Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

roman rules question

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mark Stone
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2102
Location: Buckley, WA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 2:40 am    Post subject: roman rules question


Jon,

For the following questions please refer to the diagram "romans-vs-ch.gif"
uploaded to the Files section. Sorry it isn't in Powerpoint, but I'm away from
my office computer at the moment. Any web browser should be able to view a
"gif" file, however.

Here's the setup:

Blue 1 is a 2 stand unit of Roman Legionaries, 1 stand wide and 2 ranks deep.
Blue 2 is a 4 stand unit of Roman Legionaries, 2 stands wide and 2 ranks deep.
Red A is a 2 model unit of Late Hebrew heavy chariots, one model wide and 2
ranks deep.
Red B is the same as Red A.

On bound 1, A charges 2 and recoils 2. A does not expand.

On bound 2, 1 declares a charge on A, intending to replace 2 in combat per the
list rules for Romans. B declares a charge on the projecting overlap of 2.

The questions:
What is the position of units involved at the conclusion of charge moves in
bound 2? Specifically, I'm stuck on the point that 2 should be pushed back as 1
is replacing it, and 2 should remain in place as B is charging it. Does this
cancel 1's charge? Does this cancel B's charge? Do both charges happen, and if
so what does the final position look like?

Other question - to simplify, just drop B out of the picture here, and assume A
recoiled 2 last bound and 1 is now charging through to replace. I know that A
does not count as charging, and that A does not count as following up. But
clearly A has forward momentum, so do the chariot horses get to fight or does
only the crew get to fight?


-Mark Stone

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message   MSN Messenger
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 12:57 am    Post subject: Re: roman rules question


Here's the setup:

Blue 1 is a 2 stand unit of Roman Legionaries, 1 stand wide and 2 ranks deep.
Blue 2 is a 4 stand unit of Roman Legionaries, 2 stands wide and 2 ranks deep.
Red A is a 2 model unit of Late Hebrew heavy chariots, one model wide and 2
ranks deep.
Red B is the same as Red A.>>

Ok, all good. And I can read the diagram, but you have two 2E wide red units
the same relative width as 1 2E wide blue - so it is somewhat misleading, but I
assume not pertinent to the question...

<<On bound 1, A charges 2 and recoils 2. A does not expand.

On bound 2, 1 declares a charge on A, intending to replace 2 in combat per the
list rules for Romans. B declares a charge on the projecting overlap of 2.

The questions:
What is the position of units involved at the conclusion of charge moves in
bound 2? Specifically, I'm stuck on the point that 2 should be pushed back as 1
is replacing it, and 2 should remain in place as B is charging it.>>

Not pushed back, just those elements are replaced (as with any replacement,
roman or otherwise) until the combat is concluded.

<< Does this
cancel 1's charge?>>

No. 1 and b are not charging each other and since these are romans of the
replacement type, they aren't cancelled by mounted in any case.

<< Does this cancel B's charge? Do both charges happen, and if
so what does the final position look like?>>

I see no reason why both charges should not happen. 1 will be where 2E of 2
'should be', but only until the whole thing is resolved.

<<Other question - to simplify, just drop B out of the picture here, and assume
A
recoiled 2 last bound and 1 is now charging through to replace. I know that A
does not count as charging, and that A does not count as following up. But
clearly A has forward momentum, so do the chariot horses get to fight or does
only the crew get to fight?>>

the horse get to fight, they just don't get the +1.


Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Mark Stone
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2102
Location: Buckley, WA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 1:55 am    Post subject: Re: roman rules question


Quoting "WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com" <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com>:

> << Does this
> cancel 1's charge?>>
>
> No. 1 and b are not charging each other and since these are romans of the
> replacement type, they aren't cancelled by mounted in any case.
>
> << Does this cancel B's charge? Do both charges happen, and if
> so what does the final position look like?>>
>
> I see no reason why both charges should not happen. 1 will be where 2E of 2
> 'should be', but only until the whole thing is resolved.
>

Cool. I understand how all this works so far. It looks at little funky "in
transition", but it makes sense. Now the hard question:

Similar situation:

A 2 stand wide, 2 rank deep unit of Romans is backed up by another unit of
Romans, also 2 stands wide, 2 ranks deep. The front unit is charged by a 1
stand wide unit of mounted on Bound 1, and recoiled. The enemy cavalry does not
choose to expand.

On Bound 2, a second unit of enemy cav, 1 stand wide, charges the exposed
element of the front Roman unit. At the same time, the back Roman unit declares
a charge on the cav unit in contact with the front Roman unit.

What happens? Who ends up in combat against whom?


-Mark Stone

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message   MSN Messenger
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: roman rules question


A 2 stand wide, 2 rank deep unit of Romans is backed up by another unit of
Romans, also 2 stands wide, 2 ranks deep. The front unit is charged by a 1
stand wide unit of mounted on Bound 1, and recoiled. The enemy cavalry does not
choose to expand.

On Bound 2, a second unit of enemy cav, 1 stand wide, charges the exposed
element of the front Roman unit. At the same time, the back Roman unit declares
a charge on the cav unit in contact with the front Roman unit.

What happens? Who ends up in combat against whom?>>
[
The replacing Roman unit is now in contact with both enemy mounted units.

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group