 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
John Murphy Legate

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
|
Posted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 2:28 am Post subject: RULES: pursuit against units already in HtH |
 |
|
An elephant unit (2E all astride 2 JLS and 1 P and 1 B) pursues an
evaporated longbow unit and contacts a dismounted knight (SHI 2HCW
backed by EHI JLS) frontally in pursuit.
On the next bound a second knight dismounts and charges, disordered,
into the elephant unit's flank. A thirds knight unit, also
dismounted but previously rallied to steady, mutually charges with a
4E MI JLS,B unit which winds up right behind the elephant.
Combat direction is from the elephant to the MI.
Now, the question came up because I forgot the disorder for the
flanking knight unit when we did the casualties. Let's just assume I
rolled up 2 so the correct event comes about.
The two dismounted knight units do 12 from the front and 18 from the
flank (in the event it was dropped to 12 but assume I rolled up to
make up the difference). The elephant unit does 29 to the knight in
front of it. So the elephant must break off or recoil. If it recoils
it slams into its own MI which is in HtH and is going to be bad
news. So the elephants break off, which they can do as being on a
square base they always have a gap to the side.
Problem is, while the frontal SHI unit futiliciously (?) pursues the
elephant, the flanking SHI unit is now sitting right in front of the
enemy MI which is the only thing it can come close to, probably not
even having a gap anymore to actually head for the elephant unit.
We, before I remembered to count my disorder and re-do (which
instead broke my darn frontal knight unit - and in fact should have
even in this case), decided the flanking SHI slammed into the MI and
would fight next bound.
But, (FINALLY THE RULES QUASTION), what happens if the MI recoils or
moves out of contact as a result of the other HtH it is fighting in
the current bound?
Now, I recognize a lot of things were done wrong here, but I can see
times where a pursuing unit, non-impetuous, can hit a body already
in HtH which has not yet resolved for the current bound.
What happens if the body makes a combat results move from its other
combat and breaks contact with the pursuers?
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 2:16 pm Post subject: Re: RULES: pursuit against units already in HtH |
 |
|
In a message dated 8/21/2004 18:29:08 Central Daylight Time,
jjmurphy@... writes:
An elephant unit (2E all astride 2 JLS and 1 P and 1 B) pursues an
evaporated longbow unit>>
[
[
Using terms that do not appear in Warrior complicates rules questions.
"Evaporated" is what? Exhausted and made to rout? Destroyed in hand to hand?
I
will assume the former.
and contacts a dismounted knight (SHI 2HCW
backed by EHI JLS) frontally in pursuit.>>
[
[
Ok.
On the next bound a second knight dismounts and charges, disordered,
into the elephant unit's flank.>>
[
[
It can't. The El is involved in a converted charge and can't itself be
charged. The rest of the question is impossible, then. I would recommend,
although painful, using another example that is legal to get to whatever your
question really was.. I did look ahead to see if I could answer anyway, but
without a diagram (which I really would prefer and would really prefer to be in
powerpoint using the file we have made specifically for this purpose instead
of ascii...) I got lost as to where everyone was.
I am sorry.
Jon
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|