 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 11:36 am Post subject: Re: Rules questions from OZ |
 |
|
In a message dated 4/24/2004 04:17:50 Central Daylight Time,
edgdp@... writes:
Q1.
Situation:
A unit of 2E Irr A Heavy cavalry is in skirmish.
It takes 2 CPF from shooting.
It has a legal charge target within its reach directly to its front.
The orders of the command are attack.
Player 1 contended that the unit could not elect to make a recall move
( skirmish formation as per 11.1) as the unit must charge (because it
is Irr A) and electing not to charge (by recalling) would put it in
violation of this condition. Therefore the unit must test.>>
The ability to avoid the waver by charging unprompted as A's only applies to
close/loose FOOT, so clearly the above is wrong.
Player 2 contended that the shooting result outcome prevented the Hvy
Cav. from charging- thus it could choose to recall and avoid the test.
Which Player is correct ?>>
Neither, in a precise sense. Player 2's contention that the Hvy Cav is
somehow 'prevented' from charging isn't right, but he is correct that he could
choose, as a body in skirmish formation, to recall to avoid the waver.
Q2.
Situation:
Player A has a command on Retreat orders. He has a 6El unit of
disordered close formation foot (which is part of the command on
retreat orders, and) within the charge reach of some enemy camels.
The unit of foot attempts to counter and fails.
Player A contends that the unit does not break on contact if charged
(as per 4.51 RETREAT bullet point 6.). he claims that the word
āretreatingā in this section implies that the unit itself must be
retreating (moving away from the enemy)rather than under retreat
orders. Being stationary is not retreating.
Player B contends that the Unit is subject to retreat orders and is
therefore retreating as fast as it can- the lack of movement is
incidental to the fact that the unit is on retreat orders.
Which player is correct ?>>
B. The word retreating is (and always has been...lol) equal to a body in a
command subject to retreat orders. There is no such thing as a 'retreat move'.
I will make this explicit in the new rulebook.
Will post full results after the second days play. We have one player
on 9pts and a few on 8pts so it should be a close finish. We are also
trailing the order cards system (write it down and turn it over) you
guys suggested- Will let you know how it goes.>>
Yes, feedback on the order cards system will be good - we are about to employ
it here as well.
Jon
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Greg Preston Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 244 Location: Newcastle, Australia
|
Posted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:15 pm Post subject: Rules questions from OZ |
 |
|
Dear Jon,
Things are going well with the Warrior comp down here in OZ. We had 20
starters for the Biblical theme comp today and a good representation of
armies. Should have 20 again for day 2 tomorrow.
Had a couple of interesting calls today whilst doing the Umpiring so
thought I would check them out. In both cases I am sure I am clear on
what should happen (hey- I made a ruling) but I promised players that
if they disagreed with a ruling and I couldn't show them something in
the rules/clarifications/previous Qs etc which specifically addressed
their concern I would run it past you.
Q1.
Situation:
A unit of 2E Irr A Heavy cavalry is in skirmish.
It takes 2 CPF from shooting.
It has a legal charge target within its reach directly to its front.
The orders of the command are attack.
Player 1 contended that the unit could not elect to make a recall move
( skirmish formation as per 11.1) as the unit must charge (because it
is Irr A) and electing not to charge (by recalling) would put it in
violation of this condition. Therefore the unit must test.
Player 2 contended that the shooting result outcome prevented the Hvy
Cav. from charging- thus it could choose to recall and avoid the test.
Which Player is correct ?
Q2.
Situation:
Player A has a command on Retreat orders. He has a 6El unit of
disordered close formation foot (which is part of the command on
retreat orders, and) within the charge reach of some enemy camels.
The unit of foot attempts to counter and fails.
Player A contends that the unit does not break on contact if charged
(as per 4.51 RETREAT bullet point 6.). he claims that the word
retreating in this section implies that the unit itself must be
retreating (moving away from the enemy)rather than under retreat
orders. Being stationary is not retreating.
Player B contends that the Unit is subject to retreat orders and is
therefore retreating as fast as it can- the lack of movement is
incidental to the fact that the unit is on retreat orders.
Which player is correct ?
Will post full results after the second days play. We have one player
on 9pts and a few on 8pts so it should be a close finish. We are also
trailing the order cards system (write it down and turn it over) you
guys suggested- Will let you know how it goes.
Cheers,
Greg Preston
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|