Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

another pesky newbie question....

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 5:40 pm    Post subject: another pesky newbie question....


The situation:

One command of 5 units of 4 el HI, 1 4 el LI, and 2 units of 2e MC + sub-gen
with 1 el HC Bodyguard (total of 8 units + staff and bodyguard) are given
the initial order "Probe". The character of the sub-general is cautious,
and he blows his dice roll, which automatically makes the order for the
command "Hold". During the initial marching sequence, the command moved to
the centerline, and the enemy moved to within 240 paces - so no further
marching was required by the command. Correct so far?

The following Bound, the CinC sends the Probe order to the Sub-general,
which he received..now the question:

Is the sub-general required to send the new order to each unit in his
command (all eight have to receive an "oh, by the way communique") or is he
required to prompt only those units that he desires to perform an action
contrary to the "Hold" order (i.e. prompt the HI to initiate a charge,
etc.)?





[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 8:01 pm    Post subject: Re: another pesky newbie question....


In a message dated 8/6/2003 09:41:46 Central Daylight Time,
sctrac@... writes:

> One command of 5 units of 4 el HI, 1 4 el LI, and 2 units of 2e MC +
> sub-gen
> with 1 el HC Bodyguard (total of 8 units + staff and bodyguard) are given
> the initial order "Probe". The character of the sub-general is cautious,
> and he blows his dice roll, which automatically makes the order for the
> command "Hold". During the initial marching sequence, the command moved to
> the centerline, and the enemy moved to within 240 paces - so no further
> marching was required by the command. Correct so far?

Hold requires no marching or movement of any kind. But as long as you
haven't crossed the center, you are good with wherever you moved.

>
> The following Bound, the CinC sends the Probe order to the Sub-general,
> which he received..now the question:
>
> Is the sub-general required to send the new order to each unit in his
> command (all eight have to receive an "oh, by the way communique") or is he
> required to prompt only those units that he desires to perform an action
> contrary to the "Hold" order (i.e. prompt the HI to initiate a charge,
> etc.)?

4.41 says: "A communication is to all the units of a command (also called
destinations) when the CINC changes the orders of his own command or when other
generals pass on new orders (received from the CINC) to their own command. "
So, yes, the SG would then have to use his minutes getting the probe order, if
interpreted correctly, to his new command.

J


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 12:56 pm    Post subject: Re: another pesky newbie question....


In a message dated 8/7/2003 08:43:06 Central Daylight Time, clr198@...
writes:

> I believe the rules state something to the effect that the CinC may issue
> a
> new order on the second subsequent bound. So, in this case, the command
> would have to spend two entire bounds under the ³Hold² order and only at the
> beginning of bound 3 could that be changed.
>

That is correct. I missed the following bound part because it didn't have to
do directly with the question, but you are right.

J


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 234

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 4:40 pm    Post subject: Re: another pesky newbie question....


On 8/6/03 5:01 PM, "JonCleaves@..." <JonCleaves@...> wrote:
Jon,

Since I don¹t have the rules in front of me, this could be bad. But in the
interest of timeliness...

The questioner asked:

³The following Bound, the CinC sends the Probe order to the Sub-general...²

I believe the rules state something to the effect that the CinC may issue a
new order on the second subsequent bound. So, in this case, the command
would have to spend two entire bounds under the ³Hold² order and only at the
beginning of bound 3 could that be changed.

-- Charles

> In a message dated 8/6/2003 09:41:46 Central Daylight Time,
> sctrac@... writes:
>
>> > One command of 5 units of 4 el HI, 1 4 el LI, and 2 units of 2e MC +
>> > sub-gen
>> > with 1 el HC Bodyguard (total of 8 units + staff and bodyguard) are given
>> > the initial order "Probe". The character of the sub-general is cautious,
>> > and he blows his dice roll, which automatically makes the order for the
>> > command "Hold". During the initial marching sequence, the command moved to
>> > the centerline, and the enemy moved to within 240 paces - so no further
>> > marching was required by the command. Correct so far?
>
> Hold requires no marching or movement of any kind. But as long as you
> haven't crossed the center, you are good with wherever you moved.
>
>> >
>> > The following Bound, the CinC sends the Probe order to the Sub-general,
>> > which he received..now the question:
>> >
>> > Is the sub-general required to send the new order to each unit in his
>> > command (all eight have to receive an "oh, by the way communique") or is he
>> > required to prompt only those units that he desires to perform an action
>> > contrary to the "Hold" order (i.e. prompt the HI to initiate a charge,
>> > etc.)?
>
> 4.41 says: "A communication is to all the units of a command (also called
> destinations) when the CINC changes the orders of his own command or when
> other
> generals pass on new orders (received from the CINC) to their own command. "
> So, yes, the SG would then have to use his minutes getting the probe order, if
> interpreted correctly, to his new command.
>
> J
>
>
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
>
>
> Yahoo! Groups Sponsor
>
> ADVERTISEMENT
>
> <http://rd.yahoo.com/M=194081.3551198.4824677.1261774/D=egroupweb/S=1705059080
> :HM/A=1704239/R=0/SIG=11o99mg4u/*http://www.ediets.com/start.cfm?code=30518&me
> dia=blank>
>
> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
> WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
>
>
>
> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service
> <http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/> .




[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    

Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 9:49 pm    Post subject: RE: another pesky newbie question....


>> I believe the rules state something to the effect that the CinC may
issue
>> a
>>new order on the second subsequent bound. So, in this case, the command
>> would have to spend two entire bounds under the ³Hold² order and only at
the
>> beginning of bound 3 could that be changed.
>>

>That is correct. I missed the following bound part because it didn't have
to
>do directly with the question, but you are right.

Ok, now you have caught me without my rulebook, but you are saying that The
C-in-C cannot send a new order until the second bound (which sounds like we
did correctly) and the sub-gen has to wait until the following bound before
issuing the new order to his troops?




[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:35 am    Post subject: RE: another pesky newbie question....


Ok, now you have caught me without my rulebook, but you are saying that The
C-in-C cannot send a new order until the second bound (which sounds like we
did correctly) and the sub-gen has to wait until the following bound before
issuing the new order to his troops?>>

4.43 says:

"If any order is not obeyed to the CINC’s satisfaction, he may issue a new order
on the second subsequent bound. [It takes the CINC a full bound to realize the
order is not being obeyed.] It is then transmitted again and interpretation
diced for as any other order. The new order may be the same order or a
different one. "

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message    
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group