Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Scythed Chariot Questions continued.

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Craig Scott
Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:38 pm    Post subject: Scythed Chariot Questions continued.


During the approach phase of a turn a scythe chariot must move at
full speed to charge the nearest opponent, it must charge at the 1st
opportunity. The only exception to this, is not to deny its scythe
bonus, but try to get in charge range as quickly as possible, an
other words get at on within 120 paces as quickly as possible, as you
know they are on rush orders... No units may zig zag.

Craig (o:

--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "choppinlt" <mccoppin@c...>
wrote:
> Thanks Craig! My only response is to Question 1. I uploaded a
> diagram called Scythed Wheel in the Rule Questions folder for
> reference. 16.24 states that an expendable that faces an enemy body
> may not be turned in such a way to not be facing that enemy unit
> when within 240p and in open terrain. Since the LMI did not get
> between the LI and the chariot in any way, you could argue that the
> wheel will end up causing the chariot to not be facing the LI when
> the chariot charges since it will hit the LMI instead.
Additionally,
> any unit that wheels is intrinsically not moving it's full
> movement
> towards another unit when squarely facing each other i.e. since the
> units were 240p the chariot did not move a full 120p directly
toward
> the frontal unit (referring to being on Rush orders and 16.24 both)
> and thus could not declare a charge against the LI since the
chariot
> is technically at 121p away due to the wheel. So that brings
another
> question, as a preventive measure to keep my chariot from charging
> the LI too soon, I could zigzag? I will be the first to admit that
I
> could be reading way too much in to all of this, and could be
> missing a key element of what is going on. I just want to make sure
> I fully understand the mechanics since I am relatively
inexperienced
> and plan on being people's fodder at Historicon.
>
> Matt
>
>
>
>
>
> --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "craigshar2" <craigshar@c...>
> wrote:
> > --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "choppinlt" <mccoppin@c...>
> > wrote:
> > > I briefly looked for an answer to my questions, but could not
> find
> > > it. So I will just go ahead and ask. So I will apologize if
> these
> > > questions are redundant.
> > >
> > > Question 1: A Persian scythed chariot is perfectly lined up
with
> > the
> > > leftmost element of a unit of Cretan Archer LI at a distance of
> > 240p
> > > in open flat terrain. A unit of Greek LMI (friendly to the LI)
> > moves
> > > up beside the Cretans on their left and pull slightly ahead of
> the
> > > Cretans, but do not get between any part of the chariot's
direct
> > > path to the Cretans. The chariot then moves up 2 3/4" then
> wheels
> > > 1/4". The wheel has now oriented the chariot so the Cretans are
> > > still technically in front of them, but the Greek LMI will now
> get
> > > hit first. Was this a legal wheel? The Chariot must charge the
> > closest unit, both sound like legal targets. So the LMI get
charge
> > since they are closer.
> > >
> > > Question 2: Once a scythed chariot charges, the only movement
> > > possible for the chariot are pursuits, charges, and rout moves,
> > > correct? Burst throughs also and must be in a straight line
> also,
> > unless destroyed.
> > >
> > > Question 3: After a scythed chariot breaks through, the chariot
> is
> > > still obligated to continue charging and only straight ahead,
> > > correct? Yes, the driver(s) bailed out (o:
> > >
> > > Question 4: A fresh scythed chariot incurs 3 fatigue during the
> > > first bound it charges, and 4 fatigue every other bound till
> > > exhausted, correct? Impetous HCh incurs 4 fatigue and 5 their
> after
> > unless in pursuit contact.
> >
> > Craig

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group