| 
			
				|  | Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
 |  
 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic |  
		| Author | Message |  
		| Tim Brown Legionary
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 326
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2003 4:14 pm    Post subject: Support shooting |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Had an interesting question asked of me last night. Ambrose C was
 running his Teutons in a 6 SHK & 3 HC formation, the knights had just
 pushed back some LMI and had expanded into 2 knight elements across
 with the HC behind , the whole body thus shaped like a L . 2nd turn,
 I want to support shoot into the combat as a third party. I happen to
 be off to his left about 80 paces from a SHK element and roughly 170
 paces from the HC. I'm eligible to shoot because the HC aren't in
 base in base contact. The question is: Do I measure range to the HC
 or the nearest part of the body? Do I take into effect visibility to
 the HC -can the SHK in contact in effect 'block' LOS to the HC if so ?
 John?
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 6:04 pm    Post subject: Re: Support shooting |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 6/23/2003 08:16:35 Central Daylight Time,
 browntj007@... writes:
 
 > Had an interesting question asked of me last night. Ambrose C was
 > running his Teutons in a 6 SHK &3 HC formation, the knights had just
 > pushed back some LMI and had expanded into 2 knight elements across
 > with the HC behind , the whole body thus shaped like a L . 2nd turn,
 > I want to support shoot into the combat as a third party. I happen to
 > be off to his left about 80 paces from a SHK element and roughly 170
 > paces from the HC. I'm eligible to shoot because the HC aren't in
 > base in base contact. The question is: Do I measure range to the HC
 > or the nearest part of the body? Do I take into effect visibility to
 > the HC -can the SHK in contact in effect 'block' LOS to the HC if so ?
 > John?
 >
 
 8.3 says a visible element must not be in contact in order to be shot while
 in hth.  The HC must be visible and the SHK could be what blocks LOS to that
 element.  The range is the range from the shooting element to the target
 element, so the Hc in this case.
 
 J
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Patrick Byrne Centurion
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1433
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 8:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Support shooting |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Follow-up questions:
 He had a 3 element body SHK, SHK, HC?
 
 I don't think the rear rank there can elect to stay in the rear rank.  I
 think only the rear rank can perform the expansion.  Jon is this right?
 Expanding is not just a reconfiguration of troops, it is only moving rear
 elements to the sides. correct?
 
 -PB
 
 > From: "browntj007" <browntj007@...>
 > Reply-To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 > Date: Mon, 23 Jun 2003 13:14:55 -0000
 > To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 > Subject: [WarriorRules] Support shooting
 >
 > Had an interesting question asked of me last night. Ambrose C was
 > running his Teutons in a 6 SHK & 3 HC formation, the knights had just
 > pushed back some LMI and had expanded into 2 knight elements across
 > with the HC behind , the whole body thus shaped like a L . 2nd turn,
 > I want to support shoot into the combat as a third party. I happen to
 > be off to his left about 80 paces from a SHK element and roughly 170
 > paces from the HC. I'm eligible to shoot because the HC aren't in
 > base in base contact. The question is: Do I measure range to the HC
 > or the nearest part of the body? Do I take into effect visibility to
 > the HC -can the SHK in contact in effect 'block' LOS to the HC if so ?
 > John?
 >
 >
 >
 >
 > ------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
 > Get A Free Psychic Reading! Your Online Answer To Life's Important Questions.
 > http://us.click.yahoo.com/Lj3uPC/Me7FAA/ySSFAA/IMSolB/TM
 > ---------------------------------------------------------------------~->
 >
 > To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 > WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
 >
 >
 >
 > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
 >
 >
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 --------------------------------------------------------
 
 
 This message is for the designated recipient only and may contain confidential,
 privileged, proprietary, or otherwise private information. If you have received
 this message in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete the
 message. Any other use, disclosure or publication of the message by you is
 prohibited.
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 9:16 pm    Post subject: Re: Support shooting |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 6/24/2003 12:21:30 Central Daylight Time, cuan@...
 writes:
 
 > I don't think the rear rank there can elect to stay in the rear rank.  I
 > think only the rear rank can perform the expansion.  Jon is this right?
 > Expanding is not just a reconfiguration of troops, it is only moving rear
 > elements to the sides. correct?
 >
 
 6.123 first sentence: "In an expansion, a body takes up to two elements from
 the rear rank(s) and places them in the front rank.  The body is then formed
 into a block. "
 
 What he did was fine.
 
 Jon
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Tim Brown Legionary
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 326
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 10:07 pm    Post subject: Re: Support shooting |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| The Knight unit was originally in a single element column that
 charged, then expanded in the follow up - SHK,SHK,HC. In an
 expansion, if I recall correctly, you don't have to maintain even
 ranks even if regulars. Why could the HC NOT elect to stay in the
 rear in this case? The original question remains, however.
 
 
 --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, "Patrick" <cuan@w...> wrote:
 > Follow-up questions:
 > He had a 3 element body SHK, SHK, HC?
 >
 > I don't think the rear rank there can elect to stay in the rear
 rank.  I
 > think only the rear rank can perform the expansion.  Jon is this
 right?
 > Expanding is not just a reconfiguration of troops, it is only
 moving rear
 > elements to the sides. correct?
 >
 > -PB
 >
 > > From: "browntj007" <browntj007@y...>
 > > Reply-To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 > > Date: Mon, 23 Jun 2003 13:14:55 -0000
 > > To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 > > Subject: [WarriorRules] Support shooting
 > >
 > > Had an interesting question asked of me last night. Ambrose C was
 > > running his Teutons in a 6 SHK & 3 HC formation, the knights had
 just
 > > pushed back some LMI and had expanded into 2 knight elements
 across
 > > with the HC behind , the whole body thus shaped like a L . 2nd
 turn,
 > > I want to support shoot into the combat as a third party. I
 happen to
 > > be off to his left about 80 paces from a SHK element and roughly
 170
 > > paces from the HC. I'm eligible to shoot because the HC aren't in
 > > base in base contact. The question is: Do I measure range to the
 HC
 > > or the nearest part of the body? Do I take into effect visibility
 to
 > > the HC -can the SHK in contact in effect 'block' LOS to the HC if
 so ?
 > > John?
 > >
 > >
 > >
 > >
 > > ------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor -------------------
 --~-->
 > > Get A Free Psychic Reading! Your Online Answer To Life's
 Important Questions.
 > > http://us.click.yahoo.com/Lj3uPC/Me7FAA/ySSFAA/IMSolB/TM
 > > ------------------------------------------------------------------
 ---~->
 > >
 > > To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 > > WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
 > >
 > >
 > >
 > > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to
 http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
 > >
 > >
 >
 >
 >
 >
 >
 >
 >
 >
 >
 > --------------------------------------------------------
 >
 >
 > This message is for the designated recipient only and may contain
 confidential, privileged, proprietary, or otherwise private
 information. If you have received this message in error, please
 notify the sender immediately and delete the message. Any other use,
 disclosure or publication of the message by you is prohibited.
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 1:52 am    Post subject: Re: Support shooting |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 6/24/2003 18:28:30 Central Daylight Time, cuan@...
 writes:
 
 > Sorry for the misunderstanding.  It sounded like the HC, which started in
 > the back rank, when expanding did not go to the front rank but instead
 > remained in the back rank, whilst the knight in the 2nd rank assumed the
 > expanding element spot.  Which would, of course, be contrary to the rule
 > written below.
 > -PB
 >
 
 That is not correct, Pat.  "Rear rank(s)" and then "formed into a block"
 means it could happen either way.
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Patrick Byrne Centurion
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1433
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 2:28 am    Post subject: Re: Support shooting |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Sorry for the misunderstanding.  It sounded like the HC, which started in
 the back rank, when expanding did not go to the front rank but instead
 remained in the back rank, whilst the knight in the 2nd rank assumed the
 expanding element spot.  Which would, of course, be contrary to the rule
 written below.
 -PB
 
 ----- Original Message -----
 From: <JonCleaves@...>
 To: <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com>
 Sent: Tuesday, June 24, 2003 5:16 PM
 Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] Support shooting
 
 
 > In a message dated 6/24/2003 12:21:30 Central Daylight Time, cuan@...
 > writes:
 >
 > > I don't think the rear rank there can elect to stay in the rear rank.  I
 > > think only the rear rank can perform the expansion.  Jon is this right?
 > > Expanding is not just a reconfiguration of troops, it is only moving
 rear
 > > elements to the sides. correct?
 > >
 >
 > 6.123 first sentence: "In an expansion, a body takes up to two elements
 from
 > the rear rank(s) and places them in the front rank.  The body is then
 formed
 > into a block. "
 >
 > What he did was fine.
 >
 > Jon
 >
 >
 > [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 >
 >
 >
 > To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 > WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
 >
 >
 >
 > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
 >
 >
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Patrick Byrne Centurion
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1433
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 3:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Support shooting |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| So as a rule, with regards to expanding in general, what is prohibited? or
 what is non-legal?
 -PB
 
 > From: JonCleaves@...
 > Reply-To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 > Date: Tue, 24 Jun 2003 22:52:09 EDT
 > To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 > Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] Support shooting
 >
 > In a message dated 6/24/2003 18:28:30 Central Daylight Time, cuan@...
 > writes:
 >
 >> Sorry for the misunderstanding.  It sounded like the HC, which started in
 >> the back rank, when expanding did not go to the front rank but instead
 >> remained in the back rank, whilst the knight in the 2nd rank assumed the
 >> expanding element spot.  Which would, of course, be contrary to the rule
 >> written below.
 >> -PB
 >>
 >
 > That is not correct, Pat.  "Rear rank(s)" and then "formed into a block"
 > means it could happen either way.
 >
 >
 > [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 >
 >
 > ------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
 > Get A Free Psychic Reading! Your Online Answer To Life's Important Questions.
 > http://us.click.yahoo.com/Lj3uPC/Me7FAA/ySSFAA/IMSolB/TM
 > ---------------------------------------------------------------------~->
 >
 > To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 > WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
 >
 >
 >
 > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
 >
 >
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 --------------------------------------------------------
 
 
 This message is for the designated recipient only and may contain confidential,
 privileged, proprietary, or otherwise private information. If you have received
 this message in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete the
 message. Any other use, disclosure or publication of the message by you is
 prohibited.
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 11:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Support shooting |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 6/25/2003 07:39:18 Central Daylight Time, cuan@...
 writes:
 
 > So as a rule, with regards to expanding in general, what is prohibited? or
 > what is non-legal?
 >
 
 Well, I don't have time for every single illegality, but here's a couple:
 
 -touching one of the original front rank elements in any way as part of the
 expansion move
 -expanding more than two elements (unless with two maneuvers)
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		|  |  
  
	| 
 
 | You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 You cannot edit your posts in this forum
 You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 You cannot attach files in this forum
 You cannot download files in this forum
 
 |  
 Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
 
 |