| View previous topic :: View next topic | 
	
	
		| Author | Message | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 12:19 am    Post subject: Re: Warrior 12/14 |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 9/22/2004 20:10:00 Central Daylight Time,
 mark@... writes:
 
 The new  wording you've just given us
 provides a clear definition:
 
 "Cover,  linear feature (7.4, 8.93)    All of the closest facing of each
 element (s)
 of the target body nearest to the shooting element must have  the feature
 between
 itself and the shooting element to count as protected  by cover."
 
 However, a consequence of this wording is that if I have my  shooters lined up
 directly behind my TF, then everyone I shoot at counts as  in cover from me.
 Is
 that indeed your intent?>>
 No.  To benefit from a TF you have to be in contact with it.   This is
 obvious of course, but we will add pages to protect the innocent from  rules
 dicks....lol
 Good catch, will fix.
 
 Jon
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Mark Stone Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 2102
 Location: Buckley, WA
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 3:11 am    Post subject: Warrior 12/14 |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Jon,
 
 We've had several games recently that involved TFs, and have been wondering what
 counts as being in cover from a TF. The new wording you've just given us
 provides a clear definition:
 
 "Cover, linear feature (7.4, 8.93) All of the closest facing of each element (s)
 of the target body nearest to the shooting element must have the feature between
 itself and the shooting element to count as protected by cover."
 
 However, a consequence of this wording is that if I have my shooters lined up
 directly behind my TF, then everyone I shoot at counts as in cover from me. Is
 that indeed your intent?
 
 
 -Mark Stone
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Mark Stone Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 2102
 Location: Buckley, WA
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 5:53 pm    Post subject: Warrior 12/14 |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Jon,
 
 In 12.323 section E on portable obstacles, you say:
 "Positioning or removing Portable Obstacles completely replaces an approach or
 counter move and prevents preparatory shooting by the body employing them."
 
 To avoid confusion, you should probably say: "Positioning or removing Portable
 Obstacles completely replaces an approach or counter move and prevents
 preparatory shooting by the body employing them in the bound in which they are
 positioned."
 
 Perhaps that should say "in the bound in which they are positioned or removed"
 but I can't find the rule in current Warrior. Anyway, you need to be more
 specific here.
 
 
 -Mark Stone
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 5:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Warrior 12/14 |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| <<To avoid confusion, you should probably say: "Positioning or removing Portable
 Obstacles completely replaces an approach or counter move and prevents
 preparatory shooting by the body employing them in the bound in which they are
 positioned.">>
 
 Thanks, Mark!
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Mark Stone Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 2102
 Location: Buckley, WA
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 5:59 pm    Post subject: Warrior 12/14 |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| So, again regarding portable obstacles. You say "Which body is carrying them is
 written down at the start of the game." I don't think that suffices. Shouldn't
 it really which _element_ is carrying them needs to be noted? After all, some
 elements in a body might have stakes, and some might not. When playing 100YWE
 you only buy stakes for the front rank, but what you think is going to be the
 front rank at the start of the game and what turns out to be the front rank
 later aren't always the same.
 
 
 -Mark Stone
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 6:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Warrior 12/14 |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| So, again regarding portable obstacles. You say "Which body is carrying them is
 written down at the start of the game." I don't think that suffices. Shouldn't
 it really which _element_ is carrying them needs to be noted? >>
 
 Yes.  All good stuff.  Thanks.
 
 Jon
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Mark Stone Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 2102
 Location: Buckley, WA
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 6:03 pm    Post subject: Warrior 12/14 |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Jon,
 
 You say that ditch is one kind of TF (and hence obstacle), and palisade is
 another. This seems to imply that a ditched palisade is a double obstacle. This
 matters because a tactical move reaching a second obstacle is halted, and
 therefore to charge a body defending a ditched palisade one could not charge
 across _both_ ditch and palisade, but would have to first enter the ditch.
 
 If I'm right about that, and if ditches can be made 40p or less in width, then
 troops defending a ditched palisade could never be charged since one could
 never enter the first obstacle to be in a position to cross the second.
 
 
 -Mark Stone
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 6:09 pm    Post subject: Re: Warrior 12/14 |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| You say that ditch is one kind of TF (and hence obstacle), and palisade is
 another. This seems to imply that a ditched palisade is a double obstacle.>.
 
 I say they combine the features of both, which I think reasonably means they
 become obstacle, higher, cover.  But I will add words so someone can't make it
 out to mean two obstacles in the same spot.
 
 J
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Steve Hollowell Recruit
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 133
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 6:12 pm    Post subject: Re: Warrior 12/14 |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Does it really matter who in a unit sets up obstablces? Isn't it usual for one
 part of a unit to perform set-up while another covers/guards? Maybe I am missing
 something obvious though...
 
 JonCleaves@... wrote:So, again regarding portable obstacles. You say "Which
 body is carrying them is
 written down at the start of the game." I don't think that suffices. Shouldn't
 it really which _element_ is carrying them needs to be noted? >>
 
 Yes. All good stuff. Thanks.
 
 Jon
 
 
 
 
 Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 ---------------------------------
 Do you Yahoo!?
 New and Improved Yahoo! Mail - 100MB free storage!
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 6:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Warrior 12/14 |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Does it really matter who in a unit sets up obstablces? Isn't it usual for one
 part of a unit to perform set-up while another covers/guards? Maybe I am missing
 something obvious though...>>
 
 You're right, Steve, it does not.  However, I do take any such comments
 seriously and put them in my review file for what needs to be looked at for
 fixing in the next draft.
 
 Jon
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Bill Chriss Centurion
 
  
  
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1000
 Location: Texas
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 7:04 pm    Post subject: Re: Warrior 12/14 |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| >     Does it really matter who in a unit sets up obstablces? Isn't it usual
 > for one part of a unit to perform set-up while another covers/guards?
 > Maybe I am missing something obvious though...
 >
 
 No, I agree with Steve here. I think we'd be overly technical to specify
 such things by element for the very reason he suggests. there comes a
 point where "realism" isn't realistic anymore and our rules view becomes
 too microcosmic.
 
 
 Greek
 
 
 _________________
 -Greek
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 10:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Warrior 12/14 |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 9/23/2004 17:49:25 Central Daylight Time,
 mark@... writes:
 
 In 14  you've essentially changed the terminology from "Unfortified Built
 Over
 Area" to "Village". This is the kind of elegant simplication I like to  see.
 Now, if you could just change every occurence to match... For example,  under
 12.35N, Roads, you say: "It must start and end at a table edge,  another road,
 or a built-over area." I take it that what you really want to  say is: "It
 must
 start and end at a table edge, another road, or  village.">.
 
 Will do.  Good catch.
 
 jon
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 10:03 pm    Post subject: Re: Warrior 12/14 |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 9/23/2004 17:54:53 Central Daylight Time,
 mark@... writes:
 
 The  following seems pretty straight forward to me, but since it has been a
 point
 of discussion in the past I wanted to make sure. In 14.43 you say:  "Players
 define their troop types for their opponent at the outset, and  when they
 become
 visible. This will include all weapons and armor, but not  morale grades."
 
 Since darts, incendiaries, etc. are all weapons, their  presence would have
 to be
 declared at the outset. "All" means all,  yes?
 
 
 
 
 
 Yes.  I am aware some like to 'conceal their darts behind shields',  but all
 means all...lol
 We are still working on a comprehensive 'what to declare' list here at FHE,
 so bear with us.
 Jon
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 12:37 am    Post subject: Re: Warrior 12/14 |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 9/23/2004 18:10:10 Central Daylight Time,
 mark@... writes:
 
 Last  question/comment (for now). This concerns adjusting army lists  in
 competition, 14.46. You say: "No element of any body removed can be from  a
 troop type with an element minimum in the list."
 
 So here's a  common situation: An army list contains a line such as:
 Peasants Irr D LMI  up to 1/2 Bow, rest IPW @ 3 pts.... 0-12.
 
 I buy a unit of 12 stands of  Peasants, 1/2 Bow, 1/2 IPW. Not very useful.
 They'd
 be a lot more useful if  they could skirmish, and if I could come up with the
 points needed for that  ditched palisade to put them behind. As luck would
 have
 it, if I can cash  in 18 points I can afford the 20 points for the ditched
 palisade. It seems  to me that I can cash in the IPW guys, leaving me with a 6
 stand unit of  Irr D LMI B, since this is not a troop type "with an element
 minimum" even  though I end up with a unit that does not abide by  required
 ratios.>>
 
 You can't turn in part of a unit.  If, however, you had made those 12
 elements into 2 units, you could get rid of the IPW armed unit and keep the B
 armed
 one.
 
 Jon
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Mark Stone Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 2102
 Location: Buckley, WA
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 1:45 am    Post subject: Warrior 12/14 |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Jon,
 
 Small point, but:
 
 In 14 you've essentially changed the terminology from "Unfortified Built Over
 Area" to "Village". This is the kind of elegant simplication I like to see.
 Now, if you could just change every occurence to match... For example, under
 12.35N, Roads, you say: "It must start and end at a table edge, another road,
 or a built-over area." I take it that what you really want to say is: "It must
 start and end at a table edge, another road, or village."
 
 
 -Mark Stone
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		|  |