Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Rules questions from OZ

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 11:36 am    Post subject: Re: Rules questions from OZ


In a message dated 4/24/2004 04:17:50 Central Daylight Time,
edgdp@... writes:
Q1.
Situation:
A unit of 2E Irr A Heavy cavalry is in skirmish.
It takes 2 CPF from shooting.
It has a legal charge target within its reach directly to its front.
The orders of the command are attack.
Player 1 contended that the unit could not elect to make a recall move
( skirmish formation as per 11.1) as the unit must charge (because it
is Irr A) and electing not to charge (by recalling) would put it in
violation of this condition. Therefore the unit must test.>>

The ability to avoid the waver by charging unprompted as A's only applies to
close/loose FOOT, so clearly the above is wrong.

Player 2 contended that the shooting result outcome prevented the Hvy
Cav. from charging- thus it could choose to recall and avoid the test.
Which Player is correct ?>>

Neither, in a precise sense. Player 2's contention that the Hvy Cav is
somehow 'prevented' from charging isn't right, but he is correct that he could
choose, as a body in skirmish formation, to recall to avoid the waver.



Q2.
Situation:
Player A has a command on Retreat orders. He has a 6El unit of
disordered close formation foot (which is part of the command on
retreat orders, and) within the charge reach of some enemy camels.
The unit of foot attempts to counter and fails.

Player A contends that the unit does not break on contact if charged
(as per 4.51 RETREAT bullet point 6.). he claims that the word
ā€˜retreatingā€ in this section implies that the unit itself must be
retreating (moving away from the enemy)rather than under retreat
orders. Being stationary is not retreating.

Player B contends that the Unit is subject to retreat orders and is
therefore retreating as fast as it can- the lack of movement is
incidental to the fact that the unit is on retreat orders.

Which player is correct ?>>

B. The word retreating is (and always has been...lol) equal to a body in a
command subject to retreat orders. There is no such thing as a 'retreat move'.
I will make this explicit in the new rulebook.


Will post full results after the second days play. We have one player
on 9pts and a few on 8pts so it should be a close finish. We are also
trailing the order cards system (write it down and turn it over) you
guys suggested- Will let you know how it goes.>>
Yes, feedback on the order cards system will be good - we are about to employ
it here as well.

Jon


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Greg Preston
Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 244
Location: Newcastle, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:15 pm    Post subject: Rules questions from OZ


Dear Jon,

Things are going well with the Warrior comp down here in OZ. We had 20
starters for the Biblical theme comp today and a good representation of
armies. Should have 20 again for day 2 tomorrow.
Had a couple of “interesting” calls today whilst doing the Umpiring so
thought I would check them out. In both cases I am sure I am clear on
what should happen (hey- I made a ruling) but I promised players that
if they disagreed with a ruling and I couldn't show them something in
the rules/clarifications/previous Qs etc which specifically addressed
their concern I would run it past you.

Q1.
Situation:
A unit of 2E Irr A Heavy cavalry is in skirmish.
It takes 2 CPF from shooting.
It has a legal charge target within its reach directly to its front.
The orders of the command are attack.
Player 1 contended that the unit could not elect to make a recall move
( skirmish formation as per 11.1) as the unit must charge (because it
is Irr A) and electing not to charge (by recalling) would put it in
violation of this condition. Therefore the unit must test.
Player 2 contended that the shooting result outcome prevented the Hvy
Cav. from charging- thus it could choose to recall and avoid the test.
Which Player is correct ?

Q2.
Situation:
Player A has a command on Retreat orders. He has a 6El unit of
disordered close formation foot (which is part of the command on
retreat orders, and) within the charge reach of some enemy camels.
The unit of foot attempts to counter and fails.

Player A contends that the unit does not break on contact if charged
(as per 4.51 RETREAT bullet point 6.). he claims that the word
‘retreating” in this section implies that the unit itself must be
retreating (moving away from the enemy)rather than under retreat
orders. Being stationary is not retreating.

Player B contends that the Unit is subject to retreat orders and is
therefore retreating as fast as it can- the lack of movement is
incidental to the fact that the unit is on retreat orders.

Which player is correct ?

Will post full results after the second days play. We have one player
on 9pts and a few on 8pts so it should be a close finish. We are also
trailing the order cards system (write it down and turn it over) you
guys suggested- Will let you know how it goes.

Cheers,
Greg Preston


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group