Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Confused

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Harlan Garrett
Centurion
Centurion


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 943

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2001 10:20 pm    Post subject: Confused



Jon:
 
I think you are missing the point our discussions.  We want to know how to properly resolve the following issues:
 
The diagrams displayed by Pat and the other gentleman, illustrate my point better than my letters.
 
1a.  Units A, B, and C are in base-to-base contact, but unit B is a half an element (or 10 mm, whatever, unit of measure you want to use) behind unit A and unit C.  According to the way we read the rules, unit Z cannot charge unit B, because of the "gap" formed between unit A and unit C is less then two elements wide, correct?
 
          ZZZ
          ZZZ
 
 
AAAA BBB CCCC
AAAA BBB CCCC
 
1b.  Same as 1a, but units A, B, and C are not in base-to-base contact, but the total distance between unit A and unit C is less than two elements.  Again, the resolution is the same as above, right?
 
1c.  Same as 1a, but units A, B, and C are not it base-to-base contact, but the total distance between unit A and unit C is more than two elements.  In this case, unit Z can change unit B since the "gap" between unit A and C is greater than two elements wide, correct?
 
2a.  Now to the other extreme.  Units A and B are forming a perfect "V" or "Reverse Wedge" and may or may not be in base-to-base contact.  Unit Z cannot charge unit A or unit B, because the "gap" between the top of unit A and unit B are not two elements wide, correct?
 
             ZZZ
             ZZZ
 
 
   AA                 BB
     AA            BB
       AA       BB
         AA  BB
 
2b.  Same as 2a, but add units C through M in the same line up as unit A and B and forming a series of connecting "V"s or "Reverse Wedge"s.  On the other side of the line add units S through Y in the same position as unit Z.  Can units S through Z charge forward?
 
Harlan D. Garrett

HarlanG@AirMail.Net (Home)
 

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Harlan Garrett
Centurion
Centurion


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 943

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2001 10:33 pm    Post subject: Confused




Jon:
 
I think you are missing the point our discussions.  We want to know how to properly resolve the following issues:
 
The diagrams displayed by Pat and the other gentleman, illustrate my point better than my letters.
 
1a.  Units A, B, and C are in base-to-base contact, but unit B is a half an element (or 10 mm, whatever, unit of measure you want to use) behind unit A and unit C.  According to the way we read the rules, unit Z cannot charge unit B, because of the "gap" formed between unit A and unit C is less then two elements wide, correct?
 
          ZZZ
          ZZZ
 
 
AAAA BBB CCCC
AAAA BBB CCCC
 
1b.  Same as 1a, but units A, B, and C are not in base-to-base contact, but the total distance between unit A and unit C is less than two elements.  Again, the resolution is the same as above, right?
 
1c.  Same as 1a, but units A, B, and C are not it base-to-base contact, but the total distance between unit A and unit C is more than two elements.  In this case, unit Z can change unit B since the "gap" between unit A and C is greater than two elements wide, correct?
 
2a.  Now to the other extreme.  Units A and B are forming a perfect "V" or "Reverse Wedge" and may or may not be in base-to-base contact.  Unit Z cannot charge unit A or unit B, because the "gap" between the top of unit A and unit B are not two elements wide, correct?
 
             ZZZ
             ZZZ
 
 
   AA                 BB
     AA            BB
       AA       BB
         AA  BB
 
2b.  Same as 2a, but add units C through M in the same line up as unit A and B and forming a series of connecting "V"s or "Reverse Wedge"s.  On the other side of the line add units S through Y in the same position as unit Z.  Can units S through Z charge forward?
 
Harlan D. Garrett

HarlanG@AirMail.Net (Home)
 

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2001 10:51 pm    Post subject: Re: Confused


<< 1a. Units A, B, and C are in base-to-base contact, but unit B is a half
an element (or 10 mm, whatever, unit of measure you want to use) behind
unit A and unit C. According to the way we read the rules, unit Z
cannot charge unit B, because of the "gap" formed between unit A and
unit C is less then two elements wide, correct?

ZZZ
ZZZ


AAAA BBB CCCC
AAAA BBB CCCC

>>

Not correct. If every letter in the above diagram is an element, the 'gap'
between A and C is three elements wide. No problem. (If the letters are
just there and unit B is really only a one element wide unit, like cav often
is, then Z indeed cannot charge B and NEVER has been able to - so long as A
and C are not broken or in hth.)

Base to base contact or not does not matter, does the potential charge have
to go between the two shoulders or not.

I do have some conceptual concerns about the 'micron back' unit 'hiding' in a
gap (and I always have), but it has not been an issue in any relevant number
of games.

<< 1b. Same as 1a, but units A, B, and C are not in base-to-base contact,
but the total distance between unit A and unit C is less than two
elements. Again, the resolution is the same as above, right?>>

Only if the gap is less than two elements AND neither shoulder is in hth or
broken. That is not true in this case as the gap appears to be three
elements across.

<< 1c. Same as 1a, but units A, B, and C are not it base-to-base contact,
but the total distance between unit A and unit C is more than two
elements. In this case, unit Z can change unit B since the "gap"
between unit A and C is greater than two elements wide, correct?>>

Yes.

<<2a. Now to the other extreme. Units A and B are forming a perfect "V"
or "Reverse Wedge" and may or may not be in base-to-base contact. Unit
Z cannot charge unit A or unit B, because the "gap" between the top of
unit A and unit B are not two elements wide, correct?>>


ZZZ
ZZZ


AA BB
AA BB
AA BB
AA BB

>>
'Gap at the top' is not a gap as it is not a minimum distance. There is no
need for a gap rule here anyway since Z is not trying to get at something
between A and B since there is nothing between A and B.

<<2b. Same as 2a, but add units C through M in the same line up as unit A
and B and forming a series of connecting "V"s or "Reverse Wedge"s. On
the other side of the line add units S through Y in the same position as
unit Z. Can units S through Z charge forward?>>

Yes. Where do you guys get this stuff? :)

Just to do a sanity check, I showed this rule to three of my Warrior playing
friends and three non gamers including my lovely wife. No one of them could
see why anyone would try to make a 'gap' out of those V things or what was
being charged or shot at that was between the two fingers of the V (since
there is nothing there).

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Don Coon
Imperator
Imperator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2742

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2001 5:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Confused


>According to the way we read the rules, unit Z
> cannot charge unit B, because of the "gap" formed between unit A and
> unit C is less then two elements wide, correct?
>
> ZZZ
> ZZZ
>
>
> AAAA BBB CCCC
> AAAA BBB CCCC
>
> >>
>
> Not correct. If every letter in the above diagram is an element, the
'gap'
> between A and C is three elements wide. No problem. (If the letters are
> just there and unit B is really only a one element wide unit, like cav
often
> is, then Z indeed cannot charge B and NEVER has been able to - so long as
A
> and C are not broken or in hth.)

I know you are tense Jon, but if you take a small breath you might see that
the letters are figures, not elements.
I feel Harlan could have been more clear on this, but it is fairly obvious.

Don

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2001 6:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Confused


<<I know you are tense Jon, but if you take a small breath you might see that
the letters are figures, not elements.
I feel Harlan could have been more clear on this, but it is fairly obvious.>>

Let's just say it is totally obvious. What is the issue here that I have not
answered?


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group