 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2001 11:36 pm Post subject: Re: Little Help Please |
 |
|
pat
I will help you when I get back from vacation.
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Patrick Byrne Centurion

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1433
|
Posted: Thu Aug 09, 2001 1:25 am Post subject: Little Help Please |
 |
|
I still need some help with this earlier question, please.
-PB
Patrick Byrnes wrote:
> Cool.
>
> Also I assume a detachment can have more elements than the parent body (since
> the rules do not state so otherwise). And if I've got this all correct, a
> regular parent unit which is in 2x2 block and has a detachment unit in 3x2
> block formation, can reabsorb the detachment and ends up as a 2x5 (since a
> 2/2/3/3 formation is not allowed). This contraction from 3x2 to 2x3 for the
> detachment is free, correct? or does it need to pay movement penalties (ie.
> contract and 40p move if IRR)?
>
> Along the same lines, if an LMI parent body in 2x2 block absords its 1x2
> detachment of LMI's, does the detachment automatically revert to 2x1 to form
> the back rank or is this a formation change (expanding frontage)? or must it
> expand its frontage before reaborbtion into the parent Borg, I mean body?
> (All this assumes that the formation can't end up 2/2/1/1)
>
> Finally, I assume when the detachment is reabsorbing back into the parent
> body, interpenetration is ignored. Interpenetration is only applyed when
> parent body is joining the detachment (a symantic of who is moving, the
> chicken or the egg), & when the detachment forming the rear rank wants to
> move ahead of the parent body.
>
> Last question(s). If an IRR A detachment is forming the back rank of a
> parent body, and is within 120p of the enemy, must it declare a charge, being
> that the charge is through the parent body, and maybe thus interpentration
> occurs? It is a seperate unit by all accounts, right?
>
> In summary, I have not played detachments, as the Yuan Mongols aren't
> allowed any, but now I am making some Irish/Viking list and am trying to
> understand limitations on detachments.
> -PB
>
> JonCleaves@... wrote:
>
> > Can't be done if parent is 2x2. 3 element LI det if regular has only two
> > legal blocks - 1x3 and 3x1.
> >
> > It is possible to construct a det and a parent such that they cannot be
> > joined. I recommend against it.
> >
> >
> > To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
> > WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
> >
> >
> >
> > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
>
>
> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
> WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
>
>
>
> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2001 3:53 am Post subject: Re: Little Help Please |
 |
|
<< Also I assume a detachment can have more elements than the parent body (since
the rules do not state so otherwise).>>
Correct.
<<And if I've got this all correct, a regular parent unit which is in 2x2 block
and has a detachment unit in 3x2 block formation, can reabsorb the detachment
and ends up as a 2x5 (since a 2/2/3/3 formation is not allowed).>>
Yes.
<< This contraction from 3x2 to 2x3 for the detachment is free, correct?>>
No. It needs to get in the correct formation first. The rule is:
"A detachment must obey all rules about movement and interpenetration."
But I cans ee where that needs to be clarified and I have added it to the list.
<< Finally, I assume when the detachment is reabsorbing back into the parent
body, interpenetration is ignored.>>
Not true.
<< Last question(s). If an IRR A detachment is forming the back rank of a
parent body, and is within 120p of the enemy, must it declare a charge, being
that the charge is through the parent body, and maybe thus interpentration
occurs? It is a seperate unit by all accounts, right?
Actually, the body includes Irr A so the whole thing must charge under attack.
If the det can get to the target in a legal interpenetration, it could charge on
its own.
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|