| 
			
				|  | Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
 |  
 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic |  
		| Author | Message |  
		| Doug Centurion
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 1412
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 9:52 pm    Post subject: When is the Charge Path "Set?" |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| >Which  means that I am not _required_ to decide which particular unit
 >I'm going  to contact until the Charge Move phase.  And in some
 >circumstances,  it won't be _possible_ for me to decide until the
 >Charge Move phase.   If this is correct, it might be obvious to you
 >but its something of a  revelation to me.
 >Doug
 >*****
 >
 >Really, thisis being made much more complicated than it is.
 >
 >First, charge path is set AFTER the initial wheel.
 >
 >Second, the only decision about which targets you can hit is to echelon or
 >not.  You still have to charge and you still make contact with the first
 >non-evader in the path.  You can't choose not to hit that target.
 >
 >The charge move rules can't describe all the various combinations as
 >individual examples.  It does say what to do if your target evades.
 >It does say you
 >can echelon to hit a second target.
 >
 >You also might have to hit two or more targets because you hit them at the
 >same time.
 >
 >But there is no choosing not to charge.  There is no choosing not to  hit the
 >first stationary target.  Jon
 
 But sometimes there IS a choice of targets because you can choose in
 which direction and how far to wheel.  For example, if CCC is
 directly facing and centered in the gap, it could
 1) charge straight ahead and hit both 111 and 222
 2) wheel left and hit only 111
 3) wheel right and hit only 222
 
 111..222.
 ...............
 ...CCC....
 
 SECOND ITEM:
 
 In the email above you said:
 "charge path is set AFTER the initial wheel."
 
 But that statement WRT _when_ the Charge Path is "set" is not
 consistant with what you said in answer to another of my questions
 (below).  Below, the Charge Path is used during Charge Declaration.
 Do we actually have an Initial Charge Path and a Final Charge Path ???
 
 I ASKED:
 During  the Charge Declaration phase, are we "declaring" against
 individual units  of our choice, or is the "declaration" against a set
 of units which we  have no control over; the set being comprised of
 certain units which are  within an area bounded by the Charge Reach
 and Charge Path  rules?
 YOU REPLIED
 The latter.
 
 THIRD ITEM
 It seems to me that we should come up with a term like "Charge Zone"
 which means an area on the table whose boundaries are determined by
 the workings of the Charge Path and Charge Reach rules.
 
 FOURTH ITEM:
 As I understand the intent of the rules (possible incorrectly):
 
 The Charge Zone (Def. per above) which exists after Charge
 Declarations gives us information regarding which units take
 reactions (ex: evading) and which units contribute to morale effects
 (ex: unease).
 
 Prior to the charger making his Charge Move, there may be changes in
 the location of units within the Charge Zone due to reactions like
 evading.  Or the charger may no longer be able to charge at all
 because of failing a morale test.
 
 The first motion of the charger making his Charge Move, might be a
 wheel, which would result in a new Charge Zone, which at this time
 would only be used to determine the geometrical relationship of units
 in order to discover which unit(s) will be contacted by the charger.
 
 I hope I stated all this clearly even if wrongly-- I've been
 interrupted 4 times while trying to compose it and I gotta go...
 
 
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 10:12 pm    Post subject: Re: When is the Charge Path "Set?" |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| The charge path is set at declaration, which by definition must include in which
 direction the charger will wheel, if at all, and how much.
 
 The clarification to 6.163 says:
 
 "6.163 (Pg 3
  Add: ‘Written charge declarations are for competition games and are designed to prevent ‘me too’ charges and to ensure a player’s intent
 is clear.  A charge declaration includes the charging body, the target(s) of the
 charge and whether or not the charge will be impetuous (6.164), if possible.
 Note that by declaring the target(s) of the charge, any wheel by the charger
 (6.165) and therefore the charge path (6.163), will be defined.  Players in
 non-competition games may always elect to just verbally state their charge
 declarations.’
 
 Jon
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  |  
		| Back to top |  |  
		|  |  
		|  |  
  
	| 
 
 | You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 You cannot edit your posts in this forum
 You cannot delete your posts in this forum
 You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 You cannot attach files in this forum
 You cannot download files in this forum
 
 |  
 Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
 
 |