 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Kelly Wilkinson Dictator

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 4172 Location: Raytown, MO
|
Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 10:34 pm Post subject: Re: Two rules questions |
 |
|
Jon,
In the second set of circumstances that Steve refers to, there is no bullet
under Mandatory Rally's that covers that situation unless I'm mistaken which
could be the case. Which would allow the LI to move in the next bound since
their disorder is not mandatory. What do you think based on the written rule.
Anymore, I take your word for how it "should be." But when I go to play in
tournaments other than here, they go by the written rules and that's where I get
tripped up (remember the elephant thing at Historicon).
Respectfully,
kelly
JonCleaves@... wrote:
First, (see high speed diagram below ) if one LI unit evades the charge of
another to its rear at what point to they pop through and successfully evade the
charger. In this example, GG rolls short in brush, BG rolls normal in brush. All
of the back element of GG is able to interpenetrate Knights, only the front edge
of the front element of GG is able to interpenetrate the Knights. Does BG catch
GG?
BGBGBG
GGGGGG
Knights>>
[
By your description, Steve, BG does not catch GG. If there was a rank that did
not get inot the kinghts, then that would stay on the charger's side and if the
charger could catch that rank, it would fight there.
<<Question 2
A light cav unit charges a LI unit, the LI unit shakes on the waver test. Combat
happens, the LC doesn't do one CPF and chooses to break off. The LI unit changes
states from Shaken to Disordered. During the next approach phase, the disordered
LI approaches. Is this a legal approach or are they required to rally? >>
They need to rally first, which will complete in the end phase.
<<Thanks in advance and I am still waiting on the painted MP.>>
I'll have him for you this weekend. I am sorry you still feel you need
him....lol
J
Yahoo! Groups SponsorADVERTISEMENT
---------------------------------
Yahoo! Groups Links
To visit your group on the web, go to:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
---------------------------------
Do you Yahoo!?
vote.yahoo.com - Register online to vote today!
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll down and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mark Stone Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2102 Location: Buckley, WA
|
Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 11:05 pm Post subject: re: Two rules questions |
 |
|
--- On September 24 Kelly Wilkinson said: ---
> In the second set of circumstances that Steve refers to, there is no bullet
> under Mandatory Rally's that covers that situation unless I'm mistaken which
> could be the case. Which would allow the LI to move in the next bound since
> their disorder is not mandatory
Kelly's right about this, and indeed I've always regarded this as a pretty
fundamental part of the dynamics of charges/hth combat. If you don't think you
can charge somebody and stick to them, then you'd better think twice about
charging at all since the recipient can then approach without rallying. What
the LI _cannot_ do is follow up or pursue -- per "foot receiving a mounted
charge" -- but I don't see any reason to think the LI would be required to
rally.
Jon, I know you always say you're just "clarifying" the rules, not actually
changing them, but what exactly would you be clarifying here? The mandatory
rally requirements seem to (a) be crystal clear and (b) impose no rally
requirement in this situation.
To my mind this crosses the line to a rules change revoking a well established
practice, and I urge you, Jon, not to do it.
-Mark Stone
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 11:24 pm Post subject: re: Two rules questions |
 |
|
Jon, I know you always say you're just "clarifying" the rules, not actually
changing them, but what exactly would you be clarifying here? The mandatory
rally requirements seem to (a) be crystal clear and (b) impose no rally
requirement in this situation.>>
Ok, I must have misread something here. the LI can't get rid of that disorder
and also make an approach. But if the question is can they make an approach and
just keep the disorder, then yes, they can. It might be best, Mark, if you went
and put out a simple statement of the question again so I can stop and take a
breath and make sure I am answering the right thing. Sorry for any confusion.
J
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mark Stone Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2102 Location: Buckley, WA
|
Posted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 12:08 am Post subject: re: Two rules questions |
 |
|
--- On September 24, Jon Cleaves said: ---
> It might be best, Mark, if you went
> and put out a simple statement of the question again so I can stop and take a
> breath and make sure I am answering the right thing. Sorry for any confusion.
Sure. Wasn't my question originally, but here's my understanding:
On Bound N: A light cavalry unit charges a light infantry unit in the open. The
LI unit takes its waver test for being charged in the open by mounted, and
fails. In the ensuing hand-to-hand combat, the light cavalry unit fails to do 1
CPF, and elects to break off. Because all of the LI's hand to hand opponents
have broken off, the LI reverts from shaken to disordered.
The question, then, concerns Bound N+1: Can the LI forgo rallying from disorder
to instead make an approach move?
My assumption about such situations has always been that while the LI is indeed
suffering from a rally-cured cause of disorder -- only rallying will get it to
steady -- nonetheless it is _not_ in a mandatory rally situation, and hence may
opt to make an approach move in lieu of rallying.
-Mark Stone
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Sat Sep 25, 2004 12:13 am Post subject: re: Two rules questions |
 |
|
The question, then, concerns Bound N+1: Can the LI forgo rallying from disorder
to instead make an approach move?>>
Yes. It didn't pursue and its opponents were not destroyed. i screwed up
thinking the question was could the LI approach and recover from disorder - the
answer to that is no. If, in that situation, someone wanted to move the LI and
keep it disordered, then sure.
<<My assumption about such situations has always been that while the LI is
indeed
suffering from a rally-cured cause of disorder -- only rallying will get it to
steady -- nonetheless it is _not_ in a mandatory rally situation, and hence may
opt to make an approach move in lieu of rallying.>>
That is all correct.
Sorry for any confusion.
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Kelly Wilkinson Dictator

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 4172 Location: Raytown, MO
|
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 5:30 am Post subject: re: Two rules questions |
 |
|
Jon and Mark,
Thanks for the help in this matter.
Sincerely,
kelly
JonCleaves@... wrote:
Jon, I know you always say you're just "clarifying" the rules, not actually
changing them, but what exactly would you be clarifying here? The mandatory
rally requirements seem to (a) be crystal clear and (b) impose no rally
requirement in this situation.>>
Ok, I must have misread something here. the LI can't get rid of that disorder
and also make an approach. But if the question is can they make an approach and
just keep the disorder, then yes, they can. It might be best, Mark, if you went
and put out a simple statement of the question again so I can stop and take a
breath and make sure I am answering the right thing. Sorry for any confusion.
J
Yahoo! Groups SponsorADVERTISEMENT
---------------------------------
Yahoo! Groups Links
To visit your group on the web, go to:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
---------------------------------
Do you Yahoo!?
vote.yahoo.com - Register online to vote today!
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll down and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|