Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

RULES:::Detach and charge

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2002 6:55 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES:::Detach and charge


In a message dated 10/28/2002 10:57:28 AM Eastern Standard Time, scribblerjohn
writes:

> So, Jon, one last time for me anyway.
>
> I have a unit of Viking Warriors that includes a 2-base detachment as
> part of a 4-base wide front rank.
>
> On approach, I can move the detachment forward up to its move limit.
> I can also, in approach, bring the parent unit into a legal block
> formation -- closing the hole in the front rank.
>
> Then in charge phase, assuming a legal target, my detachment can
> charge into whatever I want to kill. (Indeed, as IrrA it must charge.)>>

I don't see anything wrong rules-wise with what you said.
>
> I'm not sure if this makes sense as a tactic. I just want
> to be
> certain I understand how the rules would work.>>

Yeah, this is definitely one of those 'hypotheticals' that makes no sense to me
why someone would want to do it that way. But I see no reason why you couldn't.

J


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2002 6:57 pm    Post subject: RULES:::Detach and charge


So, Jon, one last time for me anyway.

I have a unit of Viking Warriors that includes a 2-base detachment as
part of a 4-base wide front rank.

On approach, I can move the detachment forward up to its move limit.
I can also, in approach, bring the parent unit into a legal block
formation -- closing the hole in the front rank.

Then in charge phase, assuming a legal target, my detachment can
charge into whatever I want to kill. (Indeed, as IrrA it must charge.)

I'm not sure if this makes sense as a tactic. I just want to be
certain I understand how the rules would work.

Thanks.

John Meunier

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2002 7:21 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES:::Detach and charge


JonCleaves@... wrote:

>In a message dated 10/28/2002 10:57:28 AM Eastern Standard Time, scribblerjohn
writes:
>
>> So, Jon, one last time for me anyway.
>>
>> I have a unit of Viking Warriors that includes a 2-base detachment as
>> part of a 4-base wide front rank.
>>
>> On approach, I can  move the detachment forward up to its move limit.
>> I can also, in approach, bring the parent unit into a legal block
>> formation -- closing the hole in the front rank.
>>
>> Then in charge phase, assuming a legal target, my detachment can
>> charge into whatever I want to kill. (Indeed, as IrrA it must charge.)>>
>
>I don't see anything wrong rules-wise with what you said.
>>
>> I'm not sure if this makes sense as a tactic. I just want
>> to be
>> certain I understand how the rules would work.>>
>
>Yeah, this is definitely one of those 'hypotheticals' that makes no sense to me
why someone would want to do it that way.  But I see no reason why you couldn't.
>
>J
>

It is also weird in a philosphical sense in that the detachment is not allowed
to leave if, after they are gone, the parent cannot sort itself out into a legal
formation. Why should the berserkers care? They're berserk, after all.
The problem arises from trying to apply a Warhammer Goblin paradigm which
mutated into a Warhammer Ancients simulation of berserkers and then trying to
apply the same tactics to a Warrior situation. It is hard enough to apply WFB
usage to WAB. Play Warrior as Warrior. Detachments should be.....detached!

John the OFM


>
>To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
>WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
>
>
>
>Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
>
>
>

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2002 7:35 pm    Post subject: Re: RULES:::Detach and charge


In a message dated 10/28/2002 11:21:39 AM Eastern Standard Time,
johncarroll453@... writes:

> The problem arises from trying to apply a Warhammer Goblin paradigm which
mutated into a Warhammer Ancients simulation of berserkers and then trying to
apply the same tactics to a Warrior situation. It is hard enough to apply WFB
usage to
> WAB.>>

You know, the funny thing is, since one of the requirements of Fantasy Warrior
is that every figure made has to be in a FanWar army list somewhere, we do have
a 'goblin fanatic' rule. They work much like incendiary expendables, being in
the unit until 'released'. That is in no way my interpretation of the proper
way to replicate Beserks, however.

<< Play Warrior as Warrior. >>

Amen, brother.


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group