  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 4:02 am    Post subject: Re: Rules question - loose/open foot charged by mounted | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 1/11/2006 23:56:01 Central Standard Time,
 
shahadet_99@... writes:
 
 
Question:  Since "declared non-cancelled charge" is NOT a  response,
 
does a loose/open order foot unit that has declared a charge on
 
mounted enemies (the LI/open would be on LC, since other steady
 
mounted are illegal charge targets, and impetuously, since  non-
 
impetuous foot get cancelled by mounted) have to take the waver  test?
 
 
This came up because it was felt that foot that are  charging
 
themselves are not "responding" (where "response" are 3  specifically
 
defined actions of evade/hold/countercharge) to a charge, but  are
 
instead initiating action (an impetuous  charge).>>
 
 
Foot making an impetuous charge that is not canceled do not take that waver
 
test.  they are indeed charging and not responding.
 
 
J
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                                            _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 4:03 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules question - loose/open foot charged by mounted | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 1/12/2006 00:02:21 Central Standard Time,
 
sitalkes@... writes:
 
 
A  non-impetuous charge by foot on mounted would be cancelled if it
 
becomes  the target of a charge. In that circumstance loose/open
 
order foot would  have to take a waver test.
 
 
An impetuous charge by foot goes in even if  it is charged by the
 
mounted.
 
 
Chris >>
 
Chris, I know you mean well.  But I would request that only I answer  rules
 
questions on this group.  Thanks!
 
And yes, you were right...
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                                                _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 93
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 8:50 am    Post subject: Rules question - loose/open foot charged by mounted | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Hi all.
 
 
Had a question come up during a Warrior game:
 
 
Loose order troops are in the open.
 
 
They get charged.
 
 
Normal charge responses are evade (when possible), hold&shoot,
 
counter charge.
 
 
Question:  Since "declared non-cancelled charge" is NOT a response,
 
does a loose/open order foot unit that has declared a charge on
 
mounted enemies (the LI/open would be on LC, since other steady
 
mounted are illegal charge targets, and impetuously, since non-
 
impetuous foot get cancelled by mounted) have to take the waver test?
 
 
   This came up because it was felt that foot that are charging
 
themselves are not "responding" (where "response" are 3 specifically
 
defined actions of evade/hold/countercharge) to a charge, but are
 
instead initiating action (an impetuous charge).
 
 
A definitive answer would be greatly appreciated.
 
 
Regards,
 
         Asif Chaudhry
 
 
                                                                                                                                       | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 19
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:00 am    Post subject: Re: Rules question - loose/open foot charged by mounted | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "shahadet_99"
 
<shahadet_99@y...> wrote:
 
>
 
> Hi all.
 
>
 
> Had a question come up during a Warrior game:
 
>
 
> Loose order troops are in the open.
 
>
 
> They get charged.
 
>
 
> Normal charge responses are evade (when possible), hold&shoot,
 
> counter charge.
 
>
 
> Question:  Since "declared non-cancelled charge" is NOT a
 
response,
 
> does a loose/open order foot unit that has declared a charge on
 
> mounted enemies (the LI/open would be on LC, since other steady
 
> mounted are illegal charge targets, and impetuously, since non-
 
> impetuous foot get cancelled by mounted) have to take the waver
 
test?
 
>
 
>   This came up because it was felt that foot that are charging
 
> themselves are not "responding" (where "response" are 3
 
specifically
 
> defined actions of evade/hold/countercharge) to a charge, but are
 
> instead initiating action (an impetuous charge).
 
>
 
> A definitive answer would be greatly appreciated.
 
>
 
> Regards,
 
>         Asif Chaudhry
 
>
 
A non-impetuous charge by foot on mounted would be cancelled if it
 
becomes the target of a charge. In that circumstance loose/open
 
order foot would have to take a waver test.
 
 
  An impetuous charge by foot goes in even if it is charged by the
 
mounted.
 
 
Chris
 
 
                                                                                                                                               | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Ewan McNay Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2780 Location: Albany, NY, US
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:22 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules question - loose/open foot charged by mounted | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
I've bitten my virtual tongue many times on such; I suspect Jon is right
 
that his workload is lower in the long run that way, although if several
 
folk give wrong answers it might serve as confirmation of a rules
 
confusion (granted, that tends to happen the other way around if folk
 
disagree with a Jon answer anyway).
 
 
On Thu, 12 Jan 2006 JonCleaves@... wrote:
 
 
> In a message dated 1/12/2006 00:02:21 Central Standard Time,
 
> sitalkes@... writes:
 
>
 
> A  non-impetuous charge by foot on mounted would be cancelled if it
 
> becomes  the target of a charge. In that circumstance loose/open
 
> order foot would  have to take a waver test.
 
>
 
> An impetuous charge by foot goes in even if  it is charged by the
 
> mounted.
 
>
 
> Chris >>
 
> Chris, I know you mean well.  But I would request that only I answer  rules
 
> questions on this group.  Thanks!
 
> And yes, you were right...
 
>
 
> Jon
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> Yahoo! Groups Links
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
 
                                                                                                                                                | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:43 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules question - loose/open foot charged by mounted | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 1/12/2006 00:23:57 Central Standard Time,
 
ewan.mcnay@... writes:
 
 
I've  bitten my virtual tongue many times on such; I suspect Jon is right
 
that  his workload is lower in the long run that way, although if several
 
folk  give wrong answers it might serve as confirmation of a rules
 
confusion  (granted, that tends to happen the other way around if folk
 
disagree with a  Jon answer anyway).>>
 
[
 
Gosh, Ewan, thanks for the support.  I think...  ;)
 
 
As the author it is my duty to answer every rules question.  Some  times,
 
like today, I will wake to find four rules questions that either have  already
 
come in and I wanted time to make sure I got it right or came in  overnight.
 
There are also two list questions that I need to make sure  Scott or Bill
 
answer.  Pretty typical, sometimes more, sometimes  less.  About that many will
 
come
 
in before I am done for the day.   This has to be balanced with the fact that
 
the revised rulebook - which I will  be working on every day until it goes to
 
the printers - often has different,  cleaner language than the original which
 
cannot yet be used.  Players  answering rules questions - no matter how good
 
they are at it - causes too many  problems.  An incorrect answer kills me - my
 
mailbox fills and I am left to  sort it out.  Since you already have the
 
fastest rules answerer in all of  gaming and since many players - like myself -
 
will wait for the designer on a  forum like this no matter how many fellow
 
players fill my box with their  answers, even if ultimately correct - why
 
wouldn't
 
we want it that  way?
 
 
 
Just me please.  Thanks!
 
Jon
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                                                _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |