 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2003 11:55 am Post subject: Re: RULES??? Detachments & Flank Marches |
 |
|
In a message dated 3/12/2003 07:48:57 Central Standard Time,
jjmurphy@... writes:
> Simply put, can a parent unit and its detachment, alone without the
> remainder of their command, flank march as two seperate bodies (still one
> unit within the detachment rules)?
No.
>
> 14.45 says "the only way more than one *body* may flank march is if the
> entire command does so". But then it says a flank march must be "by one
> *unit* or the entire command".
Each part of a detachment - parent pair is still one unit for this purpose.
They could only do that as part of a whole command.
Jon
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
John Murphy Legate

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1625
|
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2003 4:45 pm Post subject: RULES??? Detachments & Flank Marches |
 |
|
Had a blast at Cold Wars. Thanks to the umps, who unfortunately kicked our
butts in the first round, my teamate and all of our opponents.
Please allow me to apologize if this has been asked previously or is in a
clarification somewhere.
Simply put, can a parent unit and its detachment, alone without the
remainder of their command, flank march as two seperate bodies (still one
unit within the detachment rules)?
14.45 says "the only way more than one *body* may flank march is if the
entire command does so". But then it says a flank march must be "by one
*unit* or the entire command". It also says "detachments must flank march if
their parent does and cannot flank march unless their parent does".
The last part might imply a parent and its detachment alone can flank march
while the remainder of their command does not, and this is consistent with
the "unit or command". But it could also simply be a clarification that they
would both count as part of flank marching command and they are in violation
of the "body or command".
So, say for example you have a Byzantine command with a 2E general/bodyguard
lancer unit and two units each of which are 2E lancer parents with 2E LC bow
detachments. By the rules is any part of this command capable of flank
marching without taking the entire command? Obviously the general can not
flank march by himself.
Can the parent & detachment cheese around this one if they arrive as a
single body (i.e. un-detached as of yet) - only this brings up a whole host
of other questions which I have seen before which are usually answered by
saying the idea of detachments is to run them detached.
Also in a related question I just thought of, which I should look up before
I ask but here goes anyway, can a general's unit have a detachement and how
would the command points work if he could?
Probably a lot of hot air over a simple question. And I suppose this kind of
thing is what one gets for trying to run detachments without years of
experience with them. Thanks for your time.
P.S. This did not come up at Cold Wars, or actually in any of my previous
limited playing experience - the Byzantine detachments being a new and
possibly wonderful thing. It is something I am considering though if I do
some re-basing, grab some good infantry, and trot out my "real first
crusade" Byzantines again.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|