 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Harlan Garrett Centurion

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 943
|
Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2001 10:20 pm Post subject: Confused |
 |
|
Jon:
I think you are missing the point our discussions. We want to know how to properly resolve the following issues:
The diagrams displayed by Pat and the other gentleman, illustrate my point better than my letters.
1a. Units A, B, and C are in base-to-base contact, but unit B is a half an element (or 10 mm, whatever, unit of measure you want to use) behind unit A and unit C. According to the way we read the rules, unit Z cannot charge unit B, because of the "gap" formed between unit A and unit C is less then two elements wide, correct?
ZZZ
ZZZ
AAAA BBB CCCC
AAAA BBB CCCC
1b. Same as 1a, but units A, B, and C are not in base-to-base contact, but the total distance between unit A and unit C is less than two elements. Again, the resolution is the same as above, right?
1c. Same as 1a, but units A, B, and C are not it base-to-base contact, but the total distance between unit A and unit C is more than two elements. In this case, unit Z can change unit B since the "gap" between unit A and C is greater than two elements wide, correct?
2a. Now to the other extreme. Units A and B are forming a perfect "V" or "Reverse Wedge" and may or may not be in base-to-base contact. Unit Z cannot charge unit A or unit B, because the "gap" between the top of unit A and unit B are not two elements wide, correct?
ZZZ
ZZZ
AA BB
AA BB
AA BB
AA BB
2b. Same as 2a, but add units C through M in the same line up as unit A and B and forming a series of connecting "V"s or "Reverse Wedge"s. On the other side of the line add units S through Y in the same position as unit Z. Can units S through Z charge forward?
Harlan D. Garrett
HarlanG@AirMail.Net (Home)
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Harlan Garrett Centurion

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 943
|
Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2001 10:33 pm Post subject: Confused |
 |
|
Jon:
I think you are missing the point our discussions. We want to know how to properly resolve the following issues:
The diagrams displayed by Pat and the other gentleman, illustrate my point better than my letters.
1a. Units A, B, and C are in base-to-base contact, but unit B is a half an element (or 10 mm, whatever, unit of measure you want to use) behind unit A and unit C. According to the way we read the rules, unit Z cannot charge unit B, because of the "gap" formed between unit A and unit C is less then two elements wide, correct?
ZZZ
ZZZ
AAAA BBB CCCC
AAAA BBB CCCC
1b. Same as 1a, but units A, B, and C are not in base-to-base contact, but the total distance between unit A and unit C is less than two elements. Again, the resolution is the same as above, right?
1c. Same as 1a, but units A, B, and C are not it base-to-base contact, but the total distance between unit A and unit C is more than two elements. In this case, unit Z can change unit B since the "gap" between unit A and C is greater than two elements wide, correct?
2a. Now to the other extreme. Units A and B are forming a perfect "V" or "Reverse Wedge" and may or may not be in base-to-base contact. Unit Z cannot charge unit A or unit B, because the "gap" between the top of unit A and unit B are not two elements wide, correct?
ZZZ
ZZZ
AA BB
AA BB
AA BB
AA BB
2b. Same as 2a, but add units C through M in the same line up as unit A and B and forming a series of connecting "V"s or "Reverse Wedge"s. On the other side of the line add units S through Y in the same position as unit Z. Can units S through Z charge forward?
Harlan D. Garrett
HarlanG@AirMail.Net (Home)
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2001 10:51 pm Post subject: Re: Confused |
 |
|
<< 1a. Units A, B, and C are in base-to-base contact, but unit B is a half
an element (or 10 mm, whatever, unit of measure you want to use) behind
unit A and unit C. According to the way we read the rules, unit Z
cannot charge unit B, because of the "gap" formed between unit A and
unit C is less then two elements wide, correct?
ZZZ
ZZZ
AAAA BBB CCCC
AAAA BBB CCCC
>>
Not correct. If every letter in the above diagram is an element, the 'gap'
between A and C is three elements wide. No problem. (If the letters are
just there and unit B is really only a one element wide unit, like cav often
is, then Z indeed cannot charge B and NEVER has been able to - so long as A
and C are not broken or in hth.)
Base to base contact or not does not matter, does the potential charge have
to go between the two shoulders or not.
I do have some conceptual concerns about the 'micron back' unit 'hiding' in a
gap (and I always have), but it has not been an issue in any relevant number
of games.
<< 1b. Same as 1a, but units A, B, and C are not in base-to-base contact,
but the total distance between unit A and unit C is less than two
elements. Again, the resolution is the same as above, right?>>
Only if the gap is less than two elements AND neither shoulder is in hth or
broken. That is not true in this case as the gap appears to be three
elements across.
<< 1c. Same as 1a, but units A, B, and C are not it base-to-base contact,
but the total distance between unit A and unit C is more than two
elements. In this case, unit Z can change unit B since the "gap"
between unit A and C is greater than two elements wide, correct?>>
Yes.
<<2a. Now to the other extreme. Units A and B are forming a perfect "V"
or "Reverse Wedge" and may or may not be in base-to-base contact. Unit
Z cannot charge unit A or unit B, because the "gap" between the top of
unit A and unit B are not two elements wide, correct?>>
ZZZ
ZZZ
AA BB
AA BB
AA BB
AA BB
>>
'Gap at the top' is not a gap as it is not a minimum distance. There is no
need for a gap rule here anyway since Z is not trying to get at something
between A and B since there is nothing between A and B.
<<2b. Same as 2a, but add units C through M in the same line up as unit A
and B and forming a series of connecting "V"s or "Reverse Wedge"s. On
the other side of the line add units S through Y in the same position as
unit Z. Can units S through Z charge forward?>>
Yes. Where do you guys get this stuff? :)
Just to do a sanity check, I showed this rule to three of my Warrior playing
friends and three non gamers including my lovely wife. No one of them could
see why anyone would try to make a 'gap' out of those V things or what was
being charged or shot at that was between the two fingers of the V (since
there is nothing there).
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Don Coon Imperator

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2742
|
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2001 5:19 pm Post subject: Re: Confused |
 |
|
>According to the way we read the rules, unit Z
> cannot charge unit B, because of the "gap" formed between unit A and
> unit C is less then two elements wide, correct?
>
> ZZZ
> ZZZ
>
>
> AAAA BBB CCCC
> AAAA BBB CCCC
>
> >>
>
> Not correct. If every letter in the above diagram is an element, the
'gap'
> between A and C is three elements wide. No problem. (If the letters are
> just there and unit B is really only a one element wide unit, like cav
often
> is, then Z indeed cannot charge B and NEVER has been able to - so long as
A
> and C are not broken or in hth.)
I know you are tense Jon, but if you take a small breath you might see that
the letters are figures, not elements.
I feel Harlan could have been more clear on this, but it is fairly obvious.
Don
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2001 6:00 pm Post subject: Re: Confused |
 |
|
<<I know you are tense Jon, but if you take a small breath you might see that
the letters are figures, not elements.
I feel Harlan could have been more clear on this, but it is fairly obvious.>>
Let's just say it is totally obvious. What is the issue here that I have not
answered?
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|