  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		Mark Mallard Centurion
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 868 Location: Whitehaven, England
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Oct 23, 2002 7:15 am    Post subject: Rules question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
I was pursuing a routing unit last night towards my table edge not his table
 
edge. On checking the rules it appears it is supposed to turn round somehow
 
and go towards its own edge.
 
 
Is this so even if i am still in contact with it?
 
 
Maybe i am missing something here but it seems a bit vague.
 
 
I presume on the second rout it must attempt a 45 degree wheel in either
 
direction and again in subsequent bounds until it is going towards its own
 
edge. The mechanics of this maneuever could be explained as a clarification
 
maybe or you could maybe point me to the proper place in the rules.
 
 
Because of the number of other units nearby we wrongly ruled it routed away
 
from the pursuers for a second round - this took it off the board at my table
 
edge.
 
 
thanks
 
mark mallard
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                         _________________ Chess, WoW. | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:49 am    Post subject: Re: Rules question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 10/23/2002 03:17:04 Central Daylight Time,
 
markmallard77@... writes:
 
 
> On checking the rules it appears it is supposed to turn round somehow
 
> and go towards its own edge.
 
>
 
> Is this so even if i am still in contact with it?
 
>
 
 
Yes.
 
 
> Maybe i am missing something here but it seems a bit vague.
 
>
 
> I presume on the second rout it must attempt a 45 degree wheel in either
 
> direction and again in subsequent bounds until it is going towards its own
 
> edge.
 
 
Yes.
 
 
Unless its a flank marcher and then it can head to the arrival edge.
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                       _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2004 3:14 pm    Post subject: Re: rules question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 1/2/2004 10:42:31 Central Standard Time,
 
spocksleftball@... writes:
 
I'm just confused, probably by my own reading skills, as to the 9.22
 
rule.  It reads as though the second rank counts if pursuing if they
 
are L armed, but they are using OC factors.
 
That is correct.
 
Wouldn't I therefore,
 
naturally assume that non-lance armed mounted wouldn't count the
 
second rank even if charging out of skirmish?
 
Non-lance armed mounted never count 2d rank in hth without a list rule.
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                      _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Centurion
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1373
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2004 7:38 pm    Post subject: rules question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
This has already probably been long solved, but I was playing a game
 
the other day and noticed on page 68 that L armed mounted use "other
 
cav" when pursuing.
 
 
under 9.22
 
(LANCE) A second rank of cavalry or knights armed with L fights as
 
half effect if charging, counter-charging or pursuing, and the front
 
rank is also cavarly or knight armed with lance.  Note that when
 
pursuing, the count at half effect, but use "other cavalry" factors
 
not L factors.
 
 
under 9.3
 
 
(L) Lances wielded monted count only if the figure charged or counter-
 
charged this bound.  Otherwise (e.g. pursuit), figures armed with L
 
use "other cavalry" factors.
 
 
I'm just confused, probably by my own reading skills, as to the 9.22
 
rule.  It reads as though the second rank counts if pursuing if they
 
are L armed, but they are using OC factors.  Wouldn't I therefore,
 
naturally assume that non-lance armed mounted wouldn't count the
 
second rank even if charging out of skirmish?
 
 
Wanax
 
 
                                                                                                        | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Legionary
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 297
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Jun 02, 2004 11:32 pm    Post subject: Rules Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
We had an interesting situation arise recently and we are wondering if we
 
interpreted the rules correctly.
 
 
A unit of Irr LI was sitting 40 paces from a unit of enemy LMI (which was
 
located to the LI’s front at the middle line of the table).  During the
 
March phase units started coming on the board from a flank march and another
 
unit of enemy LMI ended it’s move 240 paces directly to the rear of the LI.
 
BTW the LI were located at about 200 paces from the table edge and there was
 
another enemy LMI unit located adjacent to the unit at the LI’s front.
 
 
How can the LI move?
 
 
Approach moves say that you cannot move further away from the closest enemy
 
defined at the beginning of the move and both Counters and Retirement moves
 
require that you move no closer to an enemy who is within 240 paces.  The LI
 
couldn’t charge the LMI (not that they would have wanted to)….
 
 
In that case are they stuck?
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                        | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Centurion
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1373
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 7:51 pm    Post subject: rules question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
I know I know, but we really did try to find it and couldn't.
 
 
If a unit has enough CPF, but is not tired, and an impetuous charge
 
is declared by the unit would make the unit tired.  Is it tired on
 
contact or after combat?  No support shooting issue here.
 
 
I had a unit of LC with 4 CPF, it declared an impetuous charge on
 
another LC unit.  My contention was that a unit is either tired
 
before the charge or after combat, not in between.  I have been known
 
to be wrong, so Jon please advise.
 
 
Wanax
 
 
                                                                                                     | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 8:15 pm    Post subject: Re: rules question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 6/7/2004 12:51:57 PM Eastern Daylight Time,
 
spocksleftball@... writes:
 
 
> If a unit has enough CPF, but is not tired>>
 
[
 
[
 
You mean FP, I assume.
 
 
<<, and an impetuous charge
 
> is declared by the unit would make the unit tired.  Is it
 
> tired on
 
> contact or after combat?  No support shooting issue here.>>
 
[
 
[
 
On contact.
 
 
                                                                                                      _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Mark Mallard Centurion
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 868 Location: Whitehaven, England
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 12:00 pm    Post subject: Rules Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Hi,
 
 
My opponent has been trying out the new SASSANID list.
 
 
He gave his close order MI bowmen Pavices. On looking through the rules it
 
did not look clear whether the Pavice counted as shields if they shot.
 
 
It seemed illogical that the pavice costs the same as a shield but does
 
more. Can you clarify please.
 
 
Mark Mallard
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                         _________________ Chess, WoW. | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Jun 17, 2004 7:03 am    Post subject: Re: Rules Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
In a message dated 6/16/2004 9:00:07 AM Eastern Daylight Time, markmallard77
 
writes:
 
 
> Hi,
 
>
 
> My opponent has been trying out the new SASSANID list.
 
>
 
> He gave his close order MI bowmen Pavices. On looking through the rules it
 
> did not look clear whether the Pavice counted as shields if they shot. >>
 
 
Pavises do nothing for figures armed with B when they shoot.  It only protects
 
them from shooting when they do not shoot.
 
 
Jon
 
 
                                                                                                       _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Chris Damour Legionary
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 444
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Jun 17, 2004 3:39 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Jon,
 
      SAY WHAT!!!
 
 
--
 
Christopher Damour
 
 
On Thu, 17 Jun 2004 JonCleaves@... wrote:
 
 
> In a message dated 6/16/2004 9:00:07 AM Eastern Daylight Time, markmallard77
 
writes:
 
>
 
> > Hi,
 
> >
 
> > My opponent has been trying out the new SASSANID list.
 
> >
 
> > He gave his close order MI bowmen Pavices. On looking through the rules it
 
> > did not look clear whether the Pavice counted as shields if they shot. >>
 
>
 
> Pavises do nothing for figures armed with B when they shoot.  It only protects
 
them from shooting when they do not shoot.
 
>
 
> Jon
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> Yahoo! Groups Links
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
 
                                                                                              | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Tim Grimmett Legionary
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 406 Location: Northern Virginia
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2004 4:23 am    Post subject: Re: Rules Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Indead, the sound you just heard is Eric Turner having a stroke at the thought
 
of his shieldless Koreans.
 
 
damourc <damourc@...> wrote:Jon,
 
      SAY WHAT!!!
 
 
--
 
Christopher Damour
 
 
On Thu, 17 Jun 2004 JonCleaves@... wrote:
 
 
> In a message dated 6/16/2004 9:00:07 AM Eastern Daylight Time, markmallard77
 
writes:
 
>
 
> > Hi,
 
> >
 
> > My opponent has been trying out the new SASSANID list.
 
> >
 
> > He gave his close order MI bowmen Pavices. On looking through the rules it
 
> > did not look clear whether the Pavice counted as shields if they shot. >>
 
>
 
> Pavises do nothing for figures armed with B when they shoot.  It only protects
 
them from shooting when they do not shoot.
 
>
 
> Jon
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
> Yahoo! Groups Links
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
>
 
 
Yahoo! Groups SponsorADVERTISEMENT
 
 
 
---------------------------------
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
    To visit your group on the web, go to:
 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
 
 
    To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
 
    Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
 
 
 
 
 
---------------------------------
 
Do you Yahoo!?
 
New and Improved Yahoo! Mail - 100MB free storage!
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                       _________________ Tim | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 72
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 9:30 pm    Post subject: Re: RE: Rules Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
I can not understand how a warrior with a spear can fight in a second rank
 
behind a man with a heavy sword or axe, without being hurt by the swinging axe!!
 
Axeman fight individually, and spearman in group. So I say that they can not.
 
Emilio Moskowich
 
Spain
 
 
 
One question becomes many!
 
 
So 1st question again:
 
If a unit is armed as follows:
 
 
Front Rank entirely 2hcw
 
Second Rank entirely LTS
 
 
And is steady and non-impetuous.
 
And is receiving a charge.
 
 
Do the hand-to-hand tactical factors following apply?
 
 
+1 steady P/LTS receiving an impetuous mounted charge
 
-2 facing steady, non-impetuous P or LTS (exc. 9.42)
 
 
2nd question...
 
My reading of the rules indicates the LTS in the first question would fight
 
at 1/2 figs from the second rank.  Correct?
 
 
3rd question...
 
Is the answer to question 1 the same if the second rank is armed with P?
 
 
4th question...
 
My reading of the rules indicates the P (in question 3) would fight at full
 
figs from the second rank.  Correct?
 
 
5th question...LIST QUESTION - Feudal Warrior, Holy Roman Imperial List #25,
 
pg 45.
 
Under LATE.  Replace any reg LTS-armed foot with P.
 
Is it then acceptable for the unit in question 1 to swap the LTS in the
 
second rank with P?
 
 
Thanks!
 
 
 
-----Original Message-----
 
From: Jon Becker [mailto:JonBecker@...]
 
Sent: Wednesday, November 24, 2004 11:25 AM
 
To: WarriorRules
 
Subject: [WarriorRules] Rules Question
 
 
 
 
Hello!
 
 
If a unit is armed as follows:
 
 
Front Rank entirely 2hcw
 
Second Rank entirely LTS
 
 
And is steady and non-impetuous.
 
And is receiving a charge.
 
 
Do the hand-to-hand tactical factors following apply?
 
 
+1 steady P/LTS receiving an impetuous mounted charge
 
-2 facing steady, non-impetuous P or LTS (exc. 9.42)
 
 
Thanks!
 
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
 
ADVERTISEMENT
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
To visit your group on the web, go to:
 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
 
 
 
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
 
 
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
 
 
                                                                                                           | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 18
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 10:10 pm    Post subject: Re: RE: Rules Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Quite easily actually if both fighters know the basics. I've been doing Medieval
 
combat for over 45 years. The issue is that you are visualizing the axeman using
 
his weapon as if he was chopping wood. Most people do that huge baseball bat
 
type swing because they don't understand body mechanics. Yes it is powerful, but
 
it's also very slow & leaves you defenseless. In actuallity you keep the axe in
 
front of you so that you can sweep block, thrust with the beard & use hip
 
rotations & hip-rocks to supply the power for your swings. This allows your axe
 
to rise vertically or side to side but never behind the front of your body yet
 
still give you massive power for blows & still keep it in front of you for a
 
block. Another trick it to fulcrum the handle in & to quickly tighten the arc,
 
much like a rock on the string speeds up & hits harder when your spinning it
 
around then shorten the string.
 
 
The weight  of the head also contributes to the force of the blow. Case in
 
point. Every year for the past 32 years I've hosted a feast on (or really near)
 
November 11th for the men I served with. I like to make it a more traditional
 
Viking Age type feast, with Wild Boar, Elk, etc. That's a lot of people & a lot
 
of food & some time it's difficult to get the third boar haunch into the roaster
 
with out shortening it somehow. Boars legs are really thick & heavy boned. Being
 
silly the first time, I decided to cover a stump with foil, place the haunch on
 
it & use my two handed Danish axe on it. I started with about a 35 degree arc
 
swing, thinking that I could open up to the bone so I would have a good aim to
 
strike the bone square. Damn if I didn't go thru the entire haunch & almost 2
 
inches into the stump using the above mentioned techniques. I almost felt the
 
blow was light compared to how I usually hit. From then on it's always been a
 
race amongst my friends to be the one who gets to axe the haunch each year.
 
 
Admittedly well padded armour makes a difference than bare flesh, but a boar
 
bone is really durable stuff & probably equivelent to armour. I would say that
 
the techniques above would enable axe & spearmen to fight in ranks.
 
 
manga takk,
 
Sven
 
 
----- Original Message -----
 
From: EMILIO MOSKOWICH
 
To: warriorrules@yahoogroups.com
 
Sent: 11/24/2004 10:38:46 AM
 
Subject: Re: RE: [WarriorRules] Rules Question
 
 
 
I can not understand how a warrior with a spear can fight in a second rank
 
behind a man with a heavy sword or axe, without being hurt by the swinging axe!!
 
Axeman fight individually, and spearman in group. So I say that they can not.
 
Emilio Moskowich
 
Spain
 
 
 
One question becomes many!
 
 
So 1st question again:
 
If a unit is armed as follows:
 
 
Front Rank entirely 2hcw
 
Second Rank entirely LTS
 
 
And is steady and non-impetuous.
 
And is receiving a charge.
 
 
Do the hand-to-hand tactical factors following apply?
 
 
+1 steady P/LTS receiving an impetuous mounted charge
 
-2 facing steady, non-impetuous P or LTS (exc. 9.42)
 
 
2nd question...
 
My reading of the rules indicates the LTS in the first question would fight
 
at 1/2 figs from the second rank.  Correct?
 
 
3rd question...
 
Is the answer to question 1 the same if the second rank is armed with P?
 
 
4th question...
 
My reading of the rules indicates the P (in question 3) would fight at full
 
figs from the second rank.  Correct?
 
 
5th question...LIST QUESTION - Feudal Warrior, Holy Roman Imperial List #25,
 
pg 45.
 
Under LATE.  Replace any reg LTS-armed foot with P.
 
Is it then acceptable for the unit in question 1 to swap the LTS in the
 
second rank with P?
 
 
Thanks!
 
 
 
-----Original Message-----
 
From: Jon Becker [mailto:JonBecker@...]
 
Sent: Wednesday, November 24, 2004 11:25 AM
 
To: WarriorRules
 
Subject: [WarriorRules] Rules Question
 
 
 
 
Hello!
 
 
If a unit is armed as follows:
 
 
Front Rank entirely 2hcw
 
Second Rank entirely LTS
 
 
And is steady and non-impetuous.
 
And is receiving a charge.
 
 
Do the hand-to-hand tactical factors following apply?
 
 
+1 steady P/LTS receiving an impetuous mounted charge
 
-2 facing steady, non-impetuous P or LTS (exc. 9.42)
 
 
Thanks!
 
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
 
ADVERTISEMENT
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
To visit your group on the web, go to:
 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
 
 
 
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
 
 
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
 
ADVERTISEMENT
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
To visit your group on the web, go to:
 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
 
 
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
 
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                        | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 72
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 10:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: RE: Rules Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
That sounds very interesting, Sven. May you send me any diagrams that explain
 
those blows?
 
Emilio
 
P.D I have a two handed sword manual derived from italian and german XV century
 
originals, and several blows are from behind the head, or from the side of the
 
body.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Quite easily actually if both fighters know the basics. I've been doing Medieval
 
combat for over 45 years. The issue is that you are visualizing the axeman using
 
his weapon as if he was chopping wood. Most people do that huge baseball bat
 
type swing because they don't understand body mechanics. Yes it is powerful, but
 
it's also very slow & leaves you defenseless. In actuallity you keep the axe in
 
front of you so that you can sweep block, thrust with the beard & use hip
 
rotations & hip-rocks to supply the power for your swings. This allows your axe
 
to rise vertically or side to side but never behind the front of your body yet
 
still give you massive power for blows & still keep it in front of you for a
 
block. Another trick it to fulcrum the handle in & to quickly tighten the arc,
 
much like a rock on the string speeds up & hits harder when your spinning it
 
around then shorten the string.
 
 
The weight  of the head also contributes to the force of the blow. Case in
 
point. Every year for the past 32 years I've hosted a feast on (or really near)
 
November 11th for the men I served with. I like to make it a more traditional
 
Viking Age type feast, with Wild Boar, Elk, etc. That's a lot of people & a lot
 
of food & some time it's difficult to get the third boar haunch into the roaster
 
with out shortening it somehow. Boars legs are really thick & heavy boned. Being
 
silly the first time, I decided to cover a stump with foil, place the haunch on
 
it & use my two handed Danish axe on it. I started with about a 35 degree arc
 
swing, thinking that I could open up to the bone so I would have a good aim to
 
strike the bone square. Damn if I didn't go thru the entire haunch & almost 2
 
inches into the stump using the above mentioned techniques. I almost felt the
 
blow was light compared to how I usually hit. From then on it's always been a
 
race amongst my fr!
 
iends to be the one who gets to axe the haunch each year.
 
 
Admittedly well padded armour makes a difference than bare flesh, but a boar
 
bone is really durable stuff & probably equivelent to armour. I would say that
 
the techniques above would enable axe & spearmen to fight in ranks.
 
 
manga takk,
 
Sven
 
 
----- Original Message -----
 
From: EMILIO MOSKOWICH
 
To: warriorrules@yahoogroups.com
 
Sent: 11/24/2004 10:38:46 AM
 
Subject: Re: RE: [WarriorRules] Rules Question
 
 
 
I can not understand how a warrior with a spear can fight in a second rank
 
behind a man with a heavy sword or axe, without being hurt by the swinging axe!!
 
Axeman fight individually, and spearman in group. So I say that they can not.
 
Emilio Moskowich
 
Spain
 
 
 
One question becomes many!
 
 
So 1st question again:
 
If a unit is armed as follows:
 
 
Front Rank entirely 2hcw
 
Second Rank entirely LTS
 
 
And is steady and non-impetuous.
 
And is receiving a charge.
 
 
Do the hand-to-hand tactical factors following apply?
 
 
+1 steady P/LTS receiving an impetuous mounted charge
 
-2 facing steady, non-impetuous P or LTS (exc. 9.42)
 
 
2nd question...
 
My reading of the rules indicates the LTS in the first question would fight
 
at 1/2 figs from the second rank.  Correct?
 
 
3rd question...
 
Is the answer to question 1 the same if the second rank is armed with P?
 
 
4th question...
 
My reading of the rules indicates the P (in question 3) would fight at full
 
figs from the second rank.  Correct?
 
 
5th question...LIST QUESTION - Feudal Warrior, Holy Roman Imperial List #25,
 
pg 45.
 
Under LATE.  Replace any reg LTS-armed foot with P.
 
Is it then acceptable for the unit in question 1 to swap the LTS in the
 
second rank with P?
 
 
Thanks!
 
 
 
-----Original Message-----
 
From: Jon Becker [mailto:JonBecker@...]
 
Sent: Wednesday, November 24, 2004 11:25 AM
 
To: WarriorRules
 
Subject: [WarriorRules] Rules Question
 
 
 
 
Hello!
 
 
If a unit is armed as follows:
 
 
Front Rank entirely 2hcw
 
Second Rank entirely LTS
 
 
And is steady and non-impetuous.
 
And is receiving a charge.
 
 
Do the hand-to-hand tactical factors following apply?
 
 
+1 steady P/LTS receiving an impetuous mounted charge
 
-2 facing steady, non-impetuous P or LTS (exc. 9.42)
 
 
Thanks!
 
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
 
ADVERTISEMENT
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
To visit your group on the web, go to:
 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
 
 
 
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
 
 
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
 
ADVERTISEMENT
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
To visit your group on the web, go to:
 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
 
 
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
 
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
 
 
Get unlimited calls to
 
U.S./Canada
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
To visit your group on the web, go to:
 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
 
 
 
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
 
 
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
 
 
                                                                                                               | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 18
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 10:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: RE: Rules Question | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
I can't draw worth a damn, but I'll sure give it a try. We do know for a fact
 
that Axe & spear worked together from period descriptions. My friends jokingly
 
call my style the "Weasel Dance" since I bob & weave a lot. If you look at old
 
movies of Cassius Clay boxing you'll see an example of what I'm talking about.
 
He powers his blows from the legs & hips. after all the glut's are the biggest &
 
strongest muscle group in the body from what I've been told.
 
 
 
----- Original Message -----
 
From: EMILIO MOSKOWICH
 
To: warriorrules@yahoogroups.com
 
Sent: 11/24/2004 11:31:21 AM
 
Subject: Re: Re: RE: [WarriorRules] Rules Question
 
 
 
That sounds very interesting, Sven. May you send me any diagrams that explain
 
those blows?
 
Emilio
 
P.D I have a two handed sword manual derived from italian and german XV century
 
originals, and several blows are from behind the head, or from the side of the
 
body.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Quite easily actually if both fighters know the basics. I've been doing Medieval
 
combat for over 45 years. The issue is that you are visualizing the axeman using
 
his weapon as if he was chopping wood. Most people do that huge baseball bat
 
type swing because they don't understand body mechanics. Yes it is powerful, but
 
it's also very slow & leaves you defenseless. In actuallity you keep the axe in
 
front of you so that you can sweep block, thrust with the beard & use hip
 
rotations & hip-rocks to supply the power for your swings. This allows your axe
 
to rise vertically or side to side but never behind the front of your body yet
 
still give you massive power for blows & still keep it in front of you for a
 
block. Another trick it to fulcrum the handle in & to quickly tighten the arc,
 
much like a rock on the string speeds up & hits harder when your spinning it
 
around then shorten the string.
 
 
The weight  of the head also contributes to the force of the blow. Case in
 
point. Every year for the past 32 years I've hosted a feast on (or really near)
 
November 11th for the men I served with. I like to make it a more traditional
 
Viking Age type feast, with Wild Boar, Elk, etc. That's a lot of people & a lot
 
of food & some time it's difficult to get the third boar haunch into the roaster
 
with out shortening it somehow. Boars legs are really thick & heavy boned. Being
 
silly the first time, I decided to cover a stump with foil, place the haunch on
 
it & use my two handed Danish axe on it. I started with about a 35 degree arc
 
swing, thinking that I could open up to the bone so I would have a good aim to
 
strike the bone square. Damn if I didn't go thru the entire haunch & almost 2
 
inches into the stump using the above mentioned techniques. I almost felt the
 
blow was light compared to how I usually hit. From then on it's always been a
 
race amongst my fr!
 
iends to be the one who gets to axe the haunch each year.
 
 
Admittedly well padded armour makes a difference than bare flesh, but a boar
 
bone is really durable stuff & probably equivelent to armour. I would say that
 
the techniques above would enable axe & spearmen to fight in ranks.
 
 
manga takk,
 
Sven
 
 
----- Original Message -----
 
From: EMILIO MOSKOWICH
 
To: warriorrules@yahoogroups.com
 
Sent: 11/24/2004 10:38:46 AM
 
Subject: Re: RE: [WarriorRules] Rules Question
 
 
 
I can not understand how a warrior with a spear can fight in a second rank
 
behind a man with a heavy sword or axe, without being hurt by the swinging axe!!
 
Axeman fight individually, and spearman in group. So I say that they can not.
 
Emilio Moskowich
 
Spain
 
 
 
One question becomes many!
 
 
So 1st question again:
 
If a unit is armed as follows:
 
 
Front Rank entirely 2hcw
 
Second Rank entirely LTS
 
 
And is steady and non-impetuous.
 
And is receiving a charge.
 
 
Do the hand-to-hand tactical factors following apply?
 
 
+1 steady P/LTS receiving an impetuous mounted charge
 
-2 facing steady, non-impetuous P or LTS (exc. 9.42)
 
 
2nd question...
 
My reading of the rules indicates the LTS in the first question would fight
 
at 1/2 figs from the second rank.  Correct?
 
 
3rd question...
 
Is the answer to question 1 the same if the second rank is armed with P?
 
 
4th question...
 
My reading of the rules indicates the P (in question 3) would fight at full
 
figs from the second rank.  Correct?
 
 
5th question...LIST QUESTION - Feudal Warrior, Holy Roman Imperial List #25,
 
pg 45.
 
Under LATE.  Replace any reg LTS-armed foot with P.
 
Is it then acceptable for the unit in question 1 to swap the LTS in the
 
second rank with P?
 
 
Thanks!
 
 
 
-----Original Message-----
 
From: Jon Becker [mailto:JonBecker@...]
 
Sent: Wednesday, November 24, 2004 11:25 AM
 
To: WarriorRules
 
Subject: [WarriorRules] Rules Question
 
 
 
 
Hello!
 
 
If a unit is armed as follows:
 
 
Front Rank entirely 2hcw
 
Second Rank entirely LTS
 
 
And is steady and non-impetuous.
 
And is receiving a charge.
 
 
Do the hand-to-hand tactical factors following apply?
 
 
+1 steady P/LTS receiving an impetuous mounted charge
 
-2 facing steady, non-impetuous P or LTS (exc. 9.42)
 
 
Thanks!
 
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
 
ADVERTISEMENT
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
To visit your group on the web, go to:
 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
 
 
 
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
 
 
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
 
ADVERTISEMENT
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
To visit your group on the web, go to:
 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
 
 
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
 
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
 
 
Get unlimited calls to
 
U.S./Canada
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
To visit your group on the web, go to:
 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
 
 
 
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
 
 
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
 
ADVERTISEMENT
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 
To visit your group on the web, go to:
 
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
 
 
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
 
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
 
 
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
                                                                                                            | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |