  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 4:27 am    Post subject: Re: RULES Questions | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Hey Jon,
 
I have some questions from our Saturday Game:>>
 
Pat, I am replying on the group because I want all rules questions asked
 
here....  Really, I do.  Please.  lol
 
 
1. One buys incediary missles because his opponents army list has the ability
 
to have ditched palisades (pg. 96), but does that mean he can buy them for
 
all Temp Fortifications noted above like ditches & pits?>>
 
Yes for all TF.  No to pits, which are not TFs.
 
 
2. How is an incediary HTW adjudicated?  Are they thrown or do they just
 
figure in HTH?  Page 91 (16.11) says Incendiaries in HTH will be issued with
 
list
 
books.  However I don't remember seeing them, and besides, it looks like any
 
HTW army can buy them if the opponent has ditches, etc.>>
 
I am not aware that any of our lists has this option yet.
 
They will not be used in shooting, I can tell you that.
 
 
3. If I have Artillery that do not qualify for an advance (pg.23  4.52), then
 
if I have a 9 unit command under attack, must I advance 4 or 5 to meet
 
qualifications?>>
 
 
If you have one arty body (and no transport bodies) in a 9 body command, you
 
have to advance 4 under attack if none are already within 80p.
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                       _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 1:09 am    Post subject: Re: Rules Questions | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 6/3/2004 21:01:32 Central Daylight Time,
 
sctrac@... writes:
 
 
A unit  of Irr LI (8E 2 ranks X 4) was sitting 40 paces from a unit of enemy
 
LMI  (which was
 
located to the LI’s front at the middle line of the  table).  During the
 
March phase units started coming on the board from  a flank march and another
 
unit of enemy LMI ended it’s move 240 paces  directly to the rear of the LI.
 
BTW the LI were located at about 200 paces  from the table side edge and
 
there was
 
another enemy LMI unit located  adjacent to the unit at the LI’s front
 
further away from the table’s side  edge.
 
 
How can the LI move?>>
 
[
 
[
 
As it is now the march phase, the LI can't move, so I will suppose you mean
 
during approaches of the following bound.
 
Given that assumption, I see several ways the LI can move that does not get
 
it closer (because it is 40p from it) or further away (since this is the
 
approach phase) from the LMI.  Are you looking for an example?  if you  are,
 
here
 
are a couple:
 
1.  Turn 90 degrees facing away from the near side table edge.   This way
 
when it evades any LMI charge, it may go straight to its rear.
 
2.  Contract to the side 'most away' from the unit coming up  behind.
 
<<Approach moves say that you cannot move further away from the  closest enemy
 
defined at the beginning of the move>>
 
[
 
[
 
Yes, but you can stay the same distance away.
 
<<and both Counters and Retirement moves
 
require that you  move no closer to an enemy who is within 240 paces.>>
 
[
 
[
 
It does appear from your description that counters and retirements for  the
 
LI are now not an option.
 
<<  The LI couldn’t charge the LMI (not that they would have  wanted to)….
 
 
In that case are they stuck?>>
 
[
 
[
 
Not quite, but Warrior is specifically designed to make it suck to be
 
surrounded...lol
 
J
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                       _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Legionary
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 297
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 4:36 am    Post subject: RE: Rules Questions | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
I think maybe my questions got lost in the shuffle, so I am resending.
 
Please see below:
 
 
Thanks.
 
 
Scott A McCoppin, AIA
 
mccoppinarchitecture, pa
 
704.560.4154
 
 
-----Original Message-----
 
From: Scott & Tracie McCoppin [mailto:sctrac@...]
 
Sent: Wednesday, June 02, 2004 4:32 PM
 
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 
Subject: [WarriorRules] Rules Question
 
 
 
We had an interesting situation arise recently and we are wondering if we
 
interpreted the rules correctly.
 
 
A unit of Irr LI (8E 2 ranks X 4) was sitting 40 paces from a unit of enemy
 
LMI (which was
 
located to the LI’s front at the middle line of the table).  During the
 
March phase units started coming on the board from a flank march and another
 
unit of enemy LMI ended it’s move 240 paces directly to the rear of the LI.
 
BTW the LI were located at about 200 paces from the table side edge and
 
there was
 
another enemy LMI unit located adjacent to the unit at the LI’s front
 
further away from the table’s side edge.
 
 
How can the LI move?
 
 
Approach moves say that you cannot move further away from the closest enemy
 
defined at the beginning of the move and both Counters and Retirement moves
 
require that you move no closer to an enemy who is within 240 paces.  The LI
 
couldn’t charge the LMI (not that they would have wanted to)….
 
 
In that case are they stuck?
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
 
ADVERTISEMENT
 
click here
 
<http://rd.yahoo.com/SIG=129p59uqe/M=298184.5022502.6152625.3001176/D=groups
 
/S=1705059080:HM/EXP=1086294801/A=2164331/R=0/SIG=11eaelai9/*http://www.netf
 
lix.com/Default?mqso=60183351>
 
 
 
   _____
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
*         To visit your group on the web, go to:
 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
 
 
*         To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
<mailto:WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com?subject=Unsubscribe>
 
 
*         Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of
 
Service <http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/> .
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                             | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Steve Hollowell Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 133
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 8:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules Questions | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
When you have an offtable flank march and your command is under wait orders do
 
you still roll each turn to arrive? The way I understand it, there are no
 
arrivals with wait orders.
 
 
When a command is broken from combat during a bound, when do the retreat orders
 
take effect? Immediately? At the end of the bound? Beginning of next bound? An
 
example would be a command of 9 units, 5th one breaks during the bound, others
 
are still engaged in combat and not broken. Do they continue to fight normally
 
(assuming passing all wavers) or immediately try to break off?
 
 
Thanks in advance,
 
 
Steven Hollowell
 
 
 
---------------------------------
 
Do you Yahoo!?
 
Yahoo! Mail - 50x more storage than other providers!
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                            | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Ewan McNay Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2780 Location: Albany, NY, US
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 8:32 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules Questions | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Steven Hollowell wrote:
 
 
> When you have an offtable flank march and your command is under
 
> wait orders do you still roll each turn to arrive? The way I
 
> understand it, there are no arrivals with wait orders.
 
 
[Moreover, can a flank march unable to arrive on the opponent's table
 
side still force back a smaller flank march?  (As written, yes,
 
regardless of the answer above, I think)]
 
 
                                                                                                     | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 8:43 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules Questions | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 7/15/2004 1:23:57 PM Eastern Daylight Time, Steven Hollowell
 
<sholl202000@...> writes:
 
 
>
 
>When you have an offtable flank march and your command is under wait orders do
 
you still roll each turn to arrive? The way I understand it, there are no
 
arrivals with wait orders.>>
 
 
"4.6 COMMAND AND CONTROL OFF-TABLE
 
An off-table body has the same order as the rest of its command. If it is still
 
off-table and this order becomes WAIT,
 
HOLD, DELAY or RETREAT, that body may not enter the table unless that order
 
changes."
 
 
 
>When a command is broken from combat during a bound, when do the retreat orders
 
take effect? Immediately? At the end of the bound? Beginning of next bound? An
 
example would be a command of 9 units, 5th one breaks during the bound, others
 
are still engaged in combat and not broken. Do they continue to fight normally
 
(assuming passing all wavers) or immediately try to break off?>>
 
 
"5.151 Effects of Demoralization: In the first order phase after demoralization
 
occurs, the command's order is automatically
 
changed to RETREAT (4.51)."
 
 
J
 
 
                                                                                                        _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 8:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules Questions | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 7/15/2004 1:32:23 PM Eastern Daylight Time, Ewan McNay
 
<ewan.mcnay@...> writes:
 
 
>
 
>
 
>Steven Hollowell wrote:
 
>
 
>> When you have an offtable flank march and your command is under
 
>> wait orders do you still roll each turn to arrive? The way I
 
>> understand it, there are no arrivals with wait orders.
 
>
 
>[Moreover, can a flank march unable to arrive on the opponent's table
 
>side still force back a smaller flank march?  (As written, yes,
 
>regardless of the answer above, I think)]>>
 
 
yes.
 
 
J
 
 
                                                                                                        _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Greg Preston Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 244 Location: Newcastle, Australia
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:51 am    Post subject: rules questions | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Dear Jon,
 
 
We have a comp on down here in Oz this weekend coming.  The theme is
 
Imperial warrior armies at 1500 pts –Single list. It is pre-set terrain
 
and we are going to experiment with the use of LOTS of terrain  (8-10
 
pieces per 8 by 6 table).
 
Looks like we will have about 20 starters.
 
 
In the warm up games the following issues have arisen which I would be
 
grateful for your thoughts/rulings on.
 
 
Q1. A 6El unit of LC is 2 El wide and 3El deep. The unit is regular.
 
It is positioned parallel to the side of the table and flush against
 
the side of the table.
 
In the diagram below the E represents the table edge. LC represents the
 
LC unit and X represents the direction the LC is facing.
 
 
 
         X
 
E
 
E
 
E LC LC
 
E LC LC
 
E LC LC
 
E
 
E
 
 
During approaches, the player wishes to turn the unit to face away from
 
the edge of the table starting this movement with a 90 degree turn to
 
the right.
 
 
   Point of view  A was that the turn could not be made starting with a
 
90 degree turn, because during the turn (ie turning 90 degrees right)
 
the rear of the unit would be off table.
 
 
Point of view B was that the turn could be made as the unit would be
 
able to be completely on table at the end of its movement.
 
 
Which (if either)  is correct ?
 
 
Q2. A player has an entire command in ambush in their deployment map.
 
During the sequence of deployment (ie players placing alternate
 
commands) can the player with the command in ambush say- I have placed
 
a command (you just cant see it) -without placing any troops- and ask
 
the opponent to deploy their next command ?
 
 
 
Some scythed Chariot questions
 
 
Q3. A unit of LI is deployed almost completely within terrain which is
 
impassable to a chariot. The deployment is such that it has a very
 
small portion of one element protruding from the terrain feature into
 
Open terrain.
 
 
a) does a scythed chariot have to approach this unit if it is the
 
nearest known enemy ?
 
 
b) does a scythed chariot have to charge this unit if in charge reach ?
 
 
c) If the chariot can (has to) charge, does the LI unit need to waver
 
test ?
 
 
4.  A unit which is 1El wide moves to within frontal charge reach of 2
 
separate scythed chariots. Do both have to charge or do the rules
 
relating the –Fit- in 6.163 relating to “units” apply also to “bodies”
 
 
5. A scythed chariot is part of a flank marching command. The command
 
successfully rolls to enter and will enter in the opp. rear zone.
 
    Does the scythed chariot have to
 
a) enter the rear zone as close as possible to the nearest known enemy,
 
or
 
b) enter at any point in the rear zone ?
 
 
 
Thanks in advance,
 
 
Greg P.
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                              | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 1:11 am    Post subject: Re: rules questions | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 8/14/2004 19:39:57 Central Daylight Time,
 
edgdp@... writes:
 
 
Q1. A  6El unit of LC is 2 El wide and 3El deep. The unit is regular.
 
It is  positioned parallel to the side of the table and flush against
 
the side of  the table.
 
In the diagram below the E represents the table edge. LC  represents the
 
LC unit and X represents the direction the LC is  facing.
 
 
 
X
 
E
 
E
 
E LC LC
 
E LC  LC
 
E LC LC
 
E
 
E
 
 
During approaches, the player wishes to turn  the unit to face away from
 
the edge of the table starting this movement  with a 90 degree turn to
 
the right.
 
 
Point of view  A  was that the turn could not be made starting with a
 
90 degree turn,  because during the turn (ie turning 90 degrees right)
 
the rear of the unit  would be off table.
 
 
Point of view B was that the turn could be made as  the unit would be
 
able to be completely on table at the end of its  movement.
 
 
Which (if either)  is correct ?
 
[
 
[
 
 
B is correct.
 
 
 
 
Q2. A player has an entire command in ambush in their  deployment map.
 
During the sequence of deployment (ie players  placing alternate
 
commands) can the player with the command in ambush say-  I have placed
 
a command (you just cant see it) -without placing any  troops- and ask
 
the opponent to deploy their next command  ?>>
 
[
 
[
 
 
Yes.
 
 
 
 
 
Some scythed Chariot questions
 
 
Q3. A unit of LI is  deployed almost completely within terrain which is
 
impassable to a  chariot. The deployment is such that it has a very
 
small portion of one  element protruding from the terrain feature into
 
Open terrain.
 
 
a)  does a scythed chariot have to approach this unit if it is the
 
nearest  known enemy ?>>
 
[
 
[
 
 
Yes.  16.24 says you can only ignore bodies entirely in impassable  terrain.
 
 
 
 
b) does a scythed chariot have to charge this unit if in charge  reach ?>>
 
[
 
[
 
 
Yes, but note it would not be in charge reach unless the portion out of the
 
terrain was.
 
 
 
 
c) If the chariot can (has to) charge, does the LI unit need to  waver
 
test ?>>
 
[
 
[
 
 
Give that the only way it could charge was if it could reach the part out  of
 
terrain, yes.
 
 
 
 
4.  A unit which is 1El wide moves to within frontal  charge reach of 2
 
separate scythed chariots. Do both have to charge or do  the rules
 
relating the –Fit- in 6.163 relating to “units” apply also to 
 
“bodies”>>
 
[
 
[
 
Can't answer this one without a diagram.  But if you meant the two  chariots
 
could only reach the fron of the enemy, then yes, only one could  charge.
 
Same with any one E wide target and multiple opponents that can  only reach the
 
front.
 
 
 
 
5. A scythed chariot is part of a flank marching command. The  command
 
successfully rolls to enter and will enter in the opp. rear  zone.
 
Does the scythed chariot have to
 
a) enter the rear  zone as close as possible to the nearest known enemy,
 
or
 
b) enter at  any point in the rear zone ?>>
 
[
 
[
 
 
b)
 
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                        _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:37 pm    Post subject: Re: rules questions | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Hello, We played our first game of Warrior recently, and several rules came
 
up.>>
 
 
Quentin, it is best if questions are asked through our Warrior yahoo group
 
(WarriorRules) - that way everyone hears the answer and we have an archived
 
record of it.  I encourage you to join - it is free..
 
 
<<  1.  When two units charge each other and contact at an angle, but without
 
either being a flank charge, how do you determine which unit conforms to the
 
other.>>
 
 
Move them both 'halfway'.
 
 
<<2.  If body A charges body B, and pivoting to conform to body B would result
 
in body C being behind the flank of body A, and therefore eligible to shoot body
 
A, though body C is not prolonging the front of body B (because body B and C are
 
not parallel), does this constitute an "advantage" resulting from the pivoting
 
mechanic, and therefore something unintended, per the clarification of 6.165? >>
 
 
Yes, that clarification is designed to prevent things exactly like the situation
 
you describe.
 
 
<< If so, does this mean that the usual pivot rules should not be followed?  If
 
not, what should be done?>>
 
 
Just leave it.  If nothing else can be done, leave it unpivoted and comform/line
 
up as part of combat results.
 
 
<<3.  Are the geometric restictions on support shooting meant to be stricter on
 
the bound of a charge than on subsequent bounds?  8.82 requires that a "third
 
party" be "prolonging the front" to support shoot a charger, but 8.83 mentions
 
no such limitation. >>
 
 
Yes.
 
 
<<4.  It also seems a bit odd that "third parties" can support shoot at a
 
charging body w/ anything but Jls, but only w/ Jls on subsequent bounds.  8.83,
 
paragraph 1 says third parties can support shoot /w Jls.>>
 
 
That's not correct, but that is a poorly worded section.  The part of 8.83 about
 
JLS is designed to remove the 8.82 restriction on JLS.  Third parties can shoot
 
at a subsequent combat with anything.
 
 
<<  It also says that bodies in melee can support shoot only with bow. >>
 
 
That's chargers.  If you were charged, you can support shoot with anything but
 
JLS.
 
 
<< Is it correct, then, that "third parties" can fire into melees ONLY w/ Jls,
 
and then only during support shooting (8.13)?>>
 
 
No.
 
 
<<  Could 8.13 and 8.83 be stated more clearly>>
 
 
Yes, and I am working on it.
 
 
<<5.    Are Japanese LEHI w/ LB supposed to be able to enter skirmish formation?
 
>>
 
 
Yes.
 
 
<< The list says they are "loose order for all purposes" >>
 
 
And that is why.
 
 
Jon
 
 
                                                                                                         _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Chris Bump Legate
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 8:13 pm    Post subject: RE: Re: rules questions | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
And yet EHC who are also loose order cannot skirmish?  So essentially
 
irregular foot who derived all sense of combat worthiness are more able and
 
thus likely to retreat from a charging enemy than steppes warriors on
 
armored horses whom we know took part in "Parthian tactics"?  Seems a bit
 
contradictory.  Further, I would be really interested to hear of a source
 
that discusses Samuraui participating in the act of skirmishing in a battle
 
setting.
 
Chris
 
   -----Original Message-----
 
   From: JonCleaves@... [mailto:JonCleaves@...]
 
   Sent: Tuesday, February 22, 2005 9:37 AM
 
   To: "Quentin Cantrell"
 
   Cc: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 
   Subject: [WarriorRules] Re: rules questions
 
 
 
   Hello, We played our first game of Warrior recently, and several rules
 
came up.>>
 
 
   Quentin, it is best if questions are asked through our Warrior yahoo group
 
(WarriorRules) - that way everyone hears the answer and we have an archived
 
record of it.  I encourage you to join - it is free..
 
 
   <<  1.  When two units charge each other and contact at an angle, but
 
without either being a flank charge, how do you determine which unit
 
conforms to the other.>>
 
 
   Move them both 'halfway'.
 
 
   <<2.  If body A charges body B, and pivoting to conform to body B would
 
result in body C being behind the flank of body A, and therefore eligible to
 
shoot body A, though body C is not prolonging the front of body B (because
 
body B and C are not parallel), does this constitute an "advantage"
 
resulting from the pivoting mechanic, and therefore something unintended,
 
per the clarification of 6.165? >>
 
 
   Yes, that clarification is designed to prevent things exactly like the
 
situation you describe.
 
 
   << If so, does this mean that the usual pivot rules should not be
 
followed?  If not, what should be done?>>
 
 
   Just leave it.  If nothing else can be done, leave it unpivoted and
 
comform/line up as part of combat results.
 
 
   <<3.  Are the geometric restictions on support shooting meant to be
 
stricter on the bound of a charge than on subsequent bounds?  8.82 requires
 
that a "third party" be "prolonging the front" to support shoot a charger,
 
but 8.83 mentions no such limitation. >>
 
 
   Yes.
 
 
   <<4.  It also seems a bit odd that "third parties" can support shoot at a
 
charging body w/ anything but Jls, but only w/ Jls on subsequent bounds.
 
8.83, paragraph 1 says third parties can support shoot /w Jls.>>
 
 
   That's not correct, but that is a poorly worded section.  The part of 8.83
 
about JLS is designed to remove the 8.82 restriction on JLS.  Third parties
 
can shoot at a subsequent combat with anything.
 
 
   <<  It also says that bodies in melee can support shoot only with bow. >>
 
 
   That's chargers.  If you were charged, you can support shoot with anything
 
but JLS.
 
 
   << Is it correct, then, that "third parties" can fire into melees ONLY w/
 
Jls, and then only during support shooting (8.13)?>>
 
 
   No.
 
 
   <<  Could 8.13 and 8.83 be stated more clearly>>
 
 
   Yes, and I am working on it.
 
 
   <<5.    Are Japanese LEHI w/ LB supposed to be able to enter skirmish
 
formation? >>
 
 
   Yes.
 
 
   << The list says they are "loose order for all purposes" >>
 
 
   And that is why.
 
 
   Jon
 
 
         Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
 
 
         Get unlimited calls to
 
 
         U.S./Canada
 
 
 
 
 
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
--
 
   Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
     a.. To visit your group on the web, go to:
 
     http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
 
 
     b.. To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 
     WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
 
     c.. Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                      | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Greg Regets Imperator
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2988
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 11:19 pm    Post subject: Re: rules questions | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Didn't you watch that Tom Cruz movie ... you know, the one where he
 
stared longingly at that pretty Japanes girl for the better part of
 
an hour, but never did manage to tap it?
 
 
In that movie, when that artillery unloaded, those Samuraui were
 
skirmishing on outta there faster than you could say "tora, tora,
 
tora! ;-)
 
 
g
 
 
 
 
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "Chris Bump" <cncbump@v...>
 
wrote:
 
> And yet EHC who are also loose order cannot skirmish?  So
 
essentially
 
> irregular foot who derived all sense of combat worthiness are more
 
able and
 
> thus likely to retreat from a charging enemy than steppes warriors
 
on
 
> armored horses whom we know took part in "Parthian tactics"?  Seems
 
a bit
 
> contradictory.  Further, I would be really interested to hear of a
 
source
 
> that discusses Samuraui participating in the act of skirmishing in
 
a battle
 
> setting.
 
> Chris
 
>   -----Original Message-----
 
>   From: JonCleaves@a... [mailto:JonCleaves@a...]
 
>   Sent: Tuesday, February 22, 2005 9:37 AM
 
>   To: "Quentin Cantrell"
 
>   Cc: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 
>   Subject: [WarriorRules] Re: rules questions
 
>
 
>
 
>   Hello, We played our first game of Warrior recently, and several
 
rules
 
> came up.>>
 
>
 
>   Quentin, it is best if questions are asked through our Warrior
 
yahoo group
 
> (WarriorRules) - that way everyone hears the answer and we have an
 
archived
 
> record of it.  I encourage you to join - it is free..
 
>
 
>   <<  1.  When two units charge each other and contact at an angle,
 
but
 
> without either being a flank charge, how do you determine which unit
 
> conforms to the other.>>
 
>
 
>   Move them both 'halfway'.
 
>
 
>   <<2.  If body A charges body B, and pivoting to conform to body B
 
would
 
> result in body C being behind the flank of body A, and therefore
 
eligible to
 
> shoot body A, though body C is not prolonging the front of body B
 
(because
 
> body B and C are not parallel), does this constitute an "advantage"
 
> resulting from the pivoting mechanic, and therefore something
 
unintended,
 
> per the clarification of 6.165? >>
 
>
 
>   Yes, that clarification is designed to prevent things exactly
 
like the
 
> situation you describe.
 
>
 
>   << If so, does this mean that the usual pivot rules should not be
 
> followed?  If not, what should be done?>>
 
>
 
>   Just leave it.  If nothing else can be done, leave it unpivoted
 
and
 
> comform/line up as part of combat results.
 
>
 
>   <<3.  Are the geometric restictions on support shooting meant to
 
be
 
> stricter on the bound of a charge than on subsequent bounds?  8.82
 
requires
 
> that a "third party" be "prolonging the front" to support shoot a
 
charger,
 
> but 8.83 mentions no such limitation. >>
 
>
 
>   Yes.
 
>
 
>   <<4.  It also seems a bit odd that "third parties" can support
 
shoot at a
 
> charging body w/ anything but Jls, but only w/ Jls on subsequent
 
bounds.
 
> 8.83, paragraph 1 says third parties can support shoot /w Jls.>>
 
>
 
>   That's not correct, but that is a poorly worded section.  The
 
part of 8.83
 
> about JLS is designed to remove the 8.82 restriction on JLS.  Third
 
parties
 
> can shoot at a subsequent combat with anything.
 
>
 
>   <<  It also says that bodies in melee can support shoot only with
 
bow. >>
 
>
 
>   That's chargers.  If you were charged, you can support shoot with
 
anything
 
> but JLS.
 
>
 
>   << Is it correct, then, that "third parties" can fire into melees
 
ONLY w/
 
> Jls, and then only during support shooting (8.13)?>>
 
>
 
>   No.
 
>
 
>   <<  Could 8.13 and 8.83 be stated more clearly>>
 
>
 
>   Yes, and I am working on it.
 
>
 
>   <<5.    Are Japanese LEHI w/ LB supposed to be able to enter
 
skirmish
 
> formation? >>
 
>
 
>   Yes.
 
>
 
>   << The list says they are "loose order for all purposes" >>
 
>
 
>   And that is why.
 
>
 
>   Jon
 
>
 
>         Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
 
>
 
>         Get unlimited calls to
 
>
 
>         U.S./Canada
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> --------------------------------------------------------------------
 
--------
 
> --
 
>   Yahoo! Groups Links
 
>
 
>     a.. To visit your group on the web, go to:
 
>     http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
 
>
 
>     b.. To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 
>     WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
>
 
>     c.. Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of
 
Service.
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                       | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Mark Mallard Centurion
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 868 Location: Whitehaven, England
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 7:56 am    Post subject: Re: Rules Questions | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 13/04/2005 07:08:27 GMT Standard Time,
 
jwilkinson62@... writes:
 
 
And to  be fair too Tim, it is tough to play the rules author when intent is
 
different  than the written rules IE: Scythed Chariots. This past weekend, I
 
had to ask  Scott to come to the table to hash this out for Dave Dietrich. He
 
was playing  his Scythed chariots by the way the rule was written and not your
 
intent which  is how they must be played. Scott ruled the intent and did a
 
great job  explaining it.
 
 
 
*Would like to know more about this. In case im not playing them  right.
 
 
Also i seem to have a problem with exhausted units.
 
 
1. If a unit is on 14 fatigues and routs making it exhausted is it removed
 
this turn or next, and exactly when in the turn? Could we have this added  to
 
the turn sequence please.
 
 
2. The second area of the rules that we seem to find hard to grasp is the
 
gap/shoulder issue. How close to an enemy unit can you be and move past its
 
shoulder in an approach?
 
 
Sorry to ask such simple things, but they seem to crop up all the time  here.
 
 
mark mallard
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                            _________________ Chess, WoW. | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Mark Mallard Centurion
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 868 Location: Whitehaven, England
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules Questions | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 13/04/2005 20:41:51 GMT Standard Time,  JonCleaves@...
 
writes:
 
 
You can  get no nearer than 40p to an enemy body in an approach move, whether
 
it is the  shoulder of a gap or not.
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
 
 
** i understood, not very well tho, that sometimes you cannot get this  close
 
- it is these circumstances we are interested in. When you are pasing a  unit
 
with the intention of charging it in the flank.
 
 
mark
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                            _________________ Chess, WoW. | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules Questions | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
<< And to  be fair too Tim, it is tough to play the rules author when intent is
 
different  than the written rules IE: Scythed Chariots. This past weekend, I
 
had to ask  Scott to come to the table to hash this out for Dave Dietrich. He
 
was playing  his Scythed chariots by the way the rule was written and not your
 
intent which  is how they must be played. Scott ruled the intent and did a
 
great job  explaining it.
 
 
 
*Would like to know more about this. In case im not playing them  right.>>
 
 
I can't help you, Mark.  I don't know what the issue was.  Maybe someone who was
 
there can tell us.
 
 
<<Also i seem to have a problem with exhausted units.
 
 
1. If a unit is on 14 fatigues and routs making it exhausted is it removed
 
this turn or next, and exactly when in the turn? Could we have this added  to
 
the turn sequence please.>>
 
 
It is removed immediately after waver tests associated with its destruction
 
(5.24).
 
 
<<2. The second area of the rules that we seem to find hard to grasp is the
 
gap/shoulder issue. How close to an enemy unit can you be and move past its
 
shoulder in an approach?>>
 
 
You can get no nearer than 40p to an enemy body in an approach move, whether it
 
is the shoulder of a gap or not.
 
 
Jon
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                        _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |