass a
 
gap etcetera.>>
 
[
 
The rule here is 6.33..
 
 
"6.33 Pursuit Moves. Pursuit moves are similar to charges at evading troops:
 
pursuing bodies move their tactical move distance directly
 
after their target and it is a variable move (6.112). After the variable
 
distance is determined, pursuers move the full distance they are
 
capable of, or the same distance as the pursued, whichever is least. Pursuers
 
maintain contact with the pursued if possible, causing handto-
 
hand combat casualties without reply while still in contact. "
 
 
That means that if you *can* maintain contact with the pursued body, then you
 
must.  John, in your diagram, it seems that the pursuer had the movement to
 
reach the router, so so far by 6.33, he should have.
 
 
later in 6.33...
 
"If the pursued body interpenetrates or diverts around other troops of its own
 
side, impetuous pursuers must convert their pursuit
 
to a charge into the new (uncovered) enemy if it is a legal charge target.""
 
 
From the diagram, it did not appear to me that the router had to dovert or
 
interpenetrate, so the other body was not 'uncovered'.  So, if I understand the
 
diagram correctly, the pursuer should have dropped back and stayed in conatc
 
with the router.
 
 
Jon
 
 
                                                                                                                 _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 5:32 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES impetuous pursuits | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Got it. That is what I thought but for some reason the rules did not
 
seem to read that way when I pointed them out to my opponent.
 
 
Perhaps the issue is with "uncovered". Even if the routers did not
 
interpenetrate or deviate, it was thought that the fact their
 
presence no longer was in the way of converting into the new target
 
meant they were "uncovered".
 
 
Looking at it this morning the language seems clear enough though
 
as "uncovered" definitely is written to apply only to being
 
uncovered by a deviation or interpenetration, just had a mental
 
moment trying to explain it Saturday. Oh well.
 
 
thx,
 
jm
 
 
                                                                                                       | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |