View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2002 8:07 pm Post subject: Re: Rules query |
 |
|
In a message dated 6/20/2002 15:51:45 Central Daylight Time,
vercengetorix@... writes:
>
> isn't the charging body still bound by the target
> priorities under these conditions?
>
I do not understand the question. The only target priorities in Warrior are
for shooting. There are no 'target priorities' for charging.
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 77
|
Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2002 11:12 pm Post subject: Rules query |
 |
|
Jon,
This may be something that is covered in the rules, but neither I
or my opponent (also a member of this group) can find the answer. In a
FW game we played yesterday (Very quick and very enjoyable by the way),
I was playing Indians (List 231) against Later Achaeminids (I won
-Hee-Hee) when a unit of HC got shot up and had the choice - charge or
waver- they chose to charge, but the query is - Do they have to charge
the shooters or, as they did, charge another enemy to front, the
shooters were to the left of the charged unit and angled to fire
diagonally across the front of the unit. Diagram attached (I hope -
sorry for the crudeness).
Thanks Les.
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2002 11:21 pm Post subject: Re: Rules query |
 |
|
When a body is allowed the 'charge unprompted' choice after taking 2CPF from
prep, and takes it, they must charge, but there is no requirement to charge the
body or bodies that did the shooting.
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 77
|
Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2002 11:23 pm Post subject: Re: Rules query |
 |
|
That was quick, I'll delete the file forthwith.
Thanks
Les.
JonCleaves@... wrote:
> When a body is allowed the 'charge unprompted' choice after taking
> 2CPF from prep, and takes it, they must charge, but there is no
> requirement to charge the body or bodies that did the shooting.
>
> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
> WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
>
>
>
> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Centurion

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 933
|
Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2002 11:50 pm Post subject: Re: Rules query |
 |
|
isn't the charging body still bound by the target
priorities under these conditions?
--- JonCleaves@... wrote:
> When a body is allowed the 'charge unprompted'
> choice after taking 2CPF from prep, and takes it,
> they must charge, but there is no requirement to
> charge the body or bodies that did the shooting.
>
=====
Wake up and smell the Assyrians
__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! - Official partner of 2002 FIFA World Cup
http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 112
|
Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 5:05 pm Post subject: rules query |
 |
|
I have what I am sure is a silly question but I want to make sure.
Say I turn a ten element unit of LC 90 degrees. It was 2 deep so now
becomes a column with frontage of 1. Now it is ten units long.
In what direction does that expansion occur, forwards or backwards? Is
it at the player's discretion? If not, what if there is no room in
the required direction? Can the column wait to string out to its full
ten until it begins to move?
Further, next turn say i want to turn 90 again back to my original
facing.
My column is ten elements long so is much more than four deep so my
frontage after turning 90 should contract down to three elements. Is
the location of all that contraction at the players discretion? from
the head of the column? the tail?
hope this is not too stupid a question,
Jonathan
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 7:04 pm Post subject: Re: rules query |
 |
|
<<Say I turn a ten element unit of LC 90 degrees. It was 2 deep so now
becomes a column with frontage of 1. Now it is ten units long.>>
10 elements long.
<<In what direction does that expansion occur, forwards or backwards? Is
it at the player's discretion? >>
Please look at the example on the bottom of page 34. If you turn 90 degrees,
the pivot cornoer of the front element stays in place, it turns 90 and the rest
falls in behind it.
<< If not, what if there is no room in
the required direction? Can the column wait to string out to its full
ten until it begins to move?>>
There needs to be room after the whole move is complete. If not, it cannot be
performed.
<<Further, next turn say i want to turn 90 again back to my original
facing.
My column is ten elements long so is much more than four deep so my
frontage after turning 90 should contract down to three elements. Is
the location of all that contraction at the players discretion? from
the head of the column? the tail?>>
The front element on the side in which direction you are turning leaves its
pivot corner in place and turns 90. The 'expansion' can be in either or both
directions.
J
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|