  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 93
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 12:51 am    Post subject: Rules question: Incendiary missiles same as Artillery? | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Hi all.  This question came up (to my detriment) during a tournament in
 
Canada that I attended this past weekend.
 
 
My LHI unit (in brush) got shot up with incendiary bowfire, sustaining
 
2 CPF.
 
 
It was then claimed that since incendiaries use the same line and
 
factor as Artillery, that the 3rd to last paragraph on page 73, section
 
11.1 applied, namely:
 
 
"Close or loose formation foot, not including Irr A, must waver test
 
from 2 CPF inflicted entirely or partially by HG and/or artillery in
 
preparatory shooting.  This is because shields offer no protection
 
against such weapons. ....."
 
 
(as a corollary, are shield troops shot at by incendiary missiles
 
considered "shieldless" ?)
 
 
However, at reading section 16.1 Fire, and 16.12, Incendiary Attacks,
 
this waver test on foot isn't mentioned as one of the effects of
 
Incendiary attacks.
 
 
I'd like to know the answer to this for future reference, since
 
incendiaries will be much easier to get in the future with the new
 
rules.
 
 
Thanks,
 
-Asif
 
 
                                                                                                                                          | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 11:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules question: Incendiary missiles same as Artillery? | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
<< My LHI unit (in brush) got shot up with incendiary bowfire, sustaining
 
2 CPF.
 
 
It was then claimed that since incendiaries use the same line and
 
factor as Artillery, that the 3rd to last paragraph on page 73, section
 
11.1 applied, namely:
 
 
"Close or loose formation foot, not including Irr A, must waver test
 
from 2 CPF inflicted entirely or partially by HG and/or artillery in
 
preparatory shooting.  This is because shields offer no protection
 
against such weapons. ....."
 
 
(as a corollary, are shield troops shot at by incendiary missiles
 
considered "shieldless" ?)>>
 
 
No and no.  You have to be either HG or ART for that rule to take effect, not
 
just be using that line of the chart.
 
 
<<I'd like to know the answer to this for future reference, since
 
incendiaries will be much easier to get in the future with the new
 
rules.>>
 
 
Hmmm, is that so?  What makes you say that?  I am not writing any 'new rules'
 
especially any that make incendiaries 'easier to get'....
 
 
J
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                                               _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 7:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules question: Incendiary missiles same as Artiller | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
What was  aggravating was that if I had KNOWN that my opponent COULD
 
POSSIBLY get  incendiaries, I would have gone into skirmish and BACKED
 
UP, so I could  get the -2 shooting factor, and then I would have been
 
more effective with  MY incendiaries (which I had bought since my
 
ENEMY had the ABILITY to get  TFs, in this case ditch).>>
 
1.  The changes to 14 have been out since December.  Not sure  what to tell
 
you about that.
 
 
2.  The fact of having the incendiaries isn't a secret in any  case.
 
 
 
---------------------------
 
 
Side note 1:  Am I  the only one who considers it odd that ditch or
 
Stone Walls (which  incendiaries have NO effect on) enable either army
 
to get  incendiaries?>>
 
The bigger issue is trying to control a guy getting flaming arrows shooting
 
things using the TF instead of buying them because the other guy took a TF but
 
  using them on his cav.  I don't want to write a page of rules just for
 
another 'strategem', but I will take suggestions.  Since the change in 14,  no
 
one
 
has been taking TFs because they didn't want the other guy to take  flaming
 
missiles, so it has not really come up.  This leaves TFs and  flaming missiles
 
in the realm of scenarios and more or less out of competition  games and I am
 
personally ok with that.  This is the first time someone has  said anything
 
negative about it since the change.
 
 
I don't know what to tell you about your judge ruling that flaming arrows
 
had the 11.1 effect of artillery.  That's like saying a P fights like an  LTS
 
because they are on the same line as the weapon factors chart...
 
 
 
 
Side question 1:  What are the ranges for using incendiary  bow?
 
incendiary Crossbow? incendiary Longbow?  Are they ALL  "effective 40,
 
no long range", or has this been  changed?>>
 
40p is effective.  120p is long for flaming CB and LB and 80p is long  for
 
flaming B missiles.
 
 
J
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                                                   _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 93
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:43 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules question: Incendiary missiles same as Artillery? | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
> <<I'd like to know the answer to this for future reference, since
 
> incendiaries will be much easier to get in the future with the new
 
> rules.>>
 
>
 
> Hmmm, is that so?  What makes you say that?  I am not writing
 
>any 'new rules' especially any that make incendiaries 'easier to
 
>get'....
 
>
 
> J.
 
 
Old Rules (printed Warrior Rules for retail sale):
 
--------------------------------------------------
 
 
pg 96, Section 17.1, middle of page - "Incendiaries, etc." :
 
 
" Incendiary missiles (flaming arrows) may be purchased for any
 
troops armed with B or LB if the *ENEMY'S* army list *PROVIDES THE
 
ABILITY* to purchase temporary fortifications or fighting transport
 
 
Other incendiary missiles may only be purchased if the army list
 
permits."
 
 
--------------------------
 
 
New Rules (Section 14, posted in the files section of WarriorRules
 
Yahoo group, scheduled for inclusion in the 2nd edition retail rules,
 
and currently legal for tourney play with 1st edition rules)
 
 
pg 108, Section 14.46, end of column - "Adjusting Army Lists in
 
Competition"
 
 
" What can be purchased with points made available through list
 
adjustment?
 
 
- TFs, Portable Obstacles, Po(r)table Hazards, Mantlets and Boats:
 
Only those available to army list.
 
 
- Incendiary Missiles:
 
       - If available for that army list, OR
 
       - After both players have made any adjustments for TFs, but
 
before any other adjustments are made, each player announces if they
 
have TF's and/or Fighting Transport or not.  If *ONE* of them does,
 
then Incendiary missiles (flaming arrows) may be purchased for any
 
troops armed with B or LB OF EITHER SIDE."
 
 
-----------------------------------------------
 
 
Real world application/example:
 
 
    At the recent Migscon in Toronto last weekend, I was playing list
 
18 from Feudal Warrior - Sicilian Hohenstaufen, early period.
 
 
    This list has no option for TFs or Fighting Transport.  Thus,
 
having NOT reviewed my internet printouts recently, and going by the
 
printed book, I incorrectly assumed that I had obtained immunity from
 
my opponents buying incendiary missiles (unless they are Chinese, or
 
one of the other lists that can get incendiaries as a list rule).
 
This defensive immunity was one of the reasons I liked list #18 (note
 
past tense).
 
 
   My opponent, having read Section 14 from the internet, paid 10pts
 
to buy a 6-element section of ditch, thus allowing him to buy
 
incendiaries with which to shoot up my shielded LHI/LMI Muslim bow
 
unit.  Since incendiaries were ruled at the time as being Artillery
 
damage, I had to take a waver test for having sustained 2 or more CPF
 
(and yes, of course I rolled a "1").  My then-shaken Bow unit of
 
course got routed by the 2 HC L,B,Sh units that had just shot them up
 
with incendiaries (failing the waver for *charged while shaken*).
 
This caused my flank to completely buckle and collapse, as my army
 
was fairly dense on that side, making use of the brush that was on
 
that side to prevent waver tests for "Loose order charged in the
 
open".
 
 
   What was aggravating was that if I had KNOWN that my opponent COULD
 
POSSIBLY get incendiaries, I would have gone into skirmish and BACKED
 
UP, so I could get the -2 shooting factor, and then I would have been
 
more effective with MY incendiaries (which I had bought since my
 
ENEMY had the ABILITY to get TFs, in this case ditch).
 
 
   ---------------------------
 
 
Side note 1:  Am I the only one who considers it odd that ditch or
 
Stone Walls (which incendiaries have NO effect on) enable either army
 
to get incendiaries?
 
 
Side question 1:  What are the ranges for using incendiary bow?
 
incendiary Crossbow? incendiary Longbow?  Are they ALL "effective 40,
 
no long range", or has this been changed?
 
 
So to answer your question Jon, it wasn't a "new" rule per se, but I
 
made the distinction in my post based on what the printed rules say,
 
versus the internet Section 12&14 which have over-ridden the relevant
 
book sections.
 
 
Thanks,
 
-Asif
 
 
                                                                                                                                              | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Ewan McNay Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2780 Location: Albany, NY, US
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 5:57 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules question: Incendiary missiles same as Artiller | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Just back from Tactical Retreat, and three great games; thanks to Jake for
 
the organisation and my opponents for the noyment!
 
 
We did have a question come up (hypothetical, mostly) about the use of
 
incendiary HTW; as far as I can see they're just a missile wea;pon with
 
range 40p, but several folk thought they could be used as incendiaries
 
somehoe in hth.  Am I missing something here?
 
 
Also, not really as a rules Q but because it caused general consternation:
 
note that (Jon can please leap in here if this is incorrect) (i) there is
 
no need for >1 element-wodth of a gap being passed in normal movement,
 
even if one or both shoulder are enemy; only in charges would that double
 
the passable size to 2 elements; and (ii) there is no requirement to stay
 
outside 40p of enemy *throughout* an approach move, only to end no closer
 
than 40.
 
 
[A 2E unit of my LC considered merrily walking through a 1E gap between
 
opposing spear units in line, then turning around in their rear at 40p.
 
Didn't do it, but my opponent and the surrounding tables were in general
 
amazed that anyone would even think it was legal...]
 
 
No other real Qs that I recall.  And I'm very glad that Jake indeed
 
adjusted things to get 3 games in by 8.30 p.m..  One of my games posed an
 
interesting challenge: facing Carthaginian, there's a line of max-size
 
woods.  4 of them.  across the centre line, essentially, with some small
 
variation in spacing between the two deployment zones and a total of maybe
 
6E of gaps between them acros the width of the table.   How do you plan to
 
fight there with an army consisting of LC, SHC and elephants?    And what
 
is it about Carthaginians that causes my armies fits?  Paging Tim Brown
 
and a minor water feature..
 
 
 
 
On Sat, 22 Oct 2005 JonCleaves@... wrote:
 
 
>
 
> What was  aggravating was that if I had KNOWN that my opponent COULD
 
> POSSIBLY get  incendiaries, I would have gone into skirmish and BACKED
 
> UP, so I could  get the -2 shooting factor, and then I would have been
 
> more effective with  MY incendiaries (which I had bought since my
 
> ENEMY had the ABILITY to get  TFs, in this case ditch).>>
 
> 1.  The changes to 14 have been out since December.  Not sure  what to tell
 
> you about that.
 
>
 
> 2.  The fact of having the incendiaries isn't a secret in any  case.
 
>
 
>
 
> ---------------------------
 
>
 
> Side note 1:  Am I  the only one who considers it odd that ditch or
 
> Stone Walls (which  incendiaries have NO effect on) enable either army
 
> to get  incendiaries?>>
 
> The bigger issue is trying to control a guy getting flaming arrows shooting
 
> things using the TF instead of buying them because the other guy took a TF but
 
>  using them on his cav.  I don't want to write a page of rules just for
 
> another 'strategem', but I will take suggestions.  Since the change in 14,  no
 
one
 
> has been taking TFs because they didn't want the other guy to take  flaming
 
> missiles, so it has not really come up.  This leaves TFs and  flaming missiles
 
> in the realm of scenarios and more or less out of competition  games and I am
 
> personally ok with that.  This is the first time someone has  said anything
 
> negative about it since the change.
 
>
 
> I don't know what to tell you about your judge ruling that flaming arrows
 
> had the 11.1 effect of artillery.  That's like saying a P fights like an  LTS
 
> because they are on the same line as the weapon factors chart...
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> Side question 1:  What are the ranges for using incendiary  bow?
 
> incendiary Crossbow? incendiary Longbow?  Are they ALL  "effective 40,
 
> no long range", or has this been  changed?>>
 
> 40p is effective.  120p is long for flaming CB and LB and 80p is long  for
 
> flaming B missiles.
 
>
 
> J
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> Yahoo! Groups Links
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
 
                                                                                                                                                    | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 93
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 8:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules question: Incendiary missiles same as Artillery? | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
> 1.  The changes to 14 have been out since December.  Not sure  what
 
to tell
 
> you about that.
 
 
   There's nothing really to tell.  I should have paid more attention
 
to 12 & 14 - I was just a Mr. Grouchy Pants at the time is all.
 
 
> 2.  The fact of having the incendiaries isn't a secret in any  case.
 
 
    ??????  Clarify please.
 
 
   As far as I am aware, although you "adjust army lists", no where
 
does it state that you have to reveal whether you bought
 
incendiaries, and if you did, whether you have to declare to your
 
opponent which unit(s) HAVE them.
 
 
    The fact that the rules for Chinese Fire Lance in Oriental Warrior
 
explicitly state that you MUST reveal, seemed (to me) to be an
 
implicit confirmation that IF incendiaries needed to be revealed to
 
an opponent, it would have said so, and since it doesn't say so, you
 
do not have to.
 
 
   Or is this something else in Section 14 that I missed?
 
 
> The bigger issue is trying to control a guy getting flaming arrows
 
shooting
 
> things using the TF instead of buying them because the other guy
 
took a TF but
 
>  using them on his cav.
 
 
   True - but it seems to be an unavoidable problem.  It seems
 
comparable to the way I percieve Skirmish formation to be used - it's
 
supposed to be a shooting formation, but people use it primarily for
 
it's defensive abilities (LC with shields is a 3 against B, but in
 
Skirmish, it's a 2 (+1 for shieldless, -2 for Skirmish)).
 
 
   Granted, my experience in the wider world of Warrior (and
 
historicals in general) is still very small, but just looking at the
 
way the rules and factors work, I still see Skirmish this way.
 
 
Likewise, although incendiaries are (supposed to be) for burning down
 
fortifications, there is no denying that it messes up mounted troops
 
really hard.  Especially in the world of SHC, your opponent will not
 
like a +5 shift in tactical factor (from -1 to +4) - that's a quick
 
way to get tired SHC.
 
 
How to avoid this?  Honestly couldn't tell you - it's hard to try and
 
legislate EVERY possible situation.
 
 
>  This is the first time someone has  said anything
 
> negative about it since the change.
 
 
   I'm willing to bet that as more people think about the uses
 
of "offensive TF" and incendiaries, they will start becoming more
 
prevalent in competition again.
 
 
    Particularly, predominately foot armies will likely have NO
 
hesitation about taking some ditches (or worse, Stone Walls) to try
 
and break up massed Cav charges, and then use flaming missiles to
 
butcher those knights/SHC as they come in.  And woe betide those
 
Elephants - yes the factor is reduced, but you only need the ONE Cpf
 
for disorder, and El are close order troops, so that's a -2 on their
 
fight back.  Just send in the impetous LI with 2HCW or JLS - icky.
 
 
> I don't know what to tell you about your judge ruling that flaming
 
arrows
 
> had the 11.1 effect of artillery.  That's like saying a P fights
 
like an  LTS
 
> because they are on the same line as the weapon factors chart...
 
 
    It was a "heat of the moment/rushing to get a ruling" type thing.
 
Besides, they're my friends, so I know it wasn't intentional, just
 
misguided, so I'm fine with it.
 
 
    I just wanted to get it clarified for future reference.
 
 
> Side question 1:  What are the ranges for using incendiary  bow?
 
> incendiary Crossbow? incendiary Longbow?  Are they ALL  "effective
 
40,
 
> no long range", or has this been  changed?>>
 
> 40p is effective.  120p is long for flaming CB and LB and 80p is
 
long  for
 
> flaming B missiles.
 
 
   Thanks Jon.  I assume this is being included in the new rulebook's
 
Section 8 for ranged weapon ranges?  I haven't seen 8 yet, so I don't
 
know.
 
 
Regards,
 
        Asif Chaudhry
 
 
                                                                                                                                              | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Doug Centurion
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1412
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 10:07 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules question: Incendiary missiles same as Artiller | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
>The bigger issue is trying to control a guy getting flaming arrows shooting
 
>things using the TF instead of buying them because the other guy took a TF but
 
>  using them on his cav.
 
 
I don't understand the above sentence at all.
 
 
Are you trying to say that the opportunity to buy incindiaries due to
 
the enemy having TF was meant to allow them to assault the TF with
 
fire, but people instead use them against other things in a generally
 
non-historical manner?
 
 
Historically, what do we know about the logistics of making flaming
 
missiles available?  I would think that it would result in the unit
 
using them being unable to move freely.  With the possible exception
 
of those few with gunpowder-based fireworks/pyrotechnic technology.
 
 
An adjustment requiring transport elements and set-up/take down
 
delays maybe?  Or am I getting into the province of the Seige
 
supplement?
 
 
                                                                                                                                     | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 39
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 12:04 am    Post subject: Re: Rules question: Incendiary missiles same as Artillery? | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Good afternoon,
 
I would agree with this fellow here. I think this should be the most
 
important consideration.
 
 
> Historically, what do we know about the logistics of making flaming
 
> missiles available?  I would think that it would result in the unit
 
> using them being unable to move freely.  With the possible exception
 
> of those few with gunpowder-based fireworks/pyrotechnic technology.
 
 
   I've been at the receiving end of the fire arrows (from the same
 
opponent that sparked this discussion). Quite frankly, not having
 
faced them before and not expecting them (having no option for TF
 
myself), I was really caught off guard. The weapons weren't disclosed
 
and when they were I really didn't expect them to be that much more of
 
a threat to my HI than "regular" arrows. I'm not complaining about my
 
opponent (I enjoyed that game), It's my fault for not knowing all of
 
the rules.
 
 
   It brings me to another point I'd like to make. I doubt they'd be
 
that much more effective. The factor is a 4 vs a 1/2 against HI/MI.
 
Would fire arrows kill that many more guys? It's still the pointed end
 
that is doing the killing, not the fire. I think it would be scary,
 
but not really any more dangerous. (I admit, Ive never had the real
 
experience of being shot at with flaming arrows!)Maybe a cause of
 
unease, disorder, or a halt/waver-test or something while people try
 
to pull flaming arrows out of their shields. Double to quadruple the
 
number of casualties seems too much.
 
 
   I would like to see the factors of flaming arrows reduced to
 
weapon's normal factors when shooting at non TF/transport targets.
 
Perhaps giving a them additional "scary" effects instead. However,
 
there may be other solutions.
 
 
Noel
 
 
                                                                                                                                           | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 3:05 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules question: Incendiary missiles same as Artiller | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 10/23/2005 14:14:51 Central Standard Time,
 
rockd@... writes:
 
 
Are you  trying to say that the opportunity to buy incindiaries due to
 
the enemy  having TF was meant to allow them to assault the TF with
 
fire, but people  instead use them against other things in a generally
 
non-historical  manner?
 
 
 
 
Yes, I am still not satisfied that we have that right.  I don't want  flaming
 
missiles at all in standard competitions, but it seems I am in the  minority.
 
  So, we tried to craft a permission tied to TFs.  But no  matter what we do,
 
it gets abused - which is why I would prefer to disallow them  entirely.
 
I haven't finalized 14 in the new book yet, so I am still in the hunt for a
 
good way to handle this.
 
 
Of course, you could all write Scott and tell him that you would prefer  they
 
weren't in comp games at all....  ;)
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                                                   _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 3:51 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules question: Incendiary missiles same as Artiller | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 10/22/2005 21:57:44 Central Standard Time,
 
ewan.mcnay@... writes:
 
 
We did  have a question come up (hypothetical, mostly) about the use of
 
incendiary  HTW; as far as I can see they're just a missile wea;pon with
 
range 40p, but  several folk thought they could be used as incendiaries
 
somehoe in  hth.  Am I missing something here?>>
 
They are certainly not missile weapons.  Incendiary HTW can only  affect TF
 
and fighting transport and only in HTH.
 
 
 
 
Also, not really as a rules Q but because it caused general  consternation:
 
note that (Jon can please leap in here if this is incorrect)  (i) there is
 
no need for >1 element-wodth of a gap being passed in  normal movement,
 
even if one or both shoulder are enemy; only in charges  would that double
 
the passable size to 2  elements;>>
 
Well, theoretically no.  But as you can't get within 40p on the enemy  on an
 
approach, that would be hard to make happen.
 
 
and (ii)  there is no requirement to stay
 
outside 40p of enemy *throughout* an  approach move, only to end no closer
 
than 40.>>
 
Hmmm.  Approaches does say 'end'.  I see where this is  going.
 
 
 
 
 
[A 2E unit of my LC considered merrily walking through a 1E gap  between
 
opposing spear units in line, then turning around in their rear at  40p.
 
Didn't do it, but my opponent and the surrounding tables were in  general
 
amazed that anyone would even think it was  legal...]>>
 
Of course it should not be legal and it sure isn't my intent, but I do see
 
the issue with the wording in the approach rule not being abuse-proof.   Here's
 
an official fix:
 
"An approach move by a friendly body through a gap with one or more enemy
 
bodies as 'shoulders' cannot be made if any part of the linear distance of the
 
approach move would take the body within 40p of an enemy body."
 
I am sure I have still not completely got it entirely abuse-proof, but I
 
will work on it.  I am sure this will delay the production of the revised  rules
 
somewhat, along with what I apparently have to do with flaming  missiles....
 
<sigh>
 
 
 
 
 
No other real Qs that I recall.  And I'm very glad that  Jake indeed
 
adjusted things to get 3 games in by 8.30 p.m..  One of my  games posed an
 
interesting challenge: facing Carthaginian, there's a line  of max-size
 
woods.  4 of them.  across the centre line,  essentially, with some small
 
variation in spacing between the two  deployment zones and a total of maybe
 
6E of gaps between them acros the  width of the table.   How do you plan to
 
fight there with an army  consisting of LC, SHC and elephants?   >>
 
Oh yeah...like you lost...geez...  :)
 
 
J
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                                                   _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 3:57 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules question: Incendiary missiles same as Artiller | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
> 2.  The fact of having the incendiaries isn't a secret in  any  case.
 
 
??????  Clarify please.>>
 
 
You can't keep your purchase of flaming missiles secret.
 
 
 
The only things I can think of off the top of my head that can be secret in
 
Warrior are:
 
 
Morale class til it is used in game.
 
Ambush til revealed.
 
A flank march until bound 2 and its composition until it arrives.
 
Incendiary expendables.
 
Rocks (and of course the rocks are not secret, just the fact a player
 
prepped them to be rolled).
 
 
There are no weapon categories or ammunitions that are kept secret.
 
 
 
<<  I'm willing to bet that as more people think about the  uses
 
of "offensive TF" and incendiaries, they will start becoming more
 
prevalent in competition again.>>
 
 
Yes, I am concerned about that too and it is really playing hell with
 
getting this damned rulebook  done.
 
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                                                   _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 11:05 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules question: Incendiary missiles same as Artiller | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 10/24/2005 06:00:16 Central Standard Time,
 
ewan.mcnay@... writes:
 
 
OK.  What rules govern their factors?  Or, is it simply that  they are now
 
deemed to be doing incendiary damage?  And where is the  limitation to hth?>>
 
2.32.  If you're aware of a place that says HTW is ever a missile  weapon,
 
please point it out to me so that I amy fix it.
 
 
 
 
> Also, not really as a rules Q but because it caused  general  consternation:
 
> note that (Jon can please leap in here if  this is incorrect)  (i) there is
 
> no need for >1 element-wodth  of a gap being passed in  normal movement,
 
> even if one or both  shoulder are enemy; only in charges  would that double
 
> the  passable size to 2  elements;>>
 
> Well, theoretically  no.  But as you can't get within 40p on the enemy  on
 
an
 
>  approach, that would be hard to make happen.
 
 
Could you please tell me  which rule states this?  This is what many were
 
claiming to, my rather  adamant opposition.
 
 
Note that this is *not* new and has been this way  'always' - I was
 
utterly amazed to find it a source of  controversy!>>
 
Ewan, I understand that the rulebook only says 'end' outside of 40p.   But
 
the idea that this  should allow one to send his LC between two enemy  bodies 1E
 
apart is incorrect.  Obviously it did not occur to me that  someone would try
 
this.  There's no historical precedent for such and it is  - to me and
 
apparently to everyone around you when you brought it up - a  loophole in the
 
rules
 
that must be closed.  I am in no way amazed that it  was a source of
 
controversy.
 
 
The 'end' wording is designed to not have players worry about formation
 
change and turn mechanics in proximity to the enemy as elements do not always 
 
act
 
in these situations as their real life counterparts did.  I would  *think*
 
that one would know intuitively that we don't want LC making contact  with the
 
enemy while they pass by them due to this wording.  I see you  even mention
 
that everyone but you in whatever venue you were in caught this  error.  I am
 
certainly not mad at anyone.  But I am going to fix what  I feel is an obvious
 
error in the rules wording and I am grateful that we found  this now and not
 
after the revised book was done - no matter what work it makes  for me and Beth.
 
 
I apologize for the word 'abuse'.  What I meant was: there are players  who
 
don't use history for their measuring stick when they decide for themselves
 
what the rules must be trying to replicate (or why lists or list rules are the
 
way they are).  They just like Warrior as a game and not a simulation of
 
history (yes, I know, Mark, that you don't think we've made a 
 
simulation...lol).
 
I have to write a rulebook that simulates history as  best we here at FHE
 
know it - for better or worse.  I don't have examples  of LC simply driving into
 
contact with formed troops or through and inside and  beyond their battle line
 
and then leaving at will.  Sure, they could dance  around them at some
 
nominal range (which we have at 40p, which is indeed a  compromise).  But we
 
have to
 
reward a guy for having his stuff closed up in  a battle line and that is how
 
we have chosen to do it.  The use of the word  'end' in the approach rule was
 
NOT in any way put there to permit LC to move  between two enemy units while
 
entering contact with them and then move  beyond.  I'm am sorry I didn't see
 
that someone might try and use it for  that purpose earlier - I could have
 
saved us this conversation and the one you  had wherever you were.
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                                                   _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 23
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules question: Incendiary missiles same as Artillery? | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
To all and to Jon
 
 
Re writing a rule limiting incendiaires. If the intention for
 
incendiaries was to attack/defend TFs, then what of simply limiting
 
one unit to having incendiaries in this context (the unit supposedly
 
set to attack them in real life can have the incendiaries and vice
 
versa in defence). Furthermore, sa TFs require a unit to defend them
 
during placement/deployment, then it can be THAT unit which can have
 
incendiairies as well.
 
 
This better simlates the 'real life' designation of units for
 
assault etc. A large unit can be designated and used by the player
 
if they want more incendiaries.
 
 
This anchors the incendiairy units to the TFs that have made their
 
use possible in the first place and should avoid willy nilly
 
dispersion of this weapon through the army.
 
 
I could be takling through my hat but this might be simpler than
 
writing complicated occurrences and contexts for the weapons' use.
 
 
Respond and let me know what you think.
 
 
Tibor
 
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 
>
 
> In a message dated 10/22/2005 21:57:44 Central Standard Time,
 
> ewan.mcnay@y... writes:
 
>
 
> We did  have a question come up (hypothetical, mostly) about the
 
use of
 
> incendiary  HTW; as far as I can see they're just a missile
 
wea;pon with
 
> range 40p, but  several folk thought they could be used as
 
incendiaries
 
> somehoe in  hth.  Am I missing something here?>>
 
> They are certainly not missile weapons.  Incendiary HTW can only
 
affect TF
 
> and fighting transport and only in HTH.
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> Also, not really as a rules Q but because it caused general
 
consternation:
 
> note that (Jon can please leap in here if this is incorrect)  (i)
 
there is
 
> no need for >1 element-wodth of a gap being passed in  normal
 
movement,
 
> even if one or both shoulder are enemy; only in charges  would
 
that double
 
> the passable size to 2  elements;>>
 
> Well, theoretically no.  But as you can't get within 40p on the
 
enemy  on an
 
> approach, that would be hard to make happen.
 
>
 
> and (ii)  there is no requirement to stay
 
> outside 40p of enemy *throughout* an  approach move, only to end
 
no closer
 
> than 40.>>
 
> Hmmm.  Approaches does say 'end'.  I see where this is  going.
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> [A 2E unit of my LC considered merrily walking through a 1E gap
 
between
 
> opposing spear units in line, then turning around in their rear
 
at  40p.
 
> Didn't do it, but my opponent and the surrounding tables were in
 
general
 
> amazed that anyone would even think it was  legal...]>>
 
> Of course it should not be legal and it sure isn't my intent, but
 
I do see
 
> the issue with the wording in the approach rule not being abuse-
 
proof.   Here's
 
> an official fix:
 
> "An approach move by a friendly body through a gap with one or
 
more enemy
 
> bodies as 'shoulders' cannot be made if any part of the linear
 
distance of the
 
> approach move would take the body within 40p of an enemy body."
 
> I am sure I have still not completely got it entirely abuse-proof,
 
but I
 
> will work on it.  I am sure this will delay the production of the
 
revised  rules
 
> somewhat, along with what I apparently have to do with flaming
 
missiles....
 
> <sigh>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> No other real Qs that I recall.  And I'm very glad that  Jake
 
indeed
 
> adjusted things to get 3 games in by 8.30 p.m..  One of my  games
 
posed an
 
> interesting challenge: facing Carthaginian, there's a line  of max-
 
size
 
> woods.  4 of them.  across the centre line,  essentially, with
 
some small
 
> variation in spacing between the two  deployment zones and a total
 
of maybe
 
> 6E of gaps between them acros the  width of the table.   How do
 
you plan to
 
> fight there with an army  consisting of LC, SHC and elephants?  
 
>>
 
> Oh yeah...like you lost...geez...   
 
>
 
> J
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
>
 
 
                                                                                                                                        | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Ewan McNay Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2780 Location: Albany, NY, US
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:59 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules question: Incendiary missiles same as Artiller | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
On Mon, 24 Oct 2005 JonCleaves@... wrote:
 
> We did  have a question come up (hypothetical, mostly) about the use of
 
> incendiary  HTW; as far as I can see they're just a missile wea;pon with
 
> range 40p, but  several folk thought they could be used as incendiaries
 
> somehoe in  hth.  Am I missing something here?>>
 
> They are certainly not missile weapons.  Incendiary HTW can only  affect TF
 
> and fighting transport and only in HTH.
 
 
OK.  What rules govern their factors?  Or, is it simply that they are now
 
deemed to be doing incendiary damage?  And where is the limitation to hth?
 
 
> Also, not really as a rules Q but because it caused general  consternation:
 
> note that (Jon can please leap in here if this is incorrect)  (i) there is
 
> no need for >1 element-wodth of a gap being passed in  normal movement,
 
> even if one or both shoulder are enemy; only in charges  would that double
 
> the passable size to 2  elements;>>
 
> Well, theoretically no.  But as you can't get within 40p on the enemy  on an
 
> approach, that would be hard to make happen.
 
 
Could you please tell me which rule states this?  This is what many were
 
claiming to, my rather adamant opposition.
 
 
Note that this is *not* new and has been this way 'always' - I was
 
utterly amazed to find it a source of controversy!
 
 
> and (ii)  there is no requirement to stay
 
> outside 40p of enemy *throughout* an  approach move, only to end no closer
 
> than 40.>>
 
> Hmmm.  Approaches does say 'end'.  I see where this is  going.
 
 
Not 'going' anywhere - (emphasis) THIS IS NOT NEW.  I think that there
 
appears to have been a common assumption about something that is honestly
 
very clearly against what the rules say.
 
 
> [A 2E unit of my LC considered merrily walking through a 1E gap  between
 
> opposing spear units in line, then turning around in their rear at  40p.
 
> Didn't do it, but my opponent and the surrounding tables were in  general
 
> amazed that anyone would even think it was  legal...]>>
 
> Of course it should not be legal and it sure isn't my intent, but I do see
 
> the issue with the wording in the approach rule not being abuse-proof.  
 
Here's
 
> an official fix:
 
 
Yikes.
 
 
This is a huge change.  Please note that I am aware you will get mad with
 
my noting such, but this is *not* a clarification, it is a (major) change
 
to how troops of all kinds make manouvres when in proximity to enemy.
 
 
I'm sorry that I mentioned it if this is the reaction.
 
 
I'm even more sorry that you are quick to use condemning terms of 'abuse'
 
for an action that is utterly legal and utterly in line with the - repeat,
 
very clear and I had thought nicely worded! - rules.
 
 
Bleagh.
 
 
More later, perhaps!
 
 
> "An approach move by a friendly body through a gap with one or more enemy
 
> bodies as 'shoulders' cannot be made if any part of the linear distance of the
 
> approach move would take the body within 40p of an enemy body."
 
> I am sure I have still not completely got it entirely abuse-proof, but I
 
> will work on it.  I am sure this will delay the production of the revised 
 
rules
 
> somewhat, along with what I apparently have to do with flaming  missiles....
 
> <sigh>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> No other real Qs that I recall.  And I'm very glad that  Jake indeed
 
> adjusted things to get 3 games in by 8.30 p.m..  One of my  games posed an
 
> interesting challenge: facing Carthaginian, there's a line  of max-size
 
> woods.  4 of them.  across the centre line,  essentially, with some small
 
> variation in spacing between the two  deployment zones and a total of maybe
 
> 6E of gaps between them acros the  width of the table.   How do you plan to
 
> fight there with an army  consisting of LC, SHC and elephants?   >>
 
> Oh yeah...like you lost...geez...   
 
>
 
> J
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> Yahoo! Groups Links
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
 
                                                                                                                                                   | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Doug Centurion
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1412
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 6:52 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules question: Incendiary missiles same as Artiller | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
You might want to post this under a relevent subject heading,
 
otherwise only people reading about flaming missiles will know about
 
it.
 
 
>[A 2E unit of my LC considered merrily walking through a 1E gap  between
 
>opposing spear units in line, then turning around in their rear at  40p.
 
>Didn't do it, but my opponent and the surrounding tables were in  general
 
>amazed that anyone would even think it was  legal...]
 
>>>
 
>Of course it should not be legal and it sure isn't my intent, but I do see
 
>the issue with the wording in the approach rule not being abuse-proof.
 
>
 
>Here's an official fix:
 
>
 
>"An approach move by a friendly body through a gap with one or more enemy
 
>bodies as 'shoulders' cannot be made if any part of the linear
 
>distance of the
 
>approach move would take the body within 40p of an enemy body."
 
>
 
>I am sure I have still not completely got it entirely abuse-proof, but I
 
>will work on it.  I am sure this will delay the production of the
 
>revised  rules
 
>somewhat, along with what I apparently have to do with flaming  missiles....
 
><sigh>
 
>
 
>J
 
 
--
 
--
 
 
Doug
 
The price of freedom is infernal vigilantes
 
 
"Who are the militia? Are they not ourselves? Is it feared, then,
 
that we shall turn our arms each man against his own bosom? Congress
 
shall have no power to disarm the militia. Their swords, and every
 
other terrible implement of the soldier, are the birth-right of an
 
American ... The unlimited power of the sword is not in the hands of
 
either the federal or state governments, but where I trust in God it
 
will ever remain, in the hands of the People."- Tench Coxe, 1788.
 
http://www.constitution.org/mil/cs_milit.htm
 
 
This communication is for use by the intended recipient and contains
 
information that may be privileged, confidential or copyrighted under
 
applicable law.  If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby
 
formally notified that any use, copying or distribution of this e-mail,
 
in whole or in part, is strictly prohibited.  Please notify the sender
 
by return e-mail and delete this e-mail from your system.  Unless
 
explicitly and conspicuously designated as "E-Contract Intended",
 
this e-mail does not constitute a contract offer, a contract amendment,
 
or an acceptance of a contract offer.  This e-mail does not constitute
 
a consent to the use of sender's contact information for direct marketing
 
purposes or for transfers of data to third parties.
 
 
                                                                                                                                      | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |