Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Mounted Infantry charges

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Rules
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jhill4913@comcast.net
Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 21 Aug 2017
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 5:52 pm    Post subject: Mounted Infantry charges

Under what conditions/limitations can mounted infantry charge?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Frank Gilson
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1192
Location: Orange County California

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 1:29 pm    Post subject:

Mounted infantry can...just charge, treat them as a normal column of cavalry with side arm. They may need prompting depending on circumstances, orders, etc.

This can be a way for some lists to get pseudo-cavalry if they don't otherwise have any...little 2E mounted infantry units...who can dismount if necessary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
jhill4913@comcast.net
Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 21 Aug 2017
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 3:08 pm    Post subject:

When you say a "normal column of cavalry" do you mean mounted infantry must charge in column, rather than expand to block before charging? My intention is to provide mounts for my Welsh LI archers in HYWE to chase away LI attempting to slow or tire my knights.

Alos, if the MI route, do they trigger waivers as MC or as LI?

Thanks for your patience.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Frank Gilson
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1192
Location: Orange County California

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 3:27 pm    Post subject:

Look at the rules, 6.62, Mounted Infantry.

Your LI mount as MC, but can only be in column (cannot expand), cannot shoot (so cannot be in skirmish), etc.

They will cause wavers if routed while mounted as MC, not LI.

It is, however, probably the cheapest way to get something that can chase away enemy LI...

Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
jhill4913@comcast.net
Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 21 Aug 2017
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2018 9:18 pm    Post subject:

Frank,
Should I assume that since mounted infantry move in column, that they cannot expand on a follow up if they recoil their opponent?
Jimmy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Frank Gilson
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 1192
Location: Orange County California

PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 9:28 am    Post subject:

Following the clarification that mounted troops, in something like Woods, must be and remain in column at all times (including not expanding in a follow up)...I would rule that mounted infantry cannot expand in a follow up.

The rule also does state that mounted infantry "can only move in column" so this seems clear enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Rules All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group