Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

LTS vs. Pike

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2001 2:26 pm    Post subject: Re: LTS vs. Pike


Ahem. [This is why I am rules guy]

Scott, we went to LTS not taking the -2 from pike in 7.6.

I quote from 7.6 changes:

Pg 33 para 12 line 2-3: delete and replace with "If at first contact and facing
non-impetuous pike or LTS-armed steady foot unless steady foot using HTW, pike
or non-impetuous LTS."

Note the last two words. Warrior is the same here as 7.6. Steady,
non-impetuous LTS hasn't been taking the -2 from pike since the 7.6 revision.

Sorry I missed this part of the email exchange from this morning, or I would
have intervened.

Go back to lists. :)

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2001 4:38 pm    Post subject: Re: LTS vs. Pike


Ahem, I will repeat the rule AGAIN (third time today by my count) here:

WRG 7.6 version:
"Deduct 2: If at first contact and facing non-impetuous pike or LTS-armed steady
foot unless steady foot using
HTW, pike or non-impetuous LTS."

Warrior version:
"Deduct 2: If at first contact and facing non-impetuous or LTS armed steady foot
(unless steady foot using HTW, P, or non-impetuous LTS).

LTS that are steady and not impetuous do NOT take the -2 from P or LTS.

Sing along with me.
J


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Greg Regets
Imperator
Imperator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2988

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2001 5:44 pm    Post subject: LTS vs. Pike


Deduct 2:
If at first contact and facing non-impetuous P or LTS armed steady foot
(unless steady foot using HTW, P, or non-impetuous LTS).

>The LTS do take the -2 which is why people play pike armies and not
hoplites:)SmileSmile Aside from the all the other "balance" issues between the
two
types of armies, pikes whomp hoplites assuming no odd swing of the dice.

>>>GREG>>> Wait a minute, you are confusing me (not hard to do). Why would
the LTS take the -2 against pikes in this example. It says "unless steady
foot using HTW, P, or non-impetuous LTS". That means Hoplites would be
exempt from the -2, right?

Greg










































To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com



Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
scott holder
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 6072
Location: Bonnots Mill, MO

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2001 5:51 pm    Post subject: Re: LTS vs. Pike


Somebody else answer this. I don't have 7th in front of me and no time to
peruse Warrior to see if the Rules Ho made a change.


>>> greg@... 5/15/01 9:48:00 AM >>>
Deduct 2:
If at first contact and facing non-impetuous P or LTS armed steady foot
(unless steady foot using HTW, P, or non-impetuous LTS).

>The LTS do take the -2 which is why people play pike armies and not
hoplites:)SmileSmile Aside from the all the other "balance" issues between the
two
types of armies, pikes whomp hoplites assuming no odd swing of the dice.

>>>GREG>>> Wait a minute, you are confusing me (not hard to do). Why would
the LTS take the -2 against pikes in this example. It says "unless steady
foot using HTW, P, or non-impetuous LTS". That means Hoplites would be
exempt from the -2, right?

Greg










































To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com



Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/


To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com



Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/


_________________
These Rules Suck, Let's Paint!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message   Visit poster's website
Greg Regets
Imperator
Imperator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2988

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2001 7:00 pm    Post subject: RE: LTS vs. Pike


This was a good change. Sure, the REG,LTS guys will normally lose to the
pikes, but they can last a while. Once you get to the IRR, LTS guys, all
bets are off. A 32 figure REG,C,MI,P,Sh unit costs 138pts. A 16 figure
IRR,C,HI,LTS,Sh unit costs 105pts. The -2 in the first bound is cancelled by
charge/impetuous. Both units fight with 16 figures. The pikes will win due
to fatigue, but it takes a while, and after both units are tired every +1
roll by the LTS causes a waver for disorder due to 3xH-T-H. I have played
this matchup many times, and the LTS comes out ahead about 65% of the time.
The pikes need an +2 dice advantage over the LTS to get the follow-up bonus
in next bound. If they get it, the LTS is screwed. If not, the fight
normally goes to the LTS. If the pikes are D's (which would make them cost
106, level with the LTS's 105), the LTS wins almost every time.

Greg ~who just told you the obvious~

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2001 8:28 pm    Post subject: Re: LTS vs. Pike


On Tue, 15 May 2001 JonCleaves@... wrote:

> Ahem. [This is why I am rules guy]
>
> Scott, we went to LTS not taking the -2 from pike in 7.6.
>

Ahem. This doesn't address the original question. Does LTS take the -2
from LTS? My understanding is that it does, but I've been wrong before.


Mark

Mark Stone || strider@... || http://digitalpilgrim.com
"A designer knows he has achieved perfection not when there is nothing
left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away."
-Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group