  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 11:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules Question: Shooting and Charging, Section 8.81 | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 3/2/2006 19:25:43 Central Standard Time,
 
shahadet_99@... writes:
 
 
This being the case, I guess my question is at what point you
 
measure  range for the shot - at the moment of the charge declaration
 
(which in  this case was 40paces, effective bow range) or after the
 
variable moves  are complete (so long range) ?>>
 
[
 
8.6 tells us: "When determining ranges for support shooting, the end
 
position of the bodies after charge and charge-response moves determines the 
 
range,"
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                                           _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 12:41 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules Question: Shooting and Charging, Section 8.81 | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 3/2/2006 20:16:08 Central Standard Time,
 
mark@... writes:
 
 
Jon, can  chargers who do not make contact in fact shoot at  evaders?>>
 
[
 
Yes.  Have since Warrior was published.  I am not trying to be  mean, but I
 
answer this question about once a month it seems...lol
 
 
J
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                                               _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 93
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 4:24 am    Post subject: Rules Question: Shooting and Charging, Section 8.81 | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Hi Jon.  Had a situation come up during a recent game that threw me
 
for a loop and was wondering if you could clarify the specifics for me.
 
 
I had a unit of LC 40 paces in front of a unit of LMI Bow.
 
 
During stage 7 of the bound, Charge Phase (pg 1 , my opponent
 
declared a charge on my LC (step a).
 
 
As my response (step b), I declared an evade.
 
 
At step c, I did my variable evade move, and my opponent rolled for
 
his variable charge distance for his LMI.  Contact was not made.
 
 
After this was done, my opponent proceeded to say he was going to
 
shoot at my LC with the LMI, quoting section 8.81 as his reasoning, to
 
boot:
 
 
8.81 Shooting and Charging
 
 
     Bodies that CHARGE or counter-charge can shoot with bow from an
 
elephant, chariot, or REAR RANK.
 
-----------------------------------------
 
 
     This is where I got thrown for a loop, because as far as I knew,
 
shooting during the charge fell under the heading of "support
 
shooting", which occurs during the Hand to Hand phase (Stage 8, step
 
a, pg 1 .
 
 
    However, my opponent (an experienced NICT player) assured me that
 
Scott had ruled that this was allowed, and the other experienced NICT
 
player that I mentioned this to said that it was so, and that a strict
 
reading of 8.81 allows any body that declars a legal, non-cancelled
 
charge, and has a rear rank with bow, to fire, because the requirement
 
to be in contact is not mentioned in 8.81, just that the shooting body
 
be charging.
 
 
---------------------------------------
 
 
    This being the case, I guess my question is at what point you
 
measure range for the shot - at the moment of the charge declaration
 
(which in this case was 40paces, effective bow range) or after the
 
variable moves are complete (so long range) ?
 
 
Thanks,
 
-Asif Chaudhry
 
 
                                                                                                                                      | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Mark Stone Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2102 Location: Buckley, WA
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 5:15 am    Post subject: Re: Rules Question: Shooting and Charging, Section 8.81 | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
--- On March 2 Asif said: ---
 
 
> At step c, I did my variable evade move, and my opponent rolled for
 
> his variable charge distance for his LMI.  Contact was not made.
 
>
 
> After this was done, my opponent proceeded to say he was going to
 
> shoot at my LC with the LMI, quoting section 8.81 as his reasoning, to
 
> boot:
 
>
 
> 8.81 Shooting and Charging
 
>
 
>     Bodies that CHARGE or counter-charge can shoot with bow from an
 
> elephant, chariot, or REAR RANK.
 
 
OK, I'm surprised. Stunned, even. I had some recollection that charges without
 
contact were treated as pursuits, and hence precluded shooting by
 
chargers/pursuers. Looking through the rules, I see nothing to that effect,
 
however, and so perhaps I'm guilty of a 7th editionism.
 
 
Jon, can chargers who do not make contact in fact shoot at evaders?
 
 
 
-Mark Stone
 
 
                                                                                                                                  | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 93
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 6:00 am    Post subject: Re: Rules Question: Shooting and Charging, Section 8.81 | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Got it - should have seen that in 8.6, but I was kind of like
 
Mark - stunned that support shooting could happen without contact.
 
 
I'll be sure to remember that next time though - bwahahaha, death to
 
those annoying skirmishing Reg HC L,B,Sh guys!!!!!
 
 
Thanks Jon!
 
 
-Asif Chaudhry
 
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@... wrote:
 
>
 
> In a message dated 3/2/2006 19:25:43 Central Standard Time,
 
> shahadet_99@... writes:
 
>
 
> This being the case, I guess my question is at what point you
 
> measure  range for the shot - at the moment of the charge
 
declaration
 
> (which in  this case was 40paces, effective bow range) or after
 
the
 
> variable moves  are complete (so long range) ?>>
 
> [
 
> 8.6 tells us: "When determining ranges for support shooting, the
 
end
 
> position of the bodies after charge and charge-response moves
 
determines the  range,"
 
>
 
> Jon
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
>
 
 
                                                                                                                                           | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 12:07 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules Question: Shooting and Charging, Section 8.81 | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 3/3/2006 07:54:14 Central Standard Time,
 
ewan.mcnay@... writes:
 
 
Naah.  This one really has been the same for the past 17 years   .>>
 
I think we're going on 20+....  ;)
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                                               _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Ewan McNay Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2780 Location: Albany, NY, US
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 4:52 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules Question: Shooting and Charging, Section 8.81 | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
On Fri, 3 Mar 2006, Mark Stone wrote:
 
> OK, I'm surprised. Stunned, even. I had some recollection that charges without
 
> contact were treated as pursuits, and hence precluded shooting by
 
> chargers/pursuers. Looking through the rules, I see nothing to that effect,
 
> however, and so perhaps I'm guilty of a 7th editionism.
 
 
Naah.  This one really has been the same for the past 17 years  .
 
 
>
 
> Jon, can chargers who do not make contact in fact shoot at evaders?
 
>
 
>
 
> -Mark Stone
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> Yahoo! Groups Links
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
 
                                                                                                                                               | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Mike Turner Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 221 Location: Leavenworth, KS
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 5:29 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules Question: Shooting and Charging, Section 8.81 | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Listen to long toothed Grandfathers Ewan, they should know!
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@... wrote:
 
>
 
> In a message dated 3/3/2006 07:54:14 Central Standard Time,
 
> ewan.mcnay@... writes:
 
>
 
> Naah.  This one really has been the same for the past 17 years   .>>
 
> I think we're going on 20+....   
 
>
 
> Jon
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
>
 
 
                                                                                                                                     | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 5:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: Rules Question: Shooting and Charging, Section 8.81 | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
I'm not the one looking like Santa, there, Grizzly...
 
 
-----Original Message-----
 
From: turner1118 <Turnerm@...>
 
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 
Sent: Fri, 03 Mar 2006 14:29:01 -0000
 
Subject: [WarriorRules] Re: Rules Question: Shooting and Charging, Section 8.81
 
 
 
Listen to long toothed Grandfathers Ewan, they should know!
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@... wrote:
 
>
 
> In a message dated 3/3/2006 07:54:14 Central Standard Time,
 
> ewan.mcnay@... writes:
 
>
 
> Naah.  This one really has been the same for the past 17 years   .>>
 
> I think we're going on 20+....   
 
>
 
> Jon
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
>
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                                                               _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |