| 
			
				|  | Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
 |  
 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic |  
		| Author | Message |  
		| Chris Bump Legate
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1625
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 4:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: two rules questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 11/15/2002 11:47:11 AM Central Standard Time,
 damourc@... writes:
 
 
 > While I'm at it, does anyone fight with Pikes in more than two ranks?
 >      Yes they do.  Indeed, I have more often seen pikemen deployed 4 deep
 > than otherwise.  Having said that, going two deep often makes sense in
 > game terms and is an historical deployment in my (not so) humble opinion.
 
 
 Definitely do fight 4 deep with the Swiss.  They get to expand into that
 desireable line while following up.  Lots of folks like John Green keep their
 32 man pike blocks in 4x2 lines.  Helps with casualties and acts more like
 moveable terrain.  Selucids I tend to fight in line, because I need to take
 up board space often.
 Chris
 
 
 
 
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Mark Stone Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 2102
 Location: Buckley, WA
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 6:13 pm    Post subject: two rules questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| I have a couple of questions, one a genuine rules question, and one a tournament
 rules question.
 
 Tournaments:
 
 I know that in two-list tournaments your army has to be from the same
 period/year. What I'm wondering about is lists that say things like "troops A
 cannot be used with troops B".
 
 Does this mean that I can't have both A and B on the same list (obviously it
 means at least this), or does it mean that if I have a list with A, my other
 list cannot have B, and vice versa?
 
 A typical example would be Russ, Dark Ages #30, which says: "Pecheneg and Bulgar
 allies cannot be used together". Does that mean I can have one list with
 Pechenegs and one with Bulgars, or that for both lists I have to make a choice
 between Pechenegs and Bulgars?
 
 Rules:
 
 My question concerns combat results, section 11.212, "Winning and Losing". Let
 me set the context first.
 
 As a guy who plays primarily knight armies, I'm often confronted with a
 situation in which my cavalry can beat a pike block straight up on the first
 bound, but only just or lose, but only just. I often have foot who, if I can get
 them going impetuously, but cannot recoil a pike block on bound one, taking away
 their follow up bonus on the subsequent bound. A tactic to get around this is to
 have the foot and cavalry charge the pike block together, since the cavalry
 cause the pike to recoil, and in follow up the foot have the staying power to
 win out.
 
 So here's a particular situation:
 I'm facing a 32 figure MI pike block frontally, deployed in two ranks. I charge
 it impetuously with 6 EHK L,Sh in two ranks, and 16 HI LTS,Sh in two ranks.
 Everyone rolls even.
 Pikes vs. knights: the pikes do 8@4=24; the knights do 5@5=20.
 Pikes vs. LTS: the pikes do 16@2=32; the LTS do 16@3=40.
 Pikes: take 60 overall, deal out 56 overall, they lose and take at least 1 CPF
 LTS: take 32 overall, deal out 40 overall, they win
 Knights: take 24 overall, deal out 20 overall, they lose
 
 I'm very clear on what happens to the knights. They must either break off or
 recoil, and I'd choose to have them recoil.
 
 It's what happens to the pikes that is at issue. I have had _many_ players -- it
 feels like every pike player I've ever fought -- argue that the pikes do not
 recoil, because they did not lose to mounted. However, that's _not_ what the
 rule says. The rule states:
 "A body that receives more hand-to-hand casualties than it inflicted and at
 least 1 CPF is destroyed if artillery, or if exhausted. If not foot fighting
 mounted troops recoil and become disordered, unless the mounted break-off or
 rout."
 
 My reading is that the pike were fighting mounted, and did lose while taking at
 least 1 CPF, and the mounted did not break off or rout, hence the pike recoil
 disordered, and the LTS follow up. My reading is that if the intention were that
 the pikes not recoil in this situation, the rule would read "unless the mounted
 lose."
 
 So I guess I'm not looking for clarification so much as affirmation that the
 rule means what it says. Jon?
 
 
 -Mark Stone
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 6:27 pm    Post subject: Re: two rules questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| ok, Mark, I have cut in your situation so everyone can follow along.
 
 <<So here's a particular situation:
 I'm facing a 32 figure MI pike block frontally, deployed in two ranks. I charge
 it impetuously with 6 EHK L,Sh in two ranks, and 16 HI LTS,Sh in two ranks.
 Everyone rolls even.
 Pikes vs. knights: the pikes do 8@4=24; the knights do 5@5=20.
 Pikes vs. LTS: the pikes do 16@2=32; the LTS do 16@3=40.
 Pikes: take 60 overall, deal out 56 overall, they lose and take at least 1 CPF
 LTS: take 32 overall, deal out 40 overall, they win
 Knights: take 24 overall, deal out 20 overall, they lose
 
 I'm very clear on what happens to the knights. They must either break off or
 recoil,>>
 
 Good so far.
 
 << and I'd choose to have them recoil.>>
 
 Up to you, but I see why you'd choose that in this case.
 
 <<It's what happens to the pikes that is at issue. I have had _many_ players --
 it
 feels like every pike player I've ever fought -- argue that the pikes do not
 recoil, because they did not lose to mounted. However, that's _not_ what the
 rule says. The rule states:
 "A body that receives more hand-to-hand casualties than it inflicted and at
 least 1 CPF is destroyed if artillery, or if exhausted. If not foot fighting
 mounted troops recoil and become disordered, unless the mounted break-off or
 rout."
 
 My reading is that the pike were fighting mounted, and did lose while taking at
 least 1 CPF, and the mounted did not break off or rout, hence the pike recoil
 disordered, and the LTS follow up. My reading is that if the intention were that
 the pikes not recoil in this situation, the rule would read "unless the mounted
 lose."
 
 So I guess I'm not looking for clarification so much as affirmation that the
 rule means what it says. Jon?>>
 
 You are correct.  It specifically says 'fighting mounted' and not 'lost to
 mounted' for that reason.  In this case the P would recoil disordered.
 
 A note to all: if you are off on your own and don't have a clarification handy -
 READ WARRIOR LITERALLY.  It takes care of 99.9% of issues.  This is an excellent
 example: 11.212 says 'fighting mounted' not 'lost to mounted' for a very good
 reason and it means exactly what it says.
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Recruit
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 104
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 7:26 pm    Post subject: Re: two rules questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| > <<So here's a particular situation:
 > I'm facing a 32 figure MI pike block frontally, deployed in two
 ranks. I charge
 > it impetuously with 6 EHK L,Sh in two ranks, and 16 HI LTS,Sh in
 two ranks.
 
 
 NO, I don't have my rules with me right now.
 
 I thought mounted and foot couldn't charge the same enemy at the same
 time.
 
 Am I just remembering TOG or making stuff up?
 
 While I'm at it, does anyone fight with Pikes in more than two ranks?
 
 John Meunier
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 7:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: two rules questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| <<I thought mounted and foot couldn't charge the same enemy at the same time.>>
 
 Mounted and NON-IMPETUOUS foot.
 
 <<Am I just remembering TOG or making stuff up?>>
 
 :)
 
 <While I'm at it, does anyone fight with Pikes in more than two ranks?>>
 
 I do.
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| 
 
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 0
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 8:07 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: two rules questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| > <While I'm at it, does anyone fight with Pikes in more than
 > two ranks?>>
 
 I try to.  It's a work in progress though
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Chris Damour Legionary
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 444
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 8:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: two rules questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Since I wish to avoid the punishment booth, I'll let Jon answer the
 "rules question".  <<grin>>
 
 On Fri, 15 Nov 2002, scribblerm wrote:
 > NO, I don't have my rules with me right now.
 >
 > I thought mounted and foot couldn't charge the same enemy at the same
 > time.
 >
 > Am I just remembering TOG or making stuff up?
 >
 > While I'm at it, does anyone fight with Pikes in more than two ranks?
 Yes they do.  Indeed, I have more often seen pikemen deployed 4 deep
 than otherwise.  Having said that, going two deep often makes sense in
 game terms and is an historical deployment in my (not so) humble opinion.
 
 --
 Chris Damour
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Don Coon Imperator
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 2742
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 9:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: two rules questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| > While I'm at it, does anyone fight with Pikes in more than two ranks?
 >
 > John Meunier
 
 Depends on what I am facing. When there is a preponderance of enemy cav I
 usually thin my line out two ranks deep to maximize frontage.  If I am
 facing impetuous capable foot I do the same.  When I manage to get sqaured
 away on reg foot or uneasy/tired Irr foot however, I usually go 4 deep.
 
 Don
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Patrick Byrne Centurion
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1433
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 9:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: two rules questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| I think the awesome-ness of the Pike is this ability to fight 2 or 4 ranks
 deep.
 -PB
 
 > From: <jjendon@...>
 > Reply-To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
 > Date: Fri, 15 Nov 2002 12:50:45 -0600
 > To: <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com>
 > Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] Re: two rules questions
 >
 >
 >> While I'm at it, does anyone fight with Pikes in more than two ranks?
 >>
 >> John Meunier
 >
 > Depends on what I am facing. When there is a preponderance of enemy cav I
 > usually thin my line out two ranks deep to maximize frontage.  If I am
 > facing impetuous capable foot I do the same.  When I manage to get sqaured
 > away on reg foot or uneasy/tired Irr foot however, I usually go 4 deep.
 >
 > Don
 >
 >
 >
 > To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 > WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
 >
 >
 >
 > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
 >
 >
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Recruit
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 100
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sat Nov 16, 2002 12:13 am    Post subject: Re: two rules questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| What about the line -
 Other pike armed foot recoil if already disordered, otherwise become
 disordered. Three lines down.
 How does that play into the mixed charge scenerio?
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sat Nov 16, 2002 12:46 am    Post subject: Re: two rules questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 11/15/2002 20:14:48 Central Standard Time,
 parrishbob@... writes:
 
 > What about the line -
 > Other pike armed foot recoil if already disordered, otherwise become
 > disordered. Three lines down.
 
 'Other' in that sentence is literal - meaning other than any foot mentioned
 in any line before this one.
 
 This is also true in all places where 'other' appears in a list.
 
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| scott holder Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 30 Mar 2006
 Posts: 6079
 Location: Bonnots Mill, MO
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Tue Nov 19, 2002 6:46 pm    Post subject: Re: two rules questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Does this mean that I can't have both A and B on the same list (obviously it m
 eans at least this), or does it mean that if I have a list with A, my other li
 st cannot have B, and vice versa?
 A typical example would be Russ, Dark Ages #30, which says: "Pecheneg and Bulg
 ar allies cannot be used together". Does that mean I can have one list with Pe
 chenegs and one with Bulgars, or that for both lists I have to make a choice b
 etween Pechenegs and Bulgars?
 
 >The "can't be used together" clause indicates either the armies were used in
 different years or very different geographic areas.  As such, if you play in a
 two-list tourney, you must choose between Pechenegs or Bulgars and can't have
 one in one list and the other in the other list.  If that clause isn't in the
 re, then you could have one list with one ally and another list with the other
 .
 
 >Very good question.  This brings up a point.  The Theme tourneys (and Doubles
 tourney) next year will be ONE list tournaments (although the Theme tourneys
 might be a campaign theme in which case it's still one 1600 point list but whi
 ch 1200 points you deploy each round could differ).  The Mini at Hcon and NICT
 /Open at Hcon will still be 2 list tourneys although I'm moving toward limitin
 g those but don't want to do everything in one year.  Plus I want to gauge how
 one list tourneys work before I institute some widespread change.
 
 >I also want to emphasize that how people do this at their own events is entir
 ely there own bidness.
 
 scott
 list ho
 ump ho
 
 
 _________________
 These Rules Suck, Let's Paint!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Steve Hollowell Recruit
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 133
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 5:08 pm    Post subject: Two rules questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| First, (see high speed diagram below ) if one LI unit evades the charge of
 another to its rear at what point to they pop through and successfully evade the
 charger. In this example, GG rolls short in brush, BG rolls normal in brush. All
 of the back element of GG is able to interpenetrate Knights, only the front edge
 of the front element of GG is able to interpenetrate the Knights. Does BG catch
 GG?
 
 BGBGBG
 
 GGGGGG
 
 Knights
 
 
 
 Question 2
 
 
 
 A light cav unit charges a LI unit, the LI unit shakes on the waver test. Combat
 happens, the LC doesn't do one CPF and chooses to break off. The LI unit changes
 states from Shaken to Disordered. During the next approach phase, the disordered
 LI approaches. Is this a legal approach or are they required to rally?
 
 Thanks in advance and I am still waiting on the painted MP.
 
 Learning new rules the hard way,
 
 SH
 
 
 ---------------------------------
 Do you Yahoo!?
 vote.yahoo.com - Register online to vote today!
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 5:16 pm    Post subject: Re: Two rules questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| First, (see high speed diagram below ) if one LI unit evades the charge of
 another to its rear at what point to they pop through and successfully evade the
 charger. In this example, GG rolls short in brush, BG rolls normal in brush. All
 of the back element of GG is able to interpenetrate Knights, only the front edge
 of the front element of GG is able to interpenetrate the Knights. Does BG catch
 GG?
 
 BGBGBG
 
 GGGGGG
 
 Knights>>
 [
 By your description, Steve, BG does not catch GG.  If there was a rank that did
 not get inot the kinghts, then that would stay on the charger's side and if the
 charger could catch that rank, it would fight there.
 
 
 
 <<Question 2
 
 A light cav unit charges a LI unit, the LI unit shakes on the waver test. Combat
 happens, the LC doesn't do one CPF and chooses to break off. The LI unit changes
 states from Shaken to Disordered. During the next approach phase, the disordered
 LI approaches. Is this a legal approach or are they required to rally? >>
 
 They need to rally first, which will complete in the end phase.
 
 <<Thanks in advance and I am still waiting on the painted MP.>>
 
 I'll have him for you this weekend.  I am sorry you still feel you need
 him....lol
 
 J
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| Steve Hollowell Recruit
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 133
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 5:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Two rules questions |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| JonCleaves@... wrote:
 First, (see high speed diagram below ) if one LI unit evades the charge of
 another to its rear at what point to they pop through and successfully evade the
 charger. In this example, GG rolls short in brush, BG rolls normal in brush. All
 of the back element of GG is able to interpenetrate Knights, only the front edge
 of the front element of GG is able to interpenetrate the Knights. Does BG catch
 GG?
 
 BGBGBG
 
 GGGGGG
 
 Knights>>
 [
 By your description, Steve, BG does not catch GG. If there was a rank that did
 not get inot the kinghts, then that would stay on the charger's side and if the
 charger could catch that rank, it would fight there.
 
 
 <
 A light cav unit charges a LI unit, the LI unit shakes on the waver test. Combat
 happens, the LC doesn't do one CPF and chooses to break off. The LI unit changes
 states from Shaken to Disordered. During the next approach phase, the disordered
 LI approaches. Is this a legal approach or are they required to rally? >>
 
 They need to rally first, which will complete in the end phase.
 
 SH - Ok, this is what I thought, but I am not sure why they need to rally...
 meaning I couldn't back up my argument!  :(
 
 <>
 
 I'll have him for you this weekend. I am sorry you still feel you need
 him....lol
 
 SH - I am getting better with it, but Light Cav still seems to want to hang out
 in intersections despite my installation of traffic signals.
 
 J
 
 
 
 
 Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 __________________________________________________
 Do You Yahoo!?
 Tired of spam?  Yahoo! Mail has the best spam protection around
 http://mail.yahoo.com
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		|  |  
  
	| 
 
 | You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 You cannot edit your posts in this forum
 You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 You cannot attach files in this forum
 You cannot download files in this forum
 
 |  
 Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
 
 |