  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		Greg Preston Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 244 Location: Newcastle, Australia
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:37 am    Post subject: Rules Question- Mixed regular unit | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Dear Jon,
 
 
Had an event in a game last night which we could not definitively resolve.
 
 
A unit of 2 Regular HCH models is joined by its detachment of 2 elements of
 
regular LMI foot (with Jav).
 
One of the Chariot models is a general.
 
 
Thus a four element body is formed which has 2 E chariots (with 1 general)
 
as the front rank and 2E foot as the second rank- all regular.
 
 
The following questions arise.
 
 
1. Can the body declare an impetous charge ?
 
 
2. Can the body elect to charge as a response to receiving 2CPF from
 
shooting ? (and therefore avoid the test)
 
 
3. Can the body elect to Halt as a response to receiving 2CPF from shooting
 
? (and therefore avoid the test)
 
 
4.  Can the body counter-charge enemy mounted ?
 
 
5. Is the body's charge cancelled if the body is charged by impetous foot ?
 
 
 
Regards,
 
 
Greg P.
 
 
Greg Preston
 
Lecturer in Education and Arts
 
Manager, Web-based Learning and Development
 
School of Education
 
Email: edgdp@...
 
Ph: +61(02) 49215891            Post:     School of Education
 
Fax: +61(02) 49217196                      Newcastle University
 
                                                             University Drive
 
                                                             Callaghan 2308 NSW
 
                                                             Australia
 
 
                                                                                                                 | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 12
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:48 am    Post subject: Re: Rules Question- Mixed regular unit | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, Greg Preston <edgdp@a...> wrote:
 
> Dear Jon,
 
>
 
> Had an event in a game last night which we could not definitively
 
resolve.
 
>
 
> A unit of 2 Regular HCH models is joined by its detachment of 2
 
elements of
 
> regular LMI foot (with Jav).
 
> One of the Chariot models is a general.
 
>
 
> Thus a four element body is formed which has 2 E chariots (with 1
 
general)
 
> as the front rank and 2E foot as the second rank- all regular.
 
>
 
> The following questions arise.
 
>
 
> 1. Can the body declare an impetous charge ?
 
>
 
> 2. Can the body elect to charge as a response to receiving 2CPF
 
from
 
> shooting ? (and therefore avoid the test)
 
>
 
> 3. Can the body elect to Halt as a response to receiving 2CPF from
 
shooting
 
> ? (and therefore avoid the test)
 
>
 
> 4.  Can the body counter-charge enemy mounted ?
 
>
 
> 5. Is the body's charge cancelled if the body is charged by
 
impetous foot ?
 
>
 
>
 
> Regards,
 
>
 
> Greg P.
 
>
 
Jon
 
 
And further to the above, are any of these answers changed if the
 
chariot and infantry detachment are both Irregular?
 
 
Muz
 
 
                                                                                                                            | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Mark Stone Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2102 Location: Buckley, WA
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:36 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules Question- Mixed regular unit | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, Greg Preston <edgdp@a...> wrote:
 
>>
 
>> Had an event in a game last night which we could not definitively
 
>> resolve.
 
>>
 
>> A unit of 2 Regular HCH models is joined by its detachment of 2
 
>> elements of regular LMI foot (with Jav). One of the Chariot models is a
 
>> general.
 
>>
 
>> Thus a four element body is formed which has 2 E chariots (with 1
 
>> general) as the front rank and 2E foot as the second rank- all regular.
 
>>
 
>> The following questions arise.
 
>>
 
>> 1. Can the body declare an impetous charge ?
 
>>
 
>> 2. Can the body elect to charge as a response to receiving 2CPF from
 
>> shooting ? (and therefore avoid the test)
 
>>
 
>> 3. Can the body elect to Halt as a response to receiving 2CPF from
 
>> shooting? (and therefore avoid the test)
 
>>
 
>> 4. Can the body counter-charge enemy mounted ?
 
>>
 
>> 5. Is the body's charge cancelled if the body is charged by
 
>> impetous foot ?
 
>>
 
--- To which Murray Evans added: ---
 
>
 
> Jon
 
>
 
> And further to the above, are any of these answers changed if the
 
> chariot and infantry detachment are both Irregular?
 
>
 
> Muz
 
 
So, if Yahoo had any kind of decent search functionality for groups, you would
 
find that some of this has come up before and been answered before by Jon. Took
 
me about half an hour of searching by hand, but see the following thread:
 
 
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17844
 
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17845
 
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17846
 
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17847
 
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17848
 
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17849
 
 
The gist of Jon's replies seems to be that charges and responses depend on the
 
front rank troop type, unless an opposing charge would actually contact a
 
detachment behind. So chariots with either detachments of foot behind or
 
escorts on the base do not have their charge cancelled by mounted or impetuous
 
troops, nor would elephants in the same situation have their charge cancelled.
 
 
I think Jon has answered the other question before as well, though I couldn't
 
find it easily in the archives, and he'll correct me if I'm wrong, but 6.164
 
says "The following troops are incapable of declaring an impetuous charge...
 
regulars on foot." I'm pretty sure that Jon ruled that means a body that
 
contains _any_ regular foot, not just regular foot in the front rank.
 
 
 
-Mark Stone
 
 
                                                                                                                  | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:43 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules Question- Mixed regular unit | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Mark's response is correct.
 
 
I generally don't want people answering rules questions on here, but he did me a
 
huge service by finding those answers on the list and I appreciate it.
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
-----Original Message-----
 
From: Mark Stone <mark@...>
 
To: warrior <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com>
 
Sent: Fri, 12 Aug 2005 16:36:52 +0000
 
Subject: [WarriorRules] Re: Rules Question- Mixed regular unit
 
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, Greg Preston <edgdp@a...> wrote:
 
>>
 
>> Had an event in a game last night which we could not definitively
 
>> resolve.
 
>>
 
>> A unit of 2 Regular HCH models is joined by its detachment of 2
 
>> elements of regular LMI foot (with Jav). One of the Chariot models is a
 
>> general.
 
>>
 
>> Thus a four element body is formed which has 2 E chariots (with 1
 
>> general) as the front rank and 2E foot as the second rank- all regular.
 
>>
 
>> The following questions arise.
 
>>
 
>> 1. Can the body declare an impetous charge ?
 
>>
 
>> 2. Can the body elect to charge as a response to receiving 2CPF from
 
>> shooting ? (and therefore avoid the test)
 
>>
 
>> 3. Can the body elect to Halt as a response to receiving 2CPF from
 
>> shooting? (and therefore avoid the test)
 
>>
 
>> 4. Can the body counter-charge enemy mounted ?
 
>>
 
>> 5. Is the body's charge cancelled if the body is charged by
 
>> impetous foot ?
 
>>
 
--- To which Murray Evans added: ---
 
>
 
> Jon
 
>
 
> And further to the above, are any of these answers changed if the
 
> chariot and infantry detachment are both Irregular?
 
>
 
> Muz
 
 
So, if Yahoo had any kind of decent search functionality for groups, you would
 
find that some of this has come up before and been answered before by Jon. Took
 
me about half an hour of searching by hand, but see the following thread:
 
 
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17844
 
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17845
 
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17846
 
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17847
 
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17848
 
http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17849
 
 
The gist of Jon's replies seems to be that charges and responses depend on the
 
front rank troop type, unless an opposing charge would actually contact a
 
detachment behind. So chariots with either detachments of foot behind or
 
escorts on the base do not have their charge cancelled by mounted or impetuous
 
troops, nor would elephants in the same situation have their charge cancelled.
 
 
I think Jon has answered the other question before as well, though I couldn't
 
find it easily in the archives, and he'll correct me if I'm wrong, but 6.164
 
says "The following troops are incapable of declaring an impetuous charge...
 
regulars on foot." I'm pretty sure that Jon ruled that means a body that
 
contains _any_ regular foot, not just regular foot in the front rank.
 
 
 
-Mark Stone
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                               _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 12:02 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules Question- Mixed regular unit | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
<<1. The mixed body of Reg chariot (with general) and Reg detachment
 
cannot declare an impetuous charge.  >>
 
 
True.
 
 
<<2. The mixed body of Reg chariot (with general) and  Reg detachment
 
can respond to 2 shooting cpf's by declaring a charge (ie the  mounted
 
response)>>
 
 
If the chariots were nearest the shooter.
 
 
<<3. The mixed body  of Reg chariot (with general) and Reg detachment
 
can not halt as a response  to 2 cpf from shooting (the foot response)
 
and must waver test if not in  charge range.>>
 
 
Not true.  If the infantry was nearest the shooter than they would  have that
 
choice instead.
 
 
<<4. The mixed body of Reg chariot (with  general) and Reg detachment
 
cannot counter-charge enemy mounted (a mounted  response).  6.163
 
talks about cancelled charges and says that a body's  charge is
 
cancelled if it contains non-impetuous foot (refer 1 above so this
 
would be the case) that have a charge declared against them by
 
mounted  or impetuous troops.>>
 
 
They can if the mounted are what would contact the enemy.
 
 
<<5.  The mixed body of Reg chariot (with general) and Reg detachment
 
does have  its charge cancelled by an impetuous foot charge (refer 4
 
above).>>
 
 
Only if the impetuous foot charge would reach the foot in the mixed body
 
first.
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                               _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 12
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 12:22 am    Post subject: Re: Rules Question- Mixed regular unit | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Jon
 
 
This is likely to come up in the comp we are holding in Newcastle
 
(Aust.) next weekend, which is based on Classical Warrior (including
 
any other preAD armies) and which may include Chinese armies (such as
 
my Qin).
 
 
If the general gist is that the front rank determines the interaction
 
of the body with particuar rule requirements, this would mean that:
 
 
1. The mixed body of Reg chariot (with general) and Reg detachment
 
cannot declare an impetuous charge.
 
 
2. The mixed body of Reg chariot (with general) and Reg detachment
 
can respond to 2 shooting cpf's by declaring a charge (ie the mounted
 
response)
 
 
3. The mixed body of Reg chariot (with general) and Reg detachment
 
can not halt as a response to 2 cpf from shooting (the foot response)
 
and must waver test if not in charge range.
 
 
4. The mixed body of Reg chariot (with general) and Reg detachment
 
cannot counter-charge enemy mounted (a mounted response).  6.163
 
talks about cancelled charges and says that a body's charge is
 
cancelled if it contains non-impetuous foot (refer 1 above so this
 
would be the case) that have a charge declared against them by
 
mounted or impetuous troops.
 
 
5. The mixed body of Reg chariot (with general) and Reg detachment
 
does have its charge cancelled by an impetuous foot charge (refer 4
 
above).
 
 
Could you confirm these are correct interpretations of your earlier
 
answers.
 
 
Muz
 
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
> Mark's response is correct.
 
>
 
> I generally don't want people answering rules questions on here,
 
but he did me a huge service by finding those answers on the list and
 
I appreciate it.
 
>
 
> Jon
 
>
 
>
 
> -----Original Message-----
 
> From: Mark Stone <mark@d...>
 
> To: warrior <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com>
 
> Sent: Fri, 12 Aug 2005 16:36:52 +0000
 
> Subject: [WarriorRules] Re: Rules Question- Mixed regular unit
 
>
 
>
 
> --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, Greg Preston <edgdp@a...>
 
wrote:
 
> >>
 
> >> Had an event in a game last night which we could not definitively
 
> >> resolve.
 
> >>
 
> >> A unit of 2 Regular HCH models is joined by its detachment of 2
 
> >> elements of regular LMI foot (with Jav). One of the Chariot
 
models is a
 
> >> general.
 
> >>
 
> >> Thus a four element body is formed which has 2 E chariots (with 1
 
> >> general) as the front rank and 2E foot as the second rank- all
 
regular.
 
> >>
 
> >> The following questions arise.
 
> >>
 
> >> 1. Can the body declare an impetous charge ?
 
> >>
 
> >> 2. Can the body elect to charge as a response to receiving 2CPF
 
from
 
> >> shooting ? (and therefore avoid the test)
 
> >>
 
> >> 3. Can the body elect to Halt as a response to receiving 2CPF
 
from
 
> >> shooting? (and therefore avoid the test)
 
> >>
 
> >> 4. Can the body counter-charge enemy mounted ?
 
> >>
 
> >> 5. Is the body's charge cancelled if the body is charged by
 
> >> impetous foot ?
 
> >>
 
> --- To which Murray Evans added: ---
 
> >
 
> > Jon
 
> >
 
> > And further to the above, are any of these answers changed if the
 
> > chariot and infantry detachment are both Irregular?
 
> >
 
> > Muz
 
>
 
> So, if Yahoo had any kind of decent search functionality for
 
groups, you would
 
> find that some of this has come up before and been answered before
 
by Jon. Took
 
> me about half an hour of searching by hand, but see the following
 
thread:
 
>
 
> http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17844
 
> http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17845
 
> http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17846
 
> http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17847
 
> http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17848
 
> http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/message/17849
 
>
 
> The gist of Jon's replies seems to be that charges and responses
 
depend on the
 
> front rank troop type, unless an opposing charge would actually
 
contact a
 
> detachment behind. So chariots with either detachments of foot
 
behind or
 
> escorts on the base do not have their charge cancelled by mounted
 
or impetuous
 
> troops, nor would elephants in the same situation have their charge
 
cancelled.
 
>
 
> I think Jon has answered the other question before as well, though
 
I couldn't
 
> find it easily in the archives, and he'll correct me if I'm wrong,
 
but 6.164
 
> says "The following troops are incapable of declaring an impetuous
 
charge...
 
> regulars on foot." I'm pretty sure that Jon ruled that means a body
 
that
 
> contains _any_ regular foot, not just regular foot in the front
 
rank.
 
>
 
>
 
> -Mark Stone
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> Yahoo! Groups Links
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                            | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 12:23 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules Question- Mixed regular unit | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 8/11/2005 03:48:52 Central Standard Time,
 
murray.evans@... writes:
 
 
And  further to the above, are any of these answers changed if the
 
chariot and  infantry detachment are both Irregular?
 
 
 
 
Yes.  In that case it would not matter if the enemy would reach the  foot
 
detachment first.
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                               _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 2:37 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules Question- Mixed regular unit | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 8/13/2005 10:00:32 Central Standard Time,
 
jjmurphy@... writes:
 
 
But in  the future perhaps it would be a better service to the Warrior
 
player  community, and perhaps even yourself and the umpires, to
 
compile all  future such - even the ones deemed obvious to you - into
 
some kind of  seperate list, if not into the clarifications (and future
 
rulebook)  themselves.
 
 
Of course the responses of "look at this sentence in the  rulebook"
 
(really just reading the rulbook for the person asking the  question)
 
are not what I am talking about of course. Though those might be  a
 
clue to a phrase that could be better positioned within the  text.
 
 
Anyway, only a suggestion, but I believe it not your intent (or  at
 
least certainly not very practical) to require the body of e-mail
 
traffic on this list to become, like the clarification sheet, part of
 
the "official" Warrior rules.
 
 
John
 
 
 
 
Good points.
 
 
This is something I hope to do with the revised rules.  Right now I am  in
 
task triage.  I do not have the time to continue to clarify the 'white
 
rulebook' and still get the 'black rulebook' out on time.  I am trying to  make
 
sure
 
we incorporate all such things in the revised text, but I am sure to  miss some
 
and there are sure to be detail things - although the intent is to  have far
 
fewer - after the revised book is published.  I will do a better  job of
 
turning my 'rulings' into clarifications after the new book is  published.  I'd
 
also like to find a new volunteer to keep the FAQ updated  after we have a new
 
text and page numbers to start from.
 
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                               _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		John Murphy Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 5:59 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules Question- Mixed regular unit | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Jon,
 
 
I will make a suggestion...
 
 
There have been a number of times, a fairly large number even, that a
 
good RULES question has been asked by someone and then answered by you
 
in an e-mail reply. Yet, the response never gets into the
 
clarifications sheets. I believe in most cases because you deem the
 
response to be one more obvious to the reader than perhaps it really
 
is.
 
 
So the only way to find a "ruling" previously made by you on the
 
subject is to search laboriously through the archives which in some
 
(though not all - some have used the RULES keyword in the subject line
 
but that still leaves a lot to search through) cases may require
 
literally reading every single one of the gobs of messages from the
 
past several years - really an impossible task on a practical level.
 
 
There is likely nothing reasonable to be done about the "ruling"
 
or "clarifications" issued in the past.
 
 
But in the future perhaps it would be a better service to the Warrior
 
player community, and perhaps even yourself and the umpires, to
 
compile all future such - even the ones deemed obvious to you - into
 
some kind of seperate list, if not into the clarifications (and future
 
rulebook) themselves.
 
 
Of course the responses of "look at this sentence in the rulebook"
 
(really just reading the rulbook for the person asking the question)
 
are not what I am talking about of course. Though those might be a
 
clue to a phrase that could be better positioned within the text.
 
 
Anyway, only a suggestion, but I believe it not your intent (or at
 
least certainly not very practical) to require the body of e-mail
 
traffic on this list to become, like the clarification sheet, part of
 
the "official" Warrior rules.
 
 
John
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
> huge service by finding those answers on the list
 
 
                                                                                                                 | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |